Reason Why Nawaz Sharif Wins so Much: Low Voter Turnout

Returning Officers are the ultimate deciders influenced by multiple players i.e. politicians, establishment etc. People's votes matter 50% whereas the thappa brigade and RO magic plays the other 50% part in Pakistani elections. This is why they were not ready to open even 4 constituencies to recheck the casted votes.

50-60% turnout from 20% registered population as voters includes the affiliated, the vote sellers and those who are forced to remain deprived due to poor jobs, low health quality and sub standard food in addition to no education standard.

Pakistan needs to reconsider the quality of voters and then the transparency of electoral system. Then any government will be an elected government. These governments claiming to be the "representatives of people" do not contain "YES" of even 10% of Pakistani population.

Asma Jahangir kay jatay hi democracy khatray me par gayi kiaaaa

Its an evolutionary process. It takes time. Unless ofcourse you go Mongol.

We need more laws. Robust in nature. Or we need a cultural Revolution. Things can literally cannot go more worse.

Usually at this Point in a country you erupt in civil war or enemy takes over you.

But this miracle of human will called Pakistan is thriving.

Emaan taza hojae

Turnout:
1988: 43.07%
1990: 45.46%
1993: 40.28%
1997: 35.42%
2002: 41.08%
2008: 44.23%
2013: 55.02%

The point of making this thread is to understand why only a select few win the elections in Pakistan. It makes sense that most people in Pakistan don't even have faith in the system therefore refrain from voting for anyone entirely. In 2013, the reason why it was so high was because of Imran Khan (in my opinion) he appealed to a few people that had lost faith but still 45% of registered voters didn't vote (that is massive).

With the voter turnout it makes sense as to why Nawaz is always winning. It is safe to say that the vast majority of his supporters vote for him because they like the current system. This also shows that no; most Pakistanis are not jahil idiots that have lost their morals. Most are actually in fact the opposite. The elections attract the majority of the wrong crowd.

I don't expect the upcoming election to have a great voter turnout this time either. Imran khan has lost his way post -2013 and doesn't appeal to people as much anymore.
Those who dont vote bitch about inflation and water shortage the most

Don't you get it, the people don't care what happens to the country tomorrow, as long as they get to eat a plate of biryani today.
So when people of Lodhraan voted for Jhangir Tareen then they were not fond of Biryani? But they suddenly sell vote for biryani if change their mind and dont vote for same PTI in same constituency

I am among those who hardly vote ( voted once for PTI in 2013) but now i consider PTI very much same like other parties except it talk big in speeches and slogans

But what i dont like is the attitude of ptians . They mock and insult all those voter who dont vote for PTI which is intolerance and bigotry .

So when people of Lodhraan voted for Jhangir Tareen then they were not fond of Biryani? But they suddenly sell vote for biryani if change their mind and dont vote for same PTI in same constituency

I am among those who hardly vote ( voted once for PTI in 2013) but now i consider PTI very much same like other parties except it talk big in speeches and slogans

But what i dont like is the attitude of ptians . They mock and insult all those voter who dont vote for PTI which is intolerance and bigotry .
PTI is going with the wrong strategy, instead of insulting pmln's voters they needed to bring them to thier side, with this patwari etc campaign they have pushed pmln's voters into dug in trenches i.e unified them.

It should have been game, set and match for PTI. Jahangir Tareen had trounced his PML-N rival in the 2015 by-election by a huge margin and with Nawaz Sharif’s disqualification fresh in the minds of the public, the writing was on the wall–PTI would soon regain NA-154 which it had lost due to Tareen’s disqualification.

The news shocked us all. Whether you were a PTI supporter (that must have hurt) or a PML-N sympathiser or even someone who keeps a keen eye on politics. You were just not expecting Ali Khan Tareen to lose. But lose he did and with it, dented the morale of his party.

Here are six takeaways from PTI’s loss at the hands of PML-N in the NA-154 by-election:-

1. Imran may have underestimated the reaction to Ali Tareen’s nomination

Politics is not a bed of roses and the cricketer-turned-politician should keep that in mind. Imran has always held his opponents responsible for destroying Pakistan–and more than often, he has blamed it on the menace of nepotism. Hence it came as a shock to most (particularly PTI loyalists) when Ali Khan Tareen was nominated as PTI’s candidate for the NA-154 election.

The fact that Ali Tareen had no prior stellar experience in politics and only bore his father’s name came as a shock to many since the party was quite outspoken on dynastic politics. Perhaps Imran Khan misjudged the reaction of his core support base–and is now forced to lick his wounds when they did not take to the ballot box.

