Photo Taken By Mangalyaan Lands National Geographic Cover

ito

mangalyaan-lands-national-geographic-cover_650x400_51479568926.jpg

India on September 24, 2014, successfully placed its low-cost Mars spacecraft in orbit around Mars

NEW DELHI:
HIGHLIGHTS
  1. India's Mangalyaan completed three years in orbit this week
  2. Experts acknowledge that Mangalyaan has taken some of the best images
  3. India's mission cost Rs. 450 crore, was made to nominally last six months

Just days after finding place on the Rs. 2,000 currency note, there's another high for India's Mangalyaan that completed three years in orbit this week.

In a rare admission of the global importance of India's maiden mission to Mars, a photo of the Red Planet taken by the simple, low cost camera of Mangalyaan, has found place on the cover of the venerable National Georgaphic magazine, known for its high quality images.

There are less than a dozen images of the full disc of Mars and experts acknowledge that India's Mangalyaan has taken some of the best images. More than fifty missions before Mangalyaan did not manage to take such high quality images of the full disc of the Red Planet.

India's mission cost Rs. 450 crore and was made to nominally last six months but has now survived for three years beaming back data.

Scripting space history, India on September 24, 2014, had successfully placed its low-cost Mars spacecraft in orbit around the Red Planet on its very first attempt, breaking into an elite club of three nations.

http://www.ndtv.com/india-news/phot...raphic-cover-1627580?pfrom=home-lateststories

still going strong, hopefully
Image taken in july 2021.

Also , feb 2022

Initial life estimate of 6 months in orbit, in 2014.
Completed 7 years .

and just how are you planning to get there, mungeri ? :what:

A nation that calls a hopeful, an ambitious and a dreamer as Mungeri will never progress. Prime example, India. Elon would have been called a Mungeri too. :)

However, about me I will be starting a company in fundamental computing soon pending the arrival of investment of 15 to 20 lakhs and I will build from there.

A nation that calls a hopeful, an ambitious and a dreamer as Mungeri will never progress. Prime example, India. Elon would have been called a Mungeri too. :)

However, about me I will be starting a company in fundamental computing soon pending the arrival of investment of 15 to 20 lakhs and I will build from there.
Vo sab theek hai but expectations ki kuch limit bhi honi chahiye

tu toh chaand bhi nahi, seedhey Mars pe settlement bananey ki baat kar raha :lol:

Vo sab theek hai but expectations ki kuch limit bhi honi chahiye

Na, woh sab theek nahi hai. I was going to reply on this to you in the Cuba thread today. But let me start with a question, why do you expect SpaceX and the smaller Western companies like Relativity Space and Rocket Lab to have expectations to be on Mars and not me ? And do you ever expect ISRO to set up an crewed Indian station on Mars ?

tu toh chaand bhi nahi, seedhey Mars pe settlement bananey ki baat kar raha :lol:

If you want to land on a moon and putter around, Mars has two moons - Phobos and Deimos. Other planets have many more moons. Much more interesting than Earth's moon is Jupiter's moon Europa which is said to have a liquid water ice ocean underneath a thick water ice cover and where the liquid water may have lifeforms. Watch the superb and philosophical 2013 film Europa Report I posted here.

Na, woh sab theek nahi hai. I was going to reply on this to you in the Cuba thread today. But let me start with a question, why do you expect SpaceX and smaller Western companies like Relativity Space and Rocket Lab to have expectations to be on Mars and not me ? And do you ever expect ISRO to set up an crewed Indian station on Mars ?
resources for starters ?

Elon Musk has an estimated net worth of $219 billion .. says a quick google search.

what about you ?

ISRO are struggling to even get a basic lander on the moon for now, they have a long way to go.

resources for starters ?

Elon Musk has an estimated net worth of $219 billion .. says a quick google search.

what about you ?

By having a determined, innovations-and-simplifications-led and program in a company or a small group of focused companies the resources can be built for fields ranging from computers to power generation to clothing to vertical farming etc. One company I mentioned earlier, Rocket Lab, I knew as one of the participants in the Google Lunar X Prize from the late 2000s. That prize did not continue but Rocket Lab continued designing its space rockets and now it has a flying rocket called Electron which can deliver small payloads to low Earth orbit :
200131-D-RQ659-0001.JPG

If one has the ambition and coolly continues his plan and is a generalist who can think on various ideas and delegate the ideas to specialists engineers a human landing capability for Mars is quite within the realism of possibility.

ISRO are struggling to even get a basic lander on the moon for now, they have a long way to go.

60-year-old ISRO is a non-innovative, incompetent , traditional Indian organization which despite massive government-arranged human, material and financial resources ( ISRO has 17,099 workers ) has not been able to put a single Indian into space while private company, the 20-year-old SpaceX, with lesser resources than ISRO has sent 22 humans to space - just yesterday four people returned from the International Space Station on a SpaceX Dragon spacecraft after 17 days of stay on the ISS. I doubt ISRO will send an Indian to space in the next three years much less build a LEO Indian space station in the next 10 years and having even less chances of ever sending Indians to Mars without making them part of others' Mars program.

If one has the ambition and coolly continues his plan and is a generalist who can think on various ideas and delegate the ideas to specialists engineers a human landing capability for Mars is quite within the realism of possibility.
Again, do you have the financial resources for hiring those experts ? if not, can you get some venture capitalists to invest in your project of colonizing Mars ?

