Russia interested in importing potatoes from Pakistan

ameer219

Russia interested in importing potatoes from Pakistan

Potatoes-APP-640x480.jpg

KARACHI: Russia has shown interest in importing between 50,000 and 100,000 tons of potatoes from Pakistan.

A delegation of Pakistani fruit and vegetable exporters is currently in Russia and is on the verge of finalising orders for potatoes, according to the head of the delegation and the former president of the All Pakistan Fruit and Vegetable Exporters, Importers and Merchants Association, Abdul Waheed Ahmed.

Talking to The Express Tribune, Ahmed said that potatoes are a large part of Russian cuisine and Pakistan had exported 2,000 tons of the vegetable a year ago. Russia also imports potatoes from Morocco, Saudi Arabia and Brazil. This year, Russia is facing a shortage of the crop and has decided to import additional potatoes.

Ahmed said that Pakistani exporters have met officials of the Russian Chamber of Commerce and the plant protection department and pledged to submit their proposals by January 15. According to Ahmed, Pakistan can export 50,000-100,000 tons of potatoes at a price of $250-270 per ton.

Pakistan exports potatoes to Iran, Central Asia, Afghanistan, the Middle East and Sri Lanka. Sri Lanka is the country’s largest export market where 70,000 tons of potatoes were sold last year. However, it seems that Russia might be another large export market for Pakistani farmers with orders for potatoes following demand for kinnows.

Pakistan produces 2.7 to 2.8 million tons of potatoes and local consumption is 1.5 million tons. An estimated 200,000 tons of potatoes are exported every year.

Published in The Express Tribune, December 22nd, 2010.
Russia interested in importing potatoes from Pakistan – The Express Tribune

Good going, Pakistans farming sector is quite strong..:tup:
You can ask for Nuclear fuel as barter for potatoes..:cool:

Jokes aside, can any one tell which is that variety of Pakistans Mangoe that is world famous? And whats so special about it?
I would really love to try it..:)

well this is nothing new!!! i guess no one knows that MOST of pakistani ORANGES from SARGODHA end up going to RUSSIA! so i think our export quality was good enough for them to consider potatoes now.

i think our export potential is still alot but we are not utilizing it properly due to corrupt ministers who make our exporters suffer!

Haha, nice move. Looks like Russians will use these imported potatoes for vodka :victory:

wonderful news!

many thanks for sharing Sir

we need to target Russian, CAR, Chinese, Japenese, Singaporean and Korean markets. That will be very beneficial for our country's economy and exports

:hitwall::hitwall: When did people started to make vodka by fermenting "grapes".

oh yaar jis ne nahi pee hoti usay itna hi pata hota hai. Hum musalmano main majority ko bas "Sharab-e-Tahoora" ka hi pata hai joh Jannat main milay gi :lol:

Woh Wine ki baat kar raha hai vodka ki nahi :cheers:

Back to topic please

bhai im not expert, what ever goes in vodka, u dont need to bang your head for this :lol:

As a Vodka fan, i could nt help it.:D

Brandy is a drink which is made from fermenting grapes. And yes Grains and potatoes are used in vodka.

As a Vodka fan, i could nt help it.:D

Brandy is a drink which is made from fermenting grapes. And yes Grains and potatoes are used in vodka.

I think wine is made from grapes. Brandy is from fruits other than grapes.

loo ub aur kooom royege sara ka sara aloo Russia jayega....

DAMN IT!

The famous pakistani potatoe?? :azn:

6e2cf1ece88e78849c5a0e7cf58c_grande.jpg

Hey does anyone remember the incidence of 1997?? Was it sharjah cup??

and what would you regard to tendulker???, famous dwarf of india who utilized dead pitches, come on man, you dont have to resort to such pathetic trolling??

inzi was a very taalented batsman, he won us 1992 WC, dont throw dirt on him!!