2. The Kyun Nikala narrative seems to be gaining traction with the masses

Ever since Nawaz has been ousted from the echelons of power in Islamabad, he has called on the masses to support him as a ‘conspiracy’ was being hatched against him. The former prime minister has lashed out at everyone–from the country’s judiciary to its establishment and even referred to Imran Khan as a ‘puppet’ or the ‘blue-eyed-boy’.

While the opposition made fun of the whole Kyun Nikala slogan, turns out, it may have gained traction with the masses. If the layman is not convinced that a conspiracy is in the works against Nawaz, why is he taking to the ballot box with such passion?

3. What does PTI have in its bag of tricks to compete with PML-N in the forthcoming election?

Nawaz Sharif has hammered home the message that he has ended loadshedding in the country, restored law and order to a restive country, tackled the economic woes of Pakistan and built modern infrastructure that meets the needs of the common man in the country.

On the other hand, what does Imran Khan have to sell to the people? The recent results have shown that the PTI chief’s criticism of the Sharif family and their involvement in corruption is not enough–Imran needs more to sway the voters of Punjab who still believe Nawaz is the right man.

With time running out (and fast), does the PTI have anything up its sleeve to counter PML-N’s claims with a stellar development project of its own?

4. PTI’s popularity is Lodhran has taken a steep dive. Here’s why…

Jahangir Khan Tareen had defeated his opponent convincingly in the 2015 by-election, beating him with a margin of over 40,000 votes.

Tareen, who was then PTI’s General Secretary, secured 117,053 votes against 73,247 of PML-N’s Siddique Baloch.

The fact that Ali Tareen has lost the election this time around by more than 25,000 votes is evidence that the difference in votes this time around has been more than 60,000.

5. Will Lady Luck ever shine on the PPP again in Punjab?

Pakistan Peoples Party’s candidates have had a sound thrashing in Punjab. The NA-120 by-election was especially disappointing for the party who used to win scores of seats from Pakistan’s most populated province and even held its own in toughly contested seats.

In NA-120, PPP’s candidate polled less votes than the MML candidate. This time around, PPP lost to another upcoming religious party in the Lodhran NA-54 by-election as the party’s candidate polled even lesser votes than the TLYR.

Time for the PPP to put on its thinking cap and make sure its candidates try something out-of-the-box in Punjab.

https://www.samaa.tv/pakistan/2018/02/should-pti-be-worried-5-takeaways-from-the-na-154-defeat/

PTI is going with the wrong strategy, instead of insulting pmln's voters they needed to bring them to thier side, with this patwari etc campaign they have pushed pmln's voters into dug in trenches i.e unified them.
Thanks God , someone much more sensible than the whole PTI and Ik has commented. If Ik makes you his advisor , he can perform better in upcoming elections.

they are more worse
then the last option is to outsource Pakistan to China like CPEC.

Thanks God , someone much more sensible than the whole PTI and Ik has commented. If Ik makes you his advisor , he can perform better in upcoming elections.

then the last option is to outsource Pakistan to China like CPEC.
its good idea but still we should not lose hope . i am waiting for the day a man come to politics whom deserve my vote . currently our politicians are greedy power hungry corrupt and useless . all of them. it will be better if china rule us rather then these idiots

I’m totally with you, give it to China on Lesse of 99 years:coffee:

Calling out the cancer in the society is not bigotry. If 10 people decide to jump off the bridge because they think they can fly, arn't we suppose to stop them?

Democracy is rule of majority whether minority agree with them or not dont make any difference . You will only make government if you manage to convince majority. You are calling PML(N) cancer of society while supporter of PML(N) calling PTI as cancer of society . Its just matter of perspective.

We cannot impose our political choice on others by mocking and insulting their choice which will make them more stubborn.

Democracy is rule of majority whether minority agree with them or not dont make any difference . You will only make government if you manage to convince majority. You are calling PML(N) cancer of society while supporter of PML(N) calling PTI as cancer of society . Its just matter of perspective.

We cannot impose our political choice on others by mocking and insulting their choice which will make them more stubborn.

you have a very valid point, and i agree sometimes i do get heated up. But it drives me crazy that people still vote for known crooks, murderers and thieves instead of voting for someone that would/could do better.

I was having a conversation is a N-League supporter and he said that "Nawaz Khata hai tu kuch lagata bhi tu hai", Like seriously what kinda logic is that, will people hire a known convicted dacoit as their security guard?