Rectal rehydration and broken limbs: the grisliest findings in the CIA torture report

The report has 6,000 pages of details. Only those details are redacted that would hamper operational issues, not of any substance related to the abuse iself.

How do you know that? As I said, and as is confirmed by numerous media outlets, 90% of the report remains classified. You have no idea what has been omitted. Don't even try to claim otherwise - that's blatant lying.

For Abu Ghraib:

"The United States Department of Defense removed seventeen soldiers and officers from duty, and eleven soldiers were charged with dereliction of duty, maltreatment, aggravated assault and battery. Between May 2004 and March 2006, these soldiers were convicted in courts-martial, sentenced to military prison, and dishonorably discharged from service. Two soldiers, Specialists Charles Graner and Lynndie England, were sentenced to ten and three years in prison, respectively. Brigadier General Janis Karpinski, the commanding officer of all detention facilities in Iraq, was reprimanded and demoted to the rank of colonel. Several more military personnel who were accused of perpetrating or authorizing the measures, including many of higher rank, were not prosecuted."
You sir, I can not talk civilly with anymore. Seriously demotions and 3 to 10 years in jail where you have threatened to rape and kill prisoners and degraded them, systematically tortured them and so much more, you can google it and hopefully educate yourself a bit.

Would you have preferred summary executions? The perpetrators were tried and convicted according to specified procedures of law, as they should have been, and were punished.

Here you go as well:

"The Senate committee's report runs to more than 6,000 pages, drawing on huge quantities of evidence, but it remains classified and only a 480-page summary will be released."

BBC News - CIA 'torture': Senate due to publish report

Yes, that is correct. The summary is the non-classified version of the full report, and provides the overall picture without compromising operational security.

Actually the word Rectal Hydration is "lean" term if you read the report they took actual meal and made squashed it into liquid form (Hummas , and other material which could be spicy or god knows what) and then put it to the man's private areas , quite Disgusting

Page 126 of report
"Majid Khan of hummus , pasta with sauce, nuts,and raisin was "pureed"and rectally infused its not like glucose or medical food"

Simply put Torture , and rape of detainees , they also hired people contractors so they can get away with some of the rape and other war crimes

Looks like Rape to me

I mean , did Nazis , tied someone to wall for 102 hours , they use hours when you calculate the days that almost 2 weeks preventing sleep and forcing people to stand up chained to wall

I mean literally they made a man die on cold concrete ....in artificially created cold room

I can't even imagine .... man due to work I stayed up 22 hours , and I had the most horrible of headaches and day they made humans stay away 102 hours !!!! Inhumane !!!! What kind of devils , were doing this

Quite barbaric

Allah maaf kare hamri government aur fuj bhi is kaam main shareek thi pakra to unho ne hi tha
Ye nahi poocha , ke is muslman ka (mujrim sahi tha to muslman) ka kiya bana ? Torture to nahi kiya??

Lanat ho

> They drowned people untill they were clinically dead and then awoken them 4 hours sleep and the repeat and some guy was tied so when he had to go washroom he went on himself ....

disgusting and war crime no doubt

Allah maaf kare ...aur muslmano ko kamyabi fermai in shytano ke kilaf

Would you have preferred summary executions? The perpetrators were tried and convicted according to specified procedures of law, as they should have been, and were punished.
WASHINGTON - Minutes after a US Senate intelligence panel released details of the CIA's torture of terrorism suspects, President Barack Obama suggested the country should move on.

The US Department of Justice, which has the power to bring criminal charges, looks set to take him at his word.

Criminal prosecutions of those who ran secret prisons and "enhanced interrogations" between 2002 and 2006, look unlikely despite renewed demands by civil rights advocates. So do efforts to hold to account politicians who authorized the CIA actions.

"Rather than another reason to refight old arguments, I hope that today's report can help us leave these techniques where they belong - in the past," said Obama, who banned harsh interrogation techniques after taking office in 2009.

By then, President George W. Bush had ended many aspects of "Rendition, Detention and Interrogation" that he authorized after the Sept. 11, 2001 attacks on the United States by Islamist militants.

A senior law enforcement official said the Justice Department has no plans to reopen a criminal investigation. That inquiry, which narrowed to two cases in which prisoners died in CIA custody, was closed in 2012 with no criminal charges.

The CIA and its supporters have opposed criminal investigations, arguing their actions were legally authorized by the Bush-era Justice Department and the White House.

Yes, that is correct. The summary is the non-classified version of the full report, and provides the overall picture without compromising operational security.

In light of everything, I'm highly skeptical that the summary provides anything close to the overall picture. I wouldn't be the least bit surprised if the CIA used even worse torture techniques than what were listed in the sanitized "summary." At this point, the burden of proof is on the CIA and people defending them to prove otherwise to the public.

"Rather than another reason to refight old arguments, I hope that today's report can help us leave these techniques where they belong - in the past," said Obama, who banned harsh interrogation techniques after taking office in 2009.

What President Obama has said is correct in my view.

In light of everything, I'm highly skeptical that the summary provides anything close to the overall picture. I wouldn't be the least bit surprised if the CIA used even worse torture techniques than what were listed in the sanitized "summary." At this point, the burden of proof is on the CIA and people defending them to prove otherwise to the public.

You are entitled to your views, and I have no problem with that. My view is that this report represents an open admission of past mistakes that will not be repeated, given that USA has resolved not to be attacked again like it was on 9/11.

"McCain is referencing the Tokyo Trials, officially known as the International Military Tribunal for the Far East. After World War II, an international coalition convened to prosecute Japanese soldiers charged with torture. At the top of the list of techniques was water-based interrogation, known variously then as 'water cure,' 'water torture' and 'waterboarding,' according to the charging documents. It simulates drowning." Politifact went on to report, "A number of the Japanese soldiers convicted by American judges were hanged, while others received lengthy prison sentences or time in labor camps."

Japan lost the war and surrendered. When USA surrenders in defeat, you can do whatever you like. Fair?

What President Obama has said is correct in my view.
Wait seriously u rape people and say it is ok and kill them and say it is in the past, oh and that you had others kiilled for doing half of what you did when you could have also said let us start on a new path. Or wait was that to send a message to the world at that time that torture is wrong :coffee:

It's the only thing these f*cks understand. What are we going to do, talk to them ? Besides, no matter what we do, we'll STILL get our balls busted. Wouldn't everyone shit their pants if we hacked one of those assholes heads off on T.V. ? HAHAHAHAHAHAHA !!!!!!!:usflag:

Considering the fact that American embassies around the world felt the need to tighten their security after the release of the report, I don't think those terrorists understand in the least. What is sad, however, is that US claims of "exceptionalism" based on some inherent morality or adherence to the principles of justice is looking increasingly hollow.

Also, I'd wager that down the road, CIA torture will ultimately cost more American lives than it claims (emphasis on claims) to have saved.