PIA may ‘see off’ its Premier Service after financial losses

PIA should be privatized and given off to Chinese - about 70% of it's shares and sell 30% in PSX.
This formula should be implemented to all the Govt. owned Entities.

Privatization is a fine idea, but these entities deserve a fair price, especially given the amount of government money spent on it just to keep the lights on. Turn it into a stock company, sell a controlling interest (51%) and retain the rest. If the airline is in profit, the government should sell it's shares in the open market. The poor taxpayer must get some benefit out of this deal.

Most Airlines world wide have complimentary service of upgrading a passenger to Frist class if a seat is available.
This gives a Economy passenger a chance to experience the premium service

Positive word to mouth marketing

Flying a plane with empty frist class seat is not ideal and I am sure it is not the case

• Also with Oil at record low rates for 2 years PIA should be reporting a operational Profit, minus the loss of ATR plane due to crash

Airlines two biggest expenses are jet fuel and labor. PIA is a bloated airline with too many people working for so little revenue, let alone profit. Doesn't matter what oil price is, an airline will lose money if labor costs are also not under control. PIA needs to be right-sized to be profitable.

PIA= Pain In the *** Airlines.

The last time I travelled on PIA I really did think that I should have done better deeds in my life. Kasmay, I thought the fuckers were going to end my family tree. There were people smoking at the rear of the plane on a non-smoking flight. I told the air hostess and she said 'main kya karoo, agar sab martay hain to jahanam main jaeen!' I politely asked her 'mainay kya begara hai aap ka?' She just looked at me like I was crazy and said : Aap desi nahee lagtay? What kind of bloody answer is that?

I would rather travel by Titanic.

Granted they are Arab (companies) and that means you value that over practically anything else, but at least try and think about the loss it would cause to your economy.

A group of 4 Nepali students came to my father's shop a few weeks ago. Being students they worked the summer months in Ocean City, earning $400-600 a week, and working weekends during semesters.

My father remarked how sad it was to see less fortunate people face hardship (earthquakes, famine, civil war).

One of the students remarked respectably, "We are not a poor nation, our politicians are poor."

i read an article that on its first flight the planes was trashed bad style with lotion stolen, screens scratched and pillows torn.
it should just join the normal fleet

What they are doing now It is more likely that we may see off PIA soon.

Are you stupid? Do you want to handover the entire international market of Pakistan to foreign companies on a platter?
Granted they are Arab (companies) and that means you value that over practically anything else, but at least try and think about the loss it would cause to your economy.

these are limited companies and their shares can be purchased...Pakistan first should build a viable aviation market...and then reinvest the profits into shareholding...this way...an Emarati company may end up becoming Pakistani..

PIA should be privatized and given off to Chinese - about 70% of it's shares and sell 30% in PSX.
This formula should be implemented to all the Govt. owned Entities.

Open bidding is important...why help set up Chinese monopolies?

PIA= Pain In the *** Airlines.

The last time I travelled on PIA I really did think that I should have done better deeds in my life. Kasmay, I thought the fuckers were going to end my family tree. There were people smoking at the rear of the plane on a non-smoking flight. I told the air hostess and she said 'main kya karoo, agar sab martay hain to jahanam main jaeen!' I politely asked her 'mainay kya begara hai aap ka?' She just looked at me like I was crazy and said : Aap desi nahee lagtay? What kind of bloody answer is that?

I would rather travel by Titanic.

I cannot believe this!
Its tragic beyond conscience...!

Just dismantle the airline already!

It is a burden on the nation. Privatize it and let someone else run it efficiently.
Dismantling them are not the long term solution, what it needs is rationalization and deep reforms backed by proper controlling.

A group of 4 Nepali students came to my father's shop a few weeks ago. Being students they worked the summer months in Ocean City, earning $400-600 a week, and working weekends during semesters.

My father remarked how sad it was to see less fortunate people face hardship (earthquakes, famine, civil war).

One of the students remarked respectably, "We are not a poor nation, our politicians are poor."
That has nothing to do with what I said.

There are two traits in Pakistanis that are visible to even the casual observer -
total obeisance to 1 or more of the following:

1. Arabs
2. Iran.
3. China

Some are comfortable in giving out everything to Arabs. There is one enlightened chap who suggests every national company of Pakistan be sold to Chinese. I rarely read economic news of Pakistan that does not have the words 'xyz project has been approved by China'...or 'xyz has been bought by China'.

The way things are heading - despite the fact that I am Indian, I would use the word unfortunately - Pakistan is heading to becoming an economic colony of China primarily or the Arabs secondly.
And the people are blindly saying 'this is good'. Economics is a bitch and no one's friend. When Pakistan's interests diverge from China's, it will have a crippling effect, this utter reliance on one country majorly and another one minorly.

Everything in life has a cost. Nothing is free. Pakistanis don't seem to appreciate that.

Dismantling them are not the long term solution, what it needs is rationalization and deep reforms backed by proper controlling.
Nope... it's a lost cause... no gov entity will ever flourish in pak.

Here is your answer: https://defence.pk/threads/pia-may-...r-financial-losses.470566/page-2#post-9079011

Ettihad and Emirates are able to fly first class suites costing a staggering 28 thousand USD..yet our so called premier needs to shut down for loss making...I think its time to rebrand PIA entirely as a premier only airline and get rid of desi crowd..

Some are comfortable in giving out everything to Arabs. There is one enlightened chap who suggests every national company of Pakistan be sold to Chinese. I rarely read economic news of Pakistan that does not have the words 'xyz project has been approved by China'...or 'xyz has been bought by China'.

It does have to do with your previous post.

These are kids who are willing to get paid squat and are content with what they earn. They're willing to live a few years of hardship to have a greater future with degrees in Computer Science and Engineering and make something of themselves.

It's not the people selling out their nation, although they too are responsible, but the elites.

It does have to do with your previous post.

These are kids who are willing to get paid squat and are content with what they earn. They're willing to live a few years of hardship to have a greater future with degrees in Computer Science and Engineering and make something of themselves.

It's not the people selling out their nation, although they too are responsible, but the elites.
I refuse to make the artificial distinction that you make which gives an easy cop out to 99.99% of Pakistanis (or any other nationality) because they are not elites and thus are 'not responsible'.

Yes, they are responsible. These people are equally responsible. The common Pakistani is the one who either votes in these 'elites' or jumps and dances with joy when a military dictator takes power. And when things go bad, you refuse to hold the same people responsible?

Make no mistake, I judge my own country by the same yardstick. I and every other Indian is responsible for whatever happens in my nation. I voted them to power, it is therefore my responsibility.

How can the staff be sincere to their work when they know they'll be paid regardless of how good or bad the service they provide.

That's the dilemma with every government or federally sponsored Institute. And that's true pretty much every where in the world. Cops, teachers, firemen, sanitation workers, health care personal, etc these professions mostly fall in the jurisdiction of the federal government and each and every one has severe performance issues.

Reason being that no matter what happens, the government will still pay us. And it's virtually impossible to rerminate or downsize federal jobs also.

Why in the world Pakistan has federally funded air and railway travel agencies is beyond any sanity. You will never get the kind of commitment from your staff the way you get in the private sector because the fear of loosing the job in the private sector is always looming