Honestly if we have to invest on the defenses for eastern side, the money in the short-mid term would be better spent on: artillery (esp SP howitzers; I think PA is evaluating a serbian and south african platform), APCs/IFVs (needed for WOT as well), tanks, Air defense & 4th/5th gen aircraft; oh and lets not forget Navy as well
In the LOC sector, where most of skirmishes are taking place these days, I would recommend upgrades for light artillery (especially after IA going for M777), tactical drones and surveillance upgrades (to counter any so called Sir gi Kal! strikes), attack & transport helicopters (useful for WOT as well).
If we want to worry about soldier equipment on LOC my order would then be: NVGs, better sights, sniper rifles, heavy support weapons (such as missile launchers, ATGMs etc). I dont know if G3 is extensively used on LOC? I think AK and Type 56 are mainly used, so the current Bren acquisition would be useful on the LOC front if my assumption is correct.
I think PAs plan is to replace G3 in the next decade, so a couple additional years to work with CZ to develop a new 7.62X51 variant of Bren shouldnt hurt that much. Know the PA, and especially Pakistani mentallity, hadion ki khaal tak udher daiti hai hamari koom
; refer F7s, mirages, old navy frigates still in use for decades after they normally should be replaced.
(especially light ones after IA going for M777)
Bhai kiyamat to nahi aa rahi? No SCAR pic??
Regards