PM Hasina likely to visit Pakistan after Saarc

Al-zakir

United States
Dhaka, March 12 (bdnews24.com)—Pakistan high commissioner Ashraf Qureshi Friday said Pakistan prime minister Yousaf Raza Gilani will meet with Sheikh Hasina at the sidelines of the SAARC summit in Thimpu next month.

He also said the Bangladesh prime minister's visit to Pakistan may not take place before the 16th SAARC summit scheduled April 28-29.

"We have already invited the honourable prime minister of Bangladesh to visit Pakistan. The date will be fixed through diplomatic channels," Qureshi told bdnews24.com Friday at Hotel Sheraton after a meeting on UN peacekeeping.

He said prime minister Gilani had also shown interest in visiting Bangladesh.

"Our honourable prime minister will meet the honourable prime minister of Bangladesh at the sideline of the SAARC summit," he said.

The high commissioner said Sheikh Hasina may not visit Pakistan before SAARC summit due to her busy schedule.

The newly appointed high commissioner presented his credentials to president Zillur Rahman on Feb 4 and saw Dipu Moni on Feb 25. He then extended an invitation to Sheikh Hasina to tour Pakistan at her convenience.

Diplomatic observers say that Hasina's upcoming visit is important for Bangladesh-Pakistan bilateral relations, especially at a time when the Awami League government is going to try the war criminals.

Islamabad says the trial of war criminals was settled in a tripartite agreement involving Bangladesh, India and Pakistan on April 9, 1974.

The agreement was signed by the then Bangladesh foreign minister Kamal Hossain, Indian external affairs minister Saran Singh and Pakistan's state minister for defence and foreign affairs Aziz Ahmed.

"The Pakistan government condemned and deeply regretted the crimes that may have been committed", the agreement said.

It identified 190 Pakistanis, mainly army officers, who were responsible for the crimes in the nine-month war in 1971. But the army officers were never tried.

According to the agreement, the Pakistan prime minister must visit Bangladesh and appeal to Bangladeshis to "forgive the mistakes of the past that may have been committed".

It also said Bangladesh prime minister, following the Pakistan prime minister's apology, should urge Bangladeshis to forget the past.

But no Pakistani prime minister has thus far formally apologised on Bangladeshi soil for those crimes.

bdnewes24.com/krc/am/ta/2037h.

PM likely to visit Pakistan after Saarc | Bangladesh | bdnews24.com

tell her stay there we no need her visit like 1998.thanks.

oh yaar there is no harm in her visit. We have no hard feelings for bangladesh. They are a nuteral country for us and a friend is far better than a nuteral person. Who knows if Aunty Haseena is trying to bring peace in both countries and her visit might play a key role in another brotherly relationships between both countries.

We can only solve the problems by negotiations.......... no negotitions = no solution of our problems

zaki bhai you know story of her 98 visit?

oh well frankly speaking i heard first time that she visited Pakistan in 1998.

Please do educate me with this incident :lol: and also the time can change the opinion of an individual. We are not sure yet why she is visiting Pakistan

tell her stay there we no need her visit like 1998.thanks.

No, no. She must visit Pakistan and PM Gillani of Pakistan should make a reciprocal visit and apologise for the crimes Pakistan army committed to the people of Bangladesh.

This is how the bilateral relationship should be restored to the stage of warmth and affection. Avoiding an opportunity like this by PM Gillani will only linger the present disaffection.

PM Gillani has childhood fond memory of Sheikh Mujibur Rahman. Mujib visited his politician father's house a few times when it was one united Pakistan.

Pakistan must take this opportunity. An old family relationship should be allowed to work to foster a better relationship between the two countries. A better opportunity would have arised if Benazir Bhutto were alive today. These two ladies both lost their 'Poker-player' fathers because of political conflicts.

No, no. She must visit Pakistan and PM Gillani of Pakistan should make a reciprocal visit and apologise for the crimes Pakistan army committed to the people of Bangladesh.

Musharraf aplogized for 71 war back in 2001/02. I think Zardari or Gilani also aplogized last year............. we have done that in the past too

If this is the reason why she wants to come to Pakistan so that we aplogize her once again............. better she stay back in Bangladesh. We have aplogized so many times already :angry::angry::angry:

Now we want brotherly relationships and not aplogize again and again

Hasina should not be welcomed in Pakistan.

Have we stoop to such a low level as to welcoming the traitors of this country?

yeah what happen in 1998. I am totally in dark here.....:undecided:

please some one shed some light here.........anyone....:hang2:

Musharraf aplogized for 71 war back in 2001/02. I think Zardari or Gilani also aplogized last year............. we have done that in the past too

If this is the reason why she wants to come to Pakistan so that we aplogize her once again............. better she stay back in Bangladesh. We have aplogized so many times already :angry::angry::angry:

Now we want brotherly relationships and not aplogize again and again

In international diplomacy different words carry different meanings. President Musharraf uttered the word 'regret', and did not say 'apologise.' There must be a formal apology from either the head of State or the Head of Government of Pakistan.

Hasina should not be welcomed in Pakistan.

Have we stoop to such a low level as to welcoming the traitors of this country?
Traitor was Zulfiqer Ali Bhutto, who wanted the Prime Ministership at the expense of a divided Pakistan. This is the reason why he forced Yahya not to relinquish State power to the elected representatives of the people. AL won 162 seats and the Peoples' Party won 78 seats out of a total seats of 300. Yet, AL was not called to form the next govt.

Sometimes, I wonder why the Pakistan army under Gen. Zia pushed him out and then put a rope around his neck in a gallow. Pak army certainly pinpointed him for all the problems in 1971.

Bangladesh was the creation of Mr. Bhutto. Why to blame Mujib for the 1971 war, when he hjimself was under arrest during the long nine months of struggle. We people fought, but Mujib was not there to lead us.

EVERY GOV OF PAKISTAN APLOGISE EVERY YEAR???????? TO HELL ONE TIME IN 2001 FINISH THE MATTER.OR WE WRITE IN EVERY OTH WILL TAKEN WITH APOLOGISE.

inher last visit she meet with presedent rafiq tararr in presedent house islamabad .she visit for kargil war talks.when meeting start she start edovcate india same like she is indian dughter.she told mr.tararr india is big country indian forces are very big . after 5 minuts she again india is big power mr.tararr.then after 2 mintus mr.tararr india is big country india is power. TARARR BECOME ANGRY ON HER REMARKS AND LEAVE THE MEETING AND GO TO HIS OFFICE.AND WHEN TARARR COME OUT OF MEETING ROOM HE SAY TO HIS SECERTRY SEND THIS LADY OUT OF PRESEDENT HOUSE AS SOON AS POSIBLE I DON'T WANNA SEE HER FACE.

In international diplomacy different words carry different meanings. President Musharraf uttered the word 'regret', and did not say 'apologise.' There must be a formal apology from either the head of State or the Head of Government of Pakistan.

WE ARE NOT GOING TO DO ANY THING SAY GOV OF BD DO AGAINST US WHATEVER THEY LIKE.:P