PML-N warns army, ISI to stop supporting PTI

This borders cynicism.
Real 'change' is almost always gradual. Appearing not to but still 'significant'. Some of make it sound like Pakistan is the same country now which it was in 1947 when they were using thorns from trees as paperclips.
It remains to be seen what will be 'impact' of Imran Khan. But he has a track-record of tenacity. Of enforcing discipline. Of personal (at least financial) integrity. Of taking up the heat with constant 'Taliban Khan' label but not budging from his stance.

Until barely a few weeks ago I too was skeptical. I have been a PPP supporter since about mid-80's. But I'd wager that Imran Khan is very likely to curtail corruption, improve efficiency, recover stolen moneys, cut down terrorism within five years of his rule. These alone will go a long way in reducing dependence on foreign so-called 'aid'.

Let he be very well protected! He is the biggest obstacle to the enemies of Pakistan since Zulfi Bhutto.

that maybe a problem later, it might give oxygen to establishment without coming in front with their own players. as you said real change is gradual, so how exactly can it be ensured that he would not be just used to bring back money and correct malfunctioning of the system and then continue with the same old practises ? and on the other hand with intellectual corruption prevailing in intelligentsia, even a more vigilant society may not be able to continue with the "gradual change".

just my fears. Transformation phase seems to be tricky !

Not only that but Imran Khan was one of the strongest critics of President Musharraf while Musharraf was still the Army Chief.

and not only this, IK just said ISI/ARMY would be under real civilian authority and audit of accounts will also be under civilians. something Turkey has done it, and Benazir Bhutto could only wish to have done it.

sharif is right..army needs some body to work as stooge..like they raised earlier nawaj now this time its IK.
army is not happy from zardari.

as much as indians like to believe that army is the shepherd in Pakistan which is controling entire Pakistan and it's civil soceity nothing could be further from the truth. Even during the most grueling of army coups in the country, much of the civil society and some politicians openly ciritcized their dictatorship and overstay in power. Even Gen. Ayub wasnt able to force people to come to a political rally in the 60's. And we're talking about ISI's hand in gathering 300,000 plus people in the middle of lahore with overzealously free media watching everything in this day and age. 'facepalm'

that maybe a problem later, it might give oxygen to establishment without coming in front with their own players. as you said real change is gradual, so how exactly can it be ensured that he would not be just used to bring back money and correct malfunctioning of the system and then continue with the same old practises ?

I have realistic expectations from Imran Khan--and I posted them above. They involve issues of 'governance' and I am confident they will come true.
I know we humans expect Messiahs. Or Miracle Leaders. Or Revolutions. But we end up with Bonapartes all too often. But Imran Khan provides a 'clean break' from the past. He is very likely to thrash his party leaders and workers for corruption and misuse of power--unlike the entrenched parties' cadres in PMLN, PPP and MQM where leadership looks the other way. That Pakistan is huge country--unlike a 11-person cricket team--does make it impossible to be a micro-manager but Pakistan will be still better off having someone at the top who will not at least compromise on principles.

What's the harm in Army and ISI supporting Imran Khan?

to be frank, if you asked a common Pakistani suffering from poverty and lack of..... everything, if they prefer army rule, 9 out of 10 would mostly likely say yes. An Imran with the backing of army would be considered a god send gift. But I've heard and listened to many intellectuals and elders ( I dont consider myself either) that that is not the way.

Amy and army generals have no role in politics, as much as they bring a quick relief to common people and the political system, they end up doing more harm than good. Neither do the stooges of army generals have any role nor are they ever successful. We have begun to walk the path of a democratic system. Thankfully, army has realized this. Much to many's dismay internally and externally there hasn't been a army coup and neither do I see one coming......I'd say those days are gone for good.

