Russia calls investigation into whether US moon landings happened

This tickles the part of me that's interested in conspiracy theories, but from what I gathered, they are not contending US faked the Apollo missions.

We are not contending that they did not fly [to the moon], and simply made a film about it. But all of these scientific — or perhaps cultural — artifacts are part of the legacy of humanity, and their disappearance without a trace is our common loss. An investigation will reveal what happened,” Markin wrote, according to the Moscow Times translation.

I don't see the big deal in asking what happened to the recordings.

The FIFA angle is understandable as its likely Russia indulged in some under-the-table dealings with them.

. . . . . . . .
If lunar soil and rock are different they cud never be wasted wher are they?

whats the issue now ? first we should concentrate on damn earth
Dam earth?? Mangla dam suna tha tarbela dam suna tha, dam earth nahi suna kabhi? Yeh kahan bana hua hai?

Before people starts ragging on me about post 20, think of the Soviet/Russian space program for even before the end of the Cold War.

Objectively speaking, the Soviet/Russian space program ended when the Buran program ended. Yes, the Soviet/Russian space program made strides in long duration human endurance in micro/zero gravity environment, but that falls under the sub-category of space medicine. Making more powerful and technically sophisticated rockets can contribute to the overall progress, but even in this, the current Russian space program essentially stagnated, not really contributing at all.

Expendable launch vehicles (ELV) are not the way to go and despite the US building more powerful and technically sophisticated rockets, we know that the future of space exploration lies in reusable launch vehicles (RLV). This is where in the US, commercial space ventures are working on this.

The Russians are making a joke of themselves if they even think that their own scientists and engineers will go along with this 'investigation' of the US Moon landing.

The Russians of all people shouldn't be doubting this.
If ur statement is due to russias successful space missions,then cant we say that if they are doubting ,there could be some reason behind that? Sort of reversing ur statement.
Acha waisay iwas just ruminating when i wrote that..

Very shady if you landed on moon , and it was great mile stone for humanity

WHY would you delete the origional footage ? Unless of course the origional movie could be analysed for tempering

The Soviet's Luna 9 was the first SOFT landing on the Moon. So show US how is it technically impossible for a larger vehicle to do the same.

If ur statement is due to russias successful space missions,then cant we say that if they are doubting ,there could be some reason behind that? Sort of reversing ur statement.
Acha waisay iwas just ruminating when i wrote that..
It was really big deal back in late 50s putting US ahead of Russia in space race. It really pushed the Russians to do more in their space program in order to catch up which probably increased their spending on space program.