60-year-old ISRO is a non-innovative, incompetent , traditional Indian organization which despite massive government-arranged human, material and financial resources ( ISRO has 17,099 workers ) has not been able to put a single Indian into space while private company, the 20-year-old SpaceX, with lesser resources than ISRO has sent 22 humans to space - just yesterday four people returned from the International Space Station on a SpaceX Dragon spacecraft after 17 days of stay on the ISS. I doubt ISRO will send an Indian to space in the next three years much less build a LEO Indian space station in the next 10 years and having even less chances of ever sending Indians to Mars without making them part of others' Mars program.
SpaceX works with NASA

Agree, ISRO is nowhere to be compared to those guys.. what on earth makes you think you have a chance to start a company that could reach those highs (quite literally ;) ) ?

I have no problem discussing space exploration, its quite fascinating, the whole thing.. but for you to say you have plans to start a company that will do that.. is a bit..

Tommy-Lee-Jones.jpg

The atmosphere isn't that dense so you aren't going to see clouds that thick.

OK. And are there visual illustrations of that ?

Again, do you have the financial resources for hiring those experts ? if not, can you get some venture capitalists to invest in your project of colonizing Mars ?

I co-founded a company some years ago with finance from my co-founder. The company was in software and it was unique in South Asia and it had six workers including myself. So now too I don't have the money and Modi ji won't deliver on his promise to give 15 lakhs to every citizen therefore it will be again a financier. Start a company in the computing field, build influence and interest people to finance a new company for spaceship design and such a company can start in five years from now.

There are already three Indian private companies in the space sector - Bellatrix Aerospace, Skyroot Aerospace and Agnikul Cosmos. Bellatrix is designing an innovative propulsion system for satellites which uses water as the medium to carry fuel - probably use electricity to extract hydrogen from the water and bombard it with microwave to vaporize it and send out the vapors at high speed through the nozzle to propel the spacecraft. This is an innovation that ISRO did not do. Another company from the list, Skyroot Aerospace, has raised 17 million dollars to build a satellite launch rocket :
Updated: 27 Jan 2022, 04:58 PM IST
Shouvik Das

• Skyroot Aerospace has so far raised $17 million to fund its upcoming launch this year. Its Vikram-1 rocket, slated to be launched later this year, is powered by a solid propulsion engine, Kalam-5

NEW DELHI: Skyroot Aerospace, a private Indian space-tech startup building an indigenous rocket for commercial missions, announced a bridge funding round of $4.5 million as it builds up towards the test launch of its rocket, Vikram, later this year.

The funds raised will be used to build “critical infrastructure" to facilitate the launch of the Vikram rocket in 2022, according to Naga Bharath Daka, co-founder of Skyroot.

The startup has so far raised $17 million to fund its upcoming launch this year. Its Vikram-1 rocket, slated to be launched later this year, is powered by a solid propulsion engine, Kalam-5. Skyroot had showcased its engine in December 2020.

In November 2021, the startup also showcased its first, fully 3D-printed cryogenic second stage rocket engine, called Dhawan-1. The latter is slated to be used in Vikram-2, the second rocket being developed by the startup.

A cryogenic rocket engine uses more efficient fuels such as liquified natural gas (LNG) and liquid oxygen (LOx) stored at cryogenic temperatures of below 150 degrees Celsius. Such an engine is more efficient than solid propulsion rocket engines, as it provides rockets with more thrust — thereby using lesser overall energy in comparison to solid propulsion technology.

In a previous conversation with Mint in December 2021, Pawan Kumar Chandana, chief executive of Skyroot Aerospace, had stated that the company is eyeing a single launch in 2022, which will showcase the Vikram-1 rocket’s suitability towards affordable commercial space missions.

In India, Skyroot Aerospace is joined by fellow private space-tech startup Agnikul Cosmos, which is also eyeing the launch of its first rocket, Agnibaan, in mid-2022. Unlike Skyroot, Agnikul Cosmos is eyeing two launches this year, its chief operating officer Moin SPM had told Mint in an interview in November 2021.

Both Skyroot and Agnikul Cosmos claim that their latest rocket engines are fully 3D printed, which gives them flexibility to manufacture engines based on demand. Agnikul’s Moin had also confirmed that the company is working with satellite companies as its clients, while Skyroot’s clientele for its first launch remains unclear.

Skyroot’s latest bridge funding round was led by Sherpalo Ventures, and co-led by Wami Capital, Neeraj Arora and Amit Singhal.

The document is more than ten years old but I agree that SpaceX worked with NASA on a few things but let us not denigrate SpaceX's own work, for example the rocket engines and the large-level manufacture. At the moment NASA has its own Moon rocket called Space Launch System and that project seems quite complicated with NASA spending a lot of resources to produce just one SLS rocket and the SLS is now at the launch pad with the first launch in August ( uncrewed perhaps ). OTOH SpaceX has the Starship spaceship + Super Heavy launch rocket to be tested in the coming months and in the coming years this will be the system used by SpaceX to take humans and cargo to the Moon and Mars, Mars being SpaceX's primary concern AFAIK.

Agree, ISRO is nowhere to be compared to those guys.. what on earth makes you think you have a chance to start a company that could reach those highs (quite literally ;) ) ?

What chance did Peter Beck have in little New Zealand when he started Rocket Lab in 2006 ?

I would rather survive an apocalypse, only to be eaten by zombies than live at a place that looks like this.

Yes it's an alien world, something not in human experience and humans will have to soften that world via some elements known from Earth like special tree containers - with the greenery visible through glass - but is a place that is important not only for preparing us for venturing out further into space but also for setting up of a simple industrial base on an at-the-soonest basis as safety in case of some mass tragedy on Earth.