Election commission and courts are already working on pahsing out illegitimate voters. Next leader will be elected fairly by the people's votes. Though, only thing to be concerened about is the rural areas spread through out the country where a huge populace lives under the heels of sardars, chuhdharies and wadeeras who might be forced to cast their votes to certain parties.

the establishment has learned some valuable lessons, so has IK, their synergy could get Pakistan on track. Ik may commit blunders but who doesn't. Pakistan doesn't need a superman, we need an HONEST LEADER. and it appears that IK is it. (InshaAllah)

to be frank, if you asked a common Pakistani suffering from poverty and lack of..... everything, if they prefer army rule, 9 out of 10 would mostly likely say yes. An Imran with the backing of army would be considered a god send gift. But I've heard and listened to many intellectuals and elders ( I dont consider myself either) that that is not the way.

Amy and army generals have no role in politics, as much as they bring a quick relief to common people and the political system, they end up doing more harm than good. Neither do the stooges of army generals have any role nor are they ever successful. We have begun to walk the path of a democratic system. Thankfully, army has realized this. Much to many's dismay internally and externally there hasn't been a army coup and neither do I see one coming......I'd say those days are gone for good.

Election commission and courts are already working on pahsing out illegitimate voters. Next leader will be elected fairly by the people's votes. Though, only thing to be concerened about is the rural areas spread through out the country where a huge populace lives under the heels of sardars, chuhdharies and wadeeras who might be forced to cast their votes to certain parties.

Good Post, Concur with most of it ecept the highlighted part. Sadly our Election commision is a joke. IK realisez that and has joined hands with the establishement to overcome this hurdle. Care to elaborate your point sir?

Everyone else, who did that, have been evaluated and re-evaluated many times by the public.
Time to try Imran Khan now.

Sure, I accept that. Let the national hope of waiting for a Messiah continue!

Advice for you: You should atleast try to keep your depression and hopelessness in control (for health reasons). Being hopeful feels amazing, and obviously it is good for health. Try it.

Good advice; I will try to act upon it.

Some counter-advice, if I may: Being hopeful is one thing, being delusional is quite another.

the establishment has learned some valuable lessons, so has IK, their synergy could get Pakistan on track. Ik may commit blunders but who doesn't. Pakistan doesn't need a superman, we need an HONEST LEADER. and it appears that IK is it. (InshaAllah)
Oh! my God U haven't found any Honest Corrupt Leader yet....???......How many more experiments/elections U gonna need for ure search...???.......We don't have life of 900years....I guess we need to get over with the trial and error methodz needa do some solid work, get guidance from Allah's/God book....When we are going to use our Holy Quran, its not to keep it in showcases.....:smokin:

Everybody knows IK is being supported by the Army. You guys are ignorant; in denial. All that stuff about how the ISI/Army would be under civilian authority is a bunch of bullsh!t. He won't bite the hands that are feeding him.

Now is being supported by the Army a good thing or bad? That is a separate issue.

Everybody knows IK is being supported by the Army. You guys are ignorant; in denial. All that stuff about how the ISI/Army would be under civilian authority is a bunch of bullsh!t. He won't bite the hands that are feeding him.

Now is being supported by the Army a good thing or bad? That is a separate issue.
The entire commentary by Sethi is nothing but a bunch of speculation and paranoid conspiracy theories.

kutay ko goli matu yar bus yeah batau sharmeela aunty khirkee say bahir kis waqat ati hai ?:devil:

Sharmeela aunti apni 20 saal ki 2 daughters ke saath raat k 12 baje sunset boulevard per ati hain, agar ana hoto muje bhi sath lelena, number mai dedonga.

And he (nagan shitty) is the chief Justice of Pakistan. WHat he says may be written in Holy books i guess so he wont be wrong.

Imran Khan all the way!

If you vote for PPP, PML-N or the terrorist MQM, mark my words that you are a traitor!

Ganja and Company are getting frustrated for being away from Govt. for the last 15 years.

Now they were waiting for their turn and IK is increasing their blood pressure day by day.

So they are back with their old tactics, blame everything on PA / ISI / establishment.

Losers.