Poverty drives girl student to suicide

In our state students will get concession , less than half rate in public and private buses.
My friends told that in TN transportation is absolutely free for students.

Such concession are provided in most of the states in India. Girl could have done something better with her life, rather than suicide. :(

yeah, and your new options are commies, the rotten socialist shyt
Commies has no strong base in Punjab nor in my mind . But I will say one thing majority of sacrifices during independence movement were made by leftists not by people of fascist ideology.

No doubt most blind followers have zero knowledge of history.
Chandrashekhar azad,Ram Prasad Bismil,Ashfaqullah Khan,Sukhdev, Rajguru etc. were prominent members of HSRA .Just google Hindustan Socialist Republican Association, udham singh ,kartar singh srabha for further knowledge & don't derail from topic.Instead of defending corrupt politicians show some sympathy for poor girl.

Poverty drives girl student to suicide
Bharat Khanna
Tribune News Service

Mansa, September 15
A 23-year-old student allegedly committed suicide after her parents had to sell 4 kg of wheat to pay for her bus fare. Police sources said they had found a suicide note, but no case had been registered.

The victim, who was a Dalit, belonged to Tahlian village in the Budhlada subdivision.

She was studying at the government-run DIET in Ahmedpur, Budhlada. She left behind a suicide note, stating that she wished to do the GNM course on completion of ETT, but did not want to burden her parents and was, thus, ending her life.

Residents of Tahlian village paid for the girl’s cremation. The victim’s parents, who are labourers, had to sell wheat, given to them under the Atta-Dal Scheme, to pay for her bus fare. Lakhvir Singh, a neighbour, said: “The girl was very intelligent. Sadly, her family was unable to pay her tuition fee.”

The Tribune, Chandigarh, India - Punjab

She had no money to pay for her bus fare to, on the other hand fuel bill of Punjab CM alone is Rs. 1 lakh per day :(

This is such a fake sob story. She was a 23-year-old woman who could have worked as a clerk, a typist, or even do some household work for some money. Why did her parents have to sell grains to give her bus fare? This is a bullshit entitlement culture we have in India where grown up adults are still sucking at the teats of their parents and leaching out their lives.

You cannot imagine what poverty is unless you are suffering from it.
They sold their hard earned food for her bus fare
Her family was unable to pay her tuition fee
Residents of village paid for the girl’s cremation.

I just want to say that instead of wasting peoples money on luxury cars & choppers govt. should focus on things like poverty & girl education. But I think my statement is hurting some BJP fanboys.

On one hand one hears of shortage of workers in Punjab and on other hand you have people who expect money to drop from the heavens without doing any job. Wah re Wah Punjab. Then they point at the corruption of the govt. Why not for a change look at the corruption in their hearts.

Such concession are provided in most of the states in India. Girl could have done something better with her life, rather than suicide. :(
Rest in peace. Very unfortunate incident. She was just depressed. The first thing she needed was a symathetic ear and not money. There are beggers who earn nothing, yet are happy. Taking one's own life is no small deal. Not being able to complete a course does not drive one to death. It was the trigger, perhaps, but not the major cause.

In India psychological illnesses go unnoticed. Parents' expectations , peer pressure, personal ambition - many things drives one to despair. Such a condition does not occur overnight either. Yet folks will use this to throw potshots at politicians first, never at their own shortcomings.

I also guess the parents regularly may have asked the girl to leave studies and get some work. Very common in India, sadly. The shame of being a liability is a big motivator for suicide.

If the OP is truly concerned, do this - go to rangde.org. Start a new crowd funding campaign for the people in need of money. Also if you have psychologist/psychiatrist friends - ask them to go at least one village and consel the kids in the colleges/schools - especially the ones who can't afford it.

I also guess the parents regularly may have asked the girl to leave studies and get some work. Very common in India, sadly.

There is no shame in working. Perhaps physical work was a matter of shame to that girl. The shame is in the outlook of certain people who dream of riches overnight without any work. Throughout the Western world students leave home at 18. They are expected to. Punjabis are one of the most ardent lovers of Westernization but still do not want to emulate those qualities from West. All they want is bangla, gaddi, paisa, daru, and drugs just because they exist.

This is such a fake sob story. She was a 23-year-old woman who could have worked as a clerk, a typist, or even do some household work for some money. Why did her parents have to sell grains to give her bus fare? This is a bullshit entitlement culture we have in India where grown up adults are still sucking at the teats of their parents and leaching out their lives.

You wound's mind sending your daughter for household work to work as slave for other?At this age, she should be getting education and not worry about money. Please don't give example of USA. There are no such job opportunities for people of young age here!

What is even more pathetic is some here are complaining that govt provides free education but not free transport. There are people who go on to do PhD. Until they turn 35 years old, govt is supposed to take care of their food, transport, living, etc. etc. Where did this rotten mentality come from? Desire for everything free. Sab muft mein hi milna hai tho why not try beggary for a change. Wahan bhi muftkhori hi chalthi hai.

You wound's mind sending your daughter for household work to work as slave for other?At this age, she should be getting education and not worry about money. Please don't give example of USA. There are no such job opportunities for people of young age here!

If there is no money, I would rather myself and my daughter go and do some physical labor for work than commit suicide. There is no shame in honest work of any kind. What do you mean at this age? She is 23 years old, not 5 years old. She is eligible for voting, which means she should be out there working.

What a shame you have a mentality which despises and looks down on labor work. In USA if you do not have qualification no one gives you officers job. There too people become waitress or store clerks or work in Wal-Mart. There are plenty of malls she could have gotten a job in as a sales girl.

