Please donate in your respective areas to needy

Now a days, half of the world is suffering of warfare and terrorism.People are loosing their lives.Saving one human life will make you stand and will draw you near Allah(SWT).This thread is reserved for all those organizations by the help of which muslims and non muslims could inform each other about authentic charity organizations and could help each other in case of need.All money to earn will not stay with you forever except your faith and the one you have spend on cause.
If you are not interested to donate via internet then you can simply go out of your home and buy 5kg of flour that costs hardly Rs 250 and give it to any needy woman, old man and child.I hope that individuals of other country will do as well in their respective countries.Your few hundred rupees would feed a man for month.

JazakAllah
Excellent thread mate!! Much needed and really overlooked aspect of what we are trying to do here on the forum. Thanks a lot!

If you allow, i will like to add that we should not only use this thread to share information about the organizations that deserve our donations but also share ways to reach individuals and different ideas to turn this into a much bigger project. Edhi and Shaukhat Khanum are the go to charities in Pakistan. Every one goes to them and the work the are doing is on such large scale that they can do good with whatever they receive. Still, there are people in our areas, in our street and neighborhood who do not have that kind of reach. THEY DESERVE our help. Again, if you allow i will share details of some little projects i have undertaken in the past and may be we can see if we can build on that.

I always wanted to do this but how? these days it's very hard to distinguish between who is really in need of help and who is a fraud. I donated some blankets during the earthquake to some people.The next day I saw them selling it instead of using them. I got really worked up at that sight. So I leave the names of authentic charities to you guys. Thanks
Edhi, Shaukhat Khanum!

HOWEVER, my point of view on this is a little bit different. I mean no disrespect but the money you donate was given to you by Allah in the first place, i believe that our Swab is truly in that effort that we do to distribute the wealth given to us by Allah among the deserved ones. Like, hamara swab tu is mehnat ka ha to find and reach the needy, maal tu wasay he Allah ka dea hua he ha!

Every single time, when you have doubt and uncertainty in your mind. Close your eyes and ask Edhi to accept the donation and be certain that it would be going to the truly needy and poor.
Is that not the "go to" charity in Pakistan?
Spot on!

I had more faith in big charity organizations(like cry.org or helpage.org or giveindia.org) than small ones. I met a nepalese guy(wife european) in delhi who were emailing to rich european old ladies about charity and used most of the money as their income... met another charity fundraiser in a foreign country, similar story.

Excellent thread mate!! Much needed and really overlooked aspect of what we are trying to do here on the forum. Thanks a lot!

If you allow, i will like to add that we should not only use this thread to share information about the organizations that deserve our donations but also share ways to reach individuals and different ideas to turn this into a much bigger project. Edhi and Shaukhat Khanum are the go to charities in Pakistan. Every one goes to them and the work the are doing is on such large scale that they can do good with whatever they receive. Still, there are people in our areas, in our street and neighborhood who do not have that kind of reach. THEY DESERVE our help. Again, if you allow i will share details of some little projects i have undertaken in the past and may be we can see if we can build on that.

Edhi, Shaukhat Khanum!

HOWEVER, my point of view on this is a little bit different. I mean no disrespect but the money you donate was given to you by Allah in the first place, i believe that our Swab is truly in that effort that we do to distribute the wealth given to us by Allah among the deserved ones. Like, hamara swab tu is mehnat ka ha to find and reach the needy, maal tu wasay he Allah ka dea hua he ha!

Spot on!
If there are tough, fearless and social gents on this forum that dare to go at any level then I have no issues at all.That's why if you can't donate to international organizations then simply step outside your house and just buy a 5 kg pack worth of 200 rupee and give it to any needy individual you will see.
The aim here is to make charity easy and to remind people for not to adopt extremism, especially muslims.They try to take bigger steps and make obligations of deen very difficult for themselves.Just donate as much as you can afford and help any person.

I always wanted to do this but how? these days it's very hard to distinguish between who is really in need of help and who is a fraud. I donated some blankets during the earthquake to some people.The next day I saw them selling it instead of using them. I got really worked up at that sight. So I leave the names of authentic charities to you guys. Thanks
My friend,
Remember, any person who is not wearing slippers, cannot wear fancy cloths or is standing on street and looking for help is defined as a needy person.Just offer your prayer and make dua to submit your act of holy worship(charity) to needy person or deserving person.Allah(SWT) will pave way for you and you will be satisfied to no matter whom you give.
Just step outside your home and follow the definition. Do not spend either too much that you become empty handed nor too little that it didn't benefited anyone.You can also distribute your old cloths to any needy person you find.Just pray to Allah(SWT) to accept your charity.

