Quarterly profits at India’s biggest bank have fallen by a jaw-dropping 62%

General Observer

New Zealand
India’s largest lender by assets, the State Bank of India (SBI), just got hammered by bad loans.

The state-owned bank’s profit for the third quarter of the 2016 fiscal (October-December) fell 62% compared to a year ago, according to its earnings report (pdf) released on Feb. 11.

Non-performing assets (NPAs) are the main culprit.

The NPA provisions for the quarter shot up 59% compared to a year ago, while the gross NPA ratio inched upwards to 5.1% from 4.15% in the previous quarter. The NPA ratio is an indicator of the bank’s overall health—a higher ratio means more bad loans. Banks make provisions—set funds aside—typically to cover for default risks.

According to the Reserve Bank of India (RBI), an NPA is a loan where interest or principal has not been paid for more than 90 days.

SBI’s earnings are further evidence of bad loans plaguing the banking sector in Asia’s third-largest economy. The bank made a profit of Rs1,115.34 crore in the quarter, compared to Rs2,910.06 crore in the same period of the last fiscal. Analysts surveyed by Bloomberg had estimated a Rs3,300 crore net profit.

SBI’s stock fell as much as 1.57% on the BSE, after the results were announced.

Everyone, from analysts to RBI governor Raghuram Rajan, has warned of these toxic bad loans. Public sector banks (PSBs) held gross NPAs worth almost Rs3 lakh crore ($44 billion) as of June 2015—89% of the total NPAs in the entire banking system.

Quarterly profits at India’s biggest bank have fallen by a jaw-dropping 62% - Quartz

It looks like either the general population has not yet reached middle class status, and is behind loan payments, or banks' decisions to lend are terrible.

wow NPA provisons has been hiked to 59% for this year, Give some more loans to Adanis :)

its not adanis bhai , number no 1 ------- vijay mallaya (8000 crores),
moser baer 600 crore,
Century Communication Limited 700 crore + Pixion Media Pvt. Limited 700 crore -- owned by person,
Indian Technomac 700 crore,
deccan chronicles 700 crore,
Surya Pharma 720 crore,
Kemrock Industries-- 1000 crore,
Orchid Chemicals 1000 crore,
Varun Industries 1129 crore,
Forever Precious Jewellery 1300 crore,
S. Kumars clothing 1700 crores,
Sterling Biotech 1800 crore,
Zoom Developers 1900 crores,
Electrotherm India 2300 crore ,
Winsome Diamond 2600 crore,
some big players

It looks like either the general population has not yet reached middle class status, and is behind loan payments, or banks' decisions to lend are terrible.

Why don't you stop hiding behind US or Nz flag and come up with original flag so that I can tell the situation of NPA in your country....BTW do you know anything about 2008 US subprime mordgage crises...

lol wtf? Quit accusing me of shit. I'm just a messenger, and if I'm correct, Quartz is an Indian source.

There are many disastrous scams in the indian banking and finance industry and when they melt the results a absolute melt down

Yesterday you claimed that you enough about Indian investment in UAE .Now you are also claiming Indian money in our banks :D
Pretty awesome.
Any way our armed forces dont have public corporate like some others .

its not adanis bhai , number no 1 ------- vijay mallaya (8000 crores),
moser baer 600 crore,
Century Communication Limited 700 crore + Pixion Media Pvt. Limited 700 crore -- owned by person,
Indian Technomac 700 crore,
deccan chronicles 700 crore,
Surya Pharma 720 crore,
Kemrock Industries-- 1000 crore,
Orchid Chemicals 1000 crore,
Varun Industries 1129 crore,
Forever Precious Jewellery 1300 crore,
S. Kumars clothing 1700 crores,
Sterling Biotech 1800 crore,
Zoom Developers 1900 crores,
Electrotherm India 2300 crore ,
Winsome Diamond 2600 crore,
some big players

Lol this list is endless i know, i mentioned adani because they were last to get huge loans from SBI which are going to get in NPA account too. Laws regarding recovery of dues from big houses needs urgent revamp because common man is harassed by banks for couple of lakhs and here billions are being looted by these industrialists

the thing is bhai corruption , even bank head make money by giving loan to these default companies , so unless these kind of people not removed from public services nothing can be right.

And what makes you think that Balance sheet of Banks In your country or in China are clean.....The day Chinese Banks will start cleaning NPA from their balance sheet atleast trillion $ will be wipe out...