Welfare Bumper Stickers

b10a5d72f97edc069d04412a89f6484c.jpg
7dd6e962cc6e1b364b4791284ad1dd52.jpg

34d0964dc2913173f380d4b1d442abc8.jpg
a8c9e9e8f8ac23c8b159a30838798825.jpg

72c5a45bf694f0f0bda2a5a9565fd7e3.jpg
3e99acddcb0d93208619c76ffedd62ee.jpg

Really sad incident. Wonder how many such cases happen around us every day that are not brought to our notice.
Feel so very sorry for the poor girl. It is not that her relatives, her neighbors, her fellows, any one around her were also so poor that they could not have prevented it. It is just that we lack humanity these day, everyone of us included!!

Being a Muslim my religion teaches me to take care of my neighbors, the rights of neighbor as described by Islam are Enormous. But if i do not act on them, i do not follow them it is a different thing, may bad, my mistake!!

I hope Pakistan as well as India address such sad issues, not on government level but as a nation, as humans.

Really sad incident. Wonder how many such cases happen around us every day that are not brought to our notice.
Feel so very sorry for the poor girl. It is not that her relatives, her neighbors, her fellows, any one around her were also so poor that they could not have prevented it. It is just that we lack humanity these day, everyone of us included!!

Being a Muslim my religion teaches me to take care of my neighbors, the rights of neighbor as described by Islam are Enormous. But if i do not act on them, i do not follow them it is a different thing, may bad, my mistake!!

I hope Pakistan as well as India address such sad issues, not on government level but as a nation, as humans.

This is not true. Everyone helps if it is just one or two times, but everyone avoids perpetual help seekers. In all likelihood this girls father could be a drug addict and most of the extended family could have distanced themselves off the family. It is only in such cases does one come across a situation where there is no money for bus fare too. Otherwise a day's labor should have fetched her father 200 rupees at least if he is nonskilled, if skilled laborer, he would have gotten 400 at least, which should have afforded her a bus fare easily enough.

No one can keep doing charity 24x7. Every household have their own burden to bear.

This is not true. Everyone helps if it is just one or two times, but everyone avoids perpetual help seekers. In all likelihood this girls father could be a drug addict and most of the extended family could have distanced themselves off the family. It is only in such cases does one come across a situation where there is no money for bus fare too. Otherwise a day's labor should have fetched her father 200 rupees at least if he is nonskilled, if skilled laborer, he would have gotten 400 at least, which should have afforded her a bus fare easily enough.

No one can keep doing charity 24x7. Every household have their own burden to bear.

Nothing can justified a life that is lost because there was no money to support it.

No doubt is cannot agree more to what you said that the person that is being effected by such problem also need to work hard. Try to stand on there feed, may e you are right that here father was a drug addict (though the report we are debating on says they sold wheat to pay for her), yes taking ones own life is also not something that can be encouraged or supported, i am not doing this. In fact, my religions strongly forbade me from doing any thing like that. There is surely no justification of suicide, but dear, since, fortunately, we have never been in a situation like that may be we will never understand what problems she could have been facing. For this, i cannot argue on what she should have done.
The point remain that this is a cruel world to live in and rather then looking toward gov, the society should step up for betterment of this situation.

Nothing can justified a life that is lost because there was no money to support it.

No doubt is cannot agree more to what you said that the person that is being effected by such problem also need to work hard. Try to stand on there feed, may e you are right that here father was a drug addict (though the report we are debating on says they sold wheat to pay for her), yes taking ones own life is also not something that can be encouraged or supported, i am not doing this. In fact, my religions strongly forbade me from doing any thing like that. There is surely no justification of suicide, but dear, since, fortunately, we have never been in a situation like that may be we will never understand what problems she could have been facing. For this, i cannot argue on what she should have done.
The point remain that this is a cruel world to live in and rather then looking toward gov, the society should step up for betterment of this situation.

I do not know about Pakistan, but much of India went though this kind of poverty for a very long time. About a generation ago, my own family was in such a place. My paternal grandma had TB and did not have bus fare, she would walk from her house to the sanatorium, a distance of easily over 15 km one way, to get her medicine. Her sister was a widow raising 2 children, she carried a basket of masala powder on her head for 20 years of her life, going to door to door, to make a living. My maid works in 6 houses to make a living. The first office I worked in had a colleague who came in with the same lunch box carrying upma every day. The Rs. 2500 salary the office was giving him was the only money his family of 3 (parents and himself) had. There are countless such stories here. One of indomitable spirit and self-respect.

It is possible she committed suicide out of depression, at the same time it is also possible that the society which looks down on physical labor made her ashamed of trying such a job herself. So her pride made her think it is better to kill herself than work as a sales girl or any other menial job.

What was also shameful was this incident became an event for political point scoring.

She could have but there was a little problem , no vacancy boards are everywhere in Punjab. And I feel pity for you & your thoughts on doing household works like washing utensils in others homes by a educated person. She was selected on merit in Elementry Teacher Training (ETT)course. ETT teachers are agitating from last few years for jobs promised by govt. On the other hand there is big shortage of teachers in govt. schools. Although I agree that suicide is not the answer & cannot be justified at any cost.

On one hand one hears of shortage of workers in Punjab and on other hand you have people who expect money to drop from the heavens without doing any job. Wah re Wah Punjab. Then they point at the corruption of the govt. Why not for a change look at the corruption in their hearts.
Shortage of workers lolzz ,lady you are totally unaware of situtation in Punjab. Punjab has shortage of industry due to high taxes not of workers.