regards

The first right goes to the people living nearest to our homes. Being young and perhaps a lot immature, I fantasize how to help poor and and make grand schemes in my mind,though seldom. The most easiest way to donate is to give it to Edhi. But, I believe that we should get more involved for charity and perhaps work together to do some practical work. Perhaps, a day, or half a day to go out for the welfare of the people in a week. Once, to clean the streets,once to give water to pedestrians and laborers, once to even make and distribute food and once to collect and donate for charity etc. I believe the youth have much greater responsibility in this respect. And we have what it takes to tackle this. We need not make an organization or something. Just be connect through any means(social media,mobile etc) and try to make an effort. I am not a very social person am prefer to sit home then him walk outside(and I am getting fat everyday) but I have the willpower to go outside and do social welfare. We all have.
I often see the ad on dawn news in which it highlights that 1 crore children are child labors and similarly on other news channels while watching TV. It really embarrasses me. While eating at fast food outlets as KFC,Burger King,Hardees,Mc Donalds,etc or eating at Monal are similar places, sometimes at that time or sometimes when I think about it, It really pains me to remember that while I was eating and wasting money on such lavish food items, perhaps some where, a kid was picking things from garbage or on the street begging, many families sent their children to work as servants,mechanics, welders etc rather then look after their needs and education because they can not effort to live on without their children helping them financially. I confess I am not experienced on practical life but I am trying to. I know If I try, and we try, we can make a difference. If I get serious,even a little bit, I can easily stop wasting money buying cold drinks every day and save money. I have the everything for it but I need guidance and help. We all need it.

Qatra Qatra Mil Ker Samandar Banta Hai

Most PDF members are smart enough to do this and can work together especially the young people in universities. I request people to make practical proposals and participate it this effort for social welfare.

I propose that members living in the same city can get together perhaps on 1 day a month in the beginning and go out for charity,helping etc. I also believe that if we plan to work in coordination and together, we visit charity organizations such as Edhi,SUIT,Al-Kidmat,Charity headqurters in Islamabad and other cities and ask their guidance and learn from them.

Lets see how the things unfold.

If there are tough, fearless and social gents on this forum that dare to go at any level then I have no issues at all.That's why if you can't donate to international organizations then simply step outside your house and just buy a 500 kg pack worth of 200 rupee and give it to any needy individual you will see.
The aim here is to make charity easy and to remind people for not to adopt extremism, especially muslims.They try to take bigger steps and make obligations of deen very difficult for themselves.Just donate as much as you can afford and help any person.
Fully agree with you!
:P

Anyway, so here is a summary of what i have done most recently.

I have a textile background so that is what i was comfortable experimenting with. There are importers who import used clothes from European countries into Pakistan. Now a decent sweater/Jersey is being sold for 250-300 Rs in landa market but even at this price there are many who cannot afford it. If you give a poor guy 300 Rs he may have other priorities and uses for that money, however we all know how harsh the winters can get even in Punjab and ALL OF US SEE many people on the streets without proper cloths. So what i did was i went to such an importer, the whole seller that is, the guy who brings in containers full of such clothing. They sell them by weight and i was able to get an adult size Jersey for Rs 40-50. These were then sent to washing plant where we used good detergents and anti-bacterial agents to wash them, these were pressed and PACKED. This all cost me 40-50 Rs extra. So in the end we have a well packed (on hanger in a poly bag) neat and clean jersey that looks like a new product. Whoever you give this to, you wont hurt his ego, it will be as a GIFT for them, not some second hand cloth. Attention was paid to this and i am mentioning it here because i could have gotten 2 garments in same price i paid for one but in that case we would be giving out second hand clothes, however here we were giving away excellent looking product so the guy who received was extremely happy about it. 100 Rs for a decent warm garment that gives the feeling on a new product to the poor, not a bad deal.

For me, the idea of charity is to get as much people in loop, even if all of them are acting individually. Like one person can donate only a certain amount of money, if you get 10 people you will end up helping 10 times more people. So what i did with this project here was i bought the garments, i did all the process and didn't gave away a single piece myself. Instead i contacted my 4 friends, told them i need a favor and asked them that i will be sending them a few clothes that they can distribute for me. They did it. The joy, the feeling of giving happenings to someone cannot be explained. You get addicted to it real fast. Now all these four friends are addicted to it. They are asking me that they will send me money so i can arrange garments for them. First time, i didn't took any money from anyone, this time, i will take the money from all these four people, buy and send them the clothes with the request that they do not distribute it them self rather give it to THEIR friends so that they can distribute. Idea is to keep on increasing this circle.Last year we gave 200 garments. Now with four people in loop we are looking at 1000 garments. Next time, INSHALLAH, it will be 4000! Exponential growth is the target here.

Now if anyone else have such ideas, any interest in carrying out such projects, please do share here. We may come across some nice plan to carry out community work.

