Photo of funeral procession passing through sewage water angers CJP

ghazi52

PDF THINK TANK: ANALYST
Photo of funeral procession passing through sewage water angers CJP

5ab0a4b74967a.jpg

The photo showing a funeral procession passing through sewage water, which the CJP took a notice of on Tuesday. — Photo provided by author

Chief Justice of Pakistan (CJP) Mian Saqib Nisar on Tuesday took suo motu notice of a picture circulating on social media that showed a funeral procession passing through sewage water.

During the hearing of a case, the CJP directed the attention of the attorney general and advocate general towards the photo.

"People are walking to offer funeral prayers and they have been left impure [due to walking through the unsanitary water]," Justice Nisar observed.

Asking which city the scene captured in the photo belonged to, the CJP directed media representatives to also look at the photo and point out the area it originated from.

"This filth is a threat to human health and cleanliness," he remarked.

"We will take the MNA, councillor and other officials of whatever area is depicted in the photo to task [over the unsanitary conditions]," Justice Nisar said.

The apex court, under its 2018 agenda, is focusing on human rights issues, particularly those relating to the people’s right to quality education and healthcare. However, this course of action is also being seen as an overstepping of boundaries, similar to the Iftikhar Chaudhry era.

The chief justice has stood by the court's actions, reiterating that such criticism will not deter him from exercising what he considers is his "constitutional right."

yeh Qoum zindagi bhar yunhi zalil ho gi .. zinda reh ker bhi aur marne ke bad bhi . Izzat-e-Nafs khatam hai yahan

Is there any limit to get oppressed ?
It is people, we can't keep blaming politicians forever. People have true power to bring change. Every revolution needs sacrification from generation. We all have become selfish. Until something bothers us we don't care about it.
One who has money can bypass all hardship and throw that to one without it. The others will leave the country. People of the subcontinent (India, Pakistan, BD, Srilanka or Afghanistan to that extension ) can't think above my religion, my cast, my biradari, my region, my city and stop worshipping people. I have given up now. In Pakistan there is a sizable portion of a population is still supporting Nawaz and here in Bihar people are still supporting Lalu even after he got convicted in 4 different corruption cases. His family is knee deep in corruption is general knowledge in Bihar.
Simple rule, if you won't ask for it you won't get it. People are not asking for change... they want to support same politicians because they are from their city, state, cast, biradari .. sick of it. My blood started boiling after watching the picture. Doesn't matter what is my nationality is, everyone should get respect for their last rite. Think about son or brother of a deceased person when they are carrying him through this filth. We have reached the bottom and still, somehow we keep finding a way to dig deeper.

It is people, we can't keep blaming politicians forever. People have true power to bring change. Every revolution needs sacrification from generation.

Dude...they give away free biyrani if I voted for X/Y/Z political party.

Punjab is only in Lahore.
Now may be 'Qatil-A-Aala' will consider a contract for 'Long Boots' scheme and start to distribute them in cities in Punjab.
So some more people like Mr Ahad Cheema are going to be rich.

Dude...they give away free biyrani if I voted for X/Y/Z political party.
The last by-election in Tamilnadu, you should have gotten 15,000 INR and month of liquor quota. That happened after election commission canceled election once due to same charges and caught 82 crore INR. Candidate with the most money won the election and now he has to earn those billion INR back. How can I feel pity for those voters?

You're not supposed to. Nor should you. Unless you live in TamilNadu then you should probably move.