@Spring Onion @WAJsal @The Eagle @The Sandman @Moonlight

Edhi, Shaukhat Khanum!

Spot on!
Please spare my typos if you encounter any.I just wanted to say that Rs.250 will cost 5kg which is sufficient to feed one family for a month.You have no idea how much you have donated with such little amount.You have just donated 5000 grams of wheat to the needy for 30 days.
The aim here is to realize that a person does not need to spend thousands.Spending few hundreds can bring you personal satisfaction, spiritual pleasure, gratitude and pleasure of God.
Regarding your project, then I find it excellent.I pray for success in this phase.Winters are coming and one "branded" sweater costs too much for the needy.We can buy old ones, washes them and wrap them and it could be distributed to people freely.
Also, old cloths could be washed, packed and distributed in such way.
We can also buy some basic required food such as pulses, wheat,rice,oil,eggs,milk,salt,teabags and few spices which will cost around Rs.4000 and distribute it to one family every month.These families are assigned into groups and each group consists of 3 families:
1__________ 2__________ 3_________ which would be group 1 and so on.
Also, donors will be assigned into groups.So if person A is donating to family 1 then person B will donate to family 2 by next month.Hence, all three families will get donations and no one will be burdened nor any family needed to wait for their turns. :)

regards

Please spare my typos if you encounter any.I just wanted to say that Rs.250 will cost 5kg which is sufficient to feed one family for a month.You have no idea how much you have donated with such little amount.You have just donated 5000 grams of wheat to the needy for 30 days.
No problems at all boss. Just pointed it out. I got the message first time and agree with what you said.
The aim here is to realize that a person does not need to spend thousands.Spending few hundreds can bring you personal satisfaction, spiritual pleasure, gratitude and pleasure of God.

Regarding your project, then I find it excellent.I pray for success in this phase.Winters are coming and one "branded" sweater costs too much for the needy.We can buy old ones, washes them and wrap them and it could be distributed to people freely.
This is the idea. I will be frank, i donated 17000-18000 last season via this project but involved four friends in it. All of them wanted to share with the money but i didnt allowed them. Now trust me, they are itching for it to continue, they are desparete to contribute it. I feel that the feeling of spreading happiness is just addictive!
Also, old cloths could be washed, packed and distributed in such way. So what was a 200 garment project last year (just distributed once) will be 1000 garments (four friends and one myself) in one go. IF i manage to convince them not to distribute and send these to there four friends, i am looking at exponential growth. Will keep you people updated on the progress and how it is working and them may be some groups can be formed here who start working on similar lines.

We can also buy some basic required food such as pulses, wheat,rice,oil,eggs,milk,salt,teabags and few spices which will cost around Rs.4000 and distribute it to one family every month.These families are assigned into groups and each group consists of 3 families:
1__________ 2__________ 3_________ which would be group 1 and so on.
Also, donors will be assigned into groups.So if person A is donating to family 1 then person B will donate to family 2 by next month.Hence, all three families will get donations and no one will be burdened nor any family needed to wait for their turns. :)
Understandable!
Not too much of a burden in financial terms (we need to keep it that way else such projects fail rapidly, i can say this based on my experience) and yet effectively helping multiple families.

=======================================================================

On other thing i have always wanted to carry out but have met failure in it multiple times is to help someone in such a way that in sometime he is not dependent on anyone. I mean, like that Chinese saying, give a man a fish and he will eat it in one meal, teach a man fishing and he will have food everyday (something like that :P). The idea is to support people so that they can stand up on their own foot. Two problems here, MANY of such people when supported do not want to work or will try to just take hard cash as help. Secondly, it is a bit more expensive than our normal donations. So if ANYONE have any suggestions regarding this, please do share.

One such thing that met limited success was helping a kid (15-16 years age) who sells socks in winters and kids drawing books in summers in Johar Town area. A friend saw him there and bought a book for his kid, got introduced. Winters were coming and we were told by him that he do not have enough money to buy socks so we just financed his stock. NOT A DONATION (as i did wanted to spoil a kid). We bought him socks and told him that he can sell these socks that we bought for 30Rs per pair but he will pay us back HONESTLY once he have sold. 4-5 weeks later he id returned the money and from that we bought him a few mufflers as well and asked him to continue on his own thereafter!

Anyone who have such an idea, helping people stand up on there own feet or things like that, DO SHARE.

Also don't forget about

logo.png

Either give to someone you know who is in need or reputable organisations like Edhi, Shaukat Khanum etc. Giving it to random people asking outside mosques is waste of money and they could also be terrorists.

Edhi
Shaukat Khanum
Save Our Souls
Please don't donate to religious groups, as the money is misused.

Edhi
Shaukat Khanum
Save Our Souls
Please don't donate to religious groups, as the money is misused.
..adding to that those organizations that are backed up by specific political parties.

regards