Pakistan’s problem is incompetence and flawed decision making, not corruption: Mian Mansha

All of them are linked. If you're corrupt then you are incompetent and flawed and vice versa.

Competent people are not rewarded hence u have brain drain

The credit goes to bhutto by saughtering the industries and even today the word "mafias" "jageerdaar" "sarmayadar" are all used interchangable.
Obviously a corrupt person will say that.

No country has progressed where the top leadership was looting with both hands and feet. Reading the comments of Pakistanis here explains why Pakistan is an underdeveloped third world country because for the people corruption isn't an issue.

As for PTI's so-called incompetence, I'd take their incompetence any day of the week if it means 4.5% growth with current account surplus.
Exactly
Pakistan is the only country in the world..i mean only where educated Phd people defend corruption and incompetence of PPPP and PMLN

The case is so unique that i think someone can do a Phd thesis as how the country has survived so far..

The reasons include sucessfully begging from middle east(a tune of 20b$ in 2018-20) and using its geo poltical situation (and leveraging easy IMF terms)

So far the story for this government is they haven't retrieved any money from the corrupt. This anti corruption mantra is one of the biggest lie you can tell someone, everyone is joining the band wagon of making Pakistan corruption free, which is virtually impossible. Yes you can mildly reduce it but never eliminate it until unless you have an iran style revolution.

PTI reeks of incompetence and that's a fact.
Ik complains of
Sugar Mafia
Oil Mafia
Pharmaceutical Mafia
Wheat mafia
And what not. All of these mafia exploited Pakistani more in PTI tenure and thats a fact. What did he do nothing and saying he made a report public is bullshit. If you can't do something about it then leave simply and make someone else the PM.

We need competent people who can make policies and implement them, even if we end up losing some amount to corruption. Eventually the state machinery through these implemented policies will checkmate corruption in some years.

At the moment neither the corruption has reduced nor has the government taken any concrete steps to revolutionise the economy/system or introduced any gaming changing polices. They keep on blaming the previous government even though they've been in power for 3 years. If you can't change the system in these year, you won't be able to do anything in 10 years as well.

If bajwa sahab doesn't take a 2nd extension there's a very high chance PTI will be rekt.

Call this yahoodi sazish but PTI is corrupt and not so clean.

Sugar daddy tareen and his son roaming freely. The term selective accountability perfectly fits here. Bhai sabko pakro nah sirf PMLN kai pechai kiun kagai wai ho.

In my opinion it is all three things. Incompetence, bad decision making and corruption. Unfortunately we have useless people and useless leaders. That definitely contributes in all three things.
So far the story for this government is they haven't retrieved any money from the corrupt. This anti corruption mantra is one of the biggest lie you can tell someone, everyone is joining the band wagon of making Pakistan corruption free, which is virtually impossible. Yes you can mildly reduce it but never eliminate it until unless you have an iran style revolution.

Ik complains of
Sugar Mafia
Oil Mafia
Pharmaceutical Mafia
Wheat mafia
And what not. All of these mafia exploited Pakistani more in PTI tenure and thats a fact. What did he do nothing and saying he made a report public is bullshit. If you can't do something about it then leave simply and make someone else the PM.

We need competent people who can make policies and implement them, even if we end up losing some amount to corruption. Eventually the state machinery through these implemented policies will checkmate corruption in some years.

At the moment neither the corruption has reduced nor has the government taken any concrete steps to revolutionise the economy/system or introduced any gaming changing polices. They keep on blaming the previous government even though they've been in power for 3 years. If you can't change the system in these year, you won't be able to do anything in 10 years as well.

If bajwa sahab doesn't take a 2nd extension there's a very high chance PTI will be rekt.

Sugar daddy tareen and his son roaming freely. The term selective accountability perfectly fits here. Bhai sabko pakro nah sirf PMLN kai pechai kiun kagai wai ho.

I have said it before. This was and still is a perfect opportunity to at least lay a proper foundation. We have political and military leadership on one page. How often has that happened in the history of Pakistan? It seems PTI and military leaders are squandering a perfect opportunity to cleanse the political landscape. One has already escaped and enjoying his stay in London. Things like stabilising economy etc. can wait. Cleansing the political landscape cannot wait.

Ik complains of
Sugar Mafia
Oil Mafia
Pharmaceutical Mafia
Wheat mafia

I agree
There was no oil mafia before, IK created it..we never had shortages before..track & trace system was there when IK took over, there was no smuggling

Same true with IPPs, ik did all the deals giving 20% returns in 2010 it wsnt nawaz sharif..but IK is shape shifter

Also the pharma shortage of 2010-2018 was created by IK

Lack of pharma in country when countries like india is exporting 50+b is also due to 30 years polcies of IK as i said before he shape shifted as zardari this time

Also for wheat mafia it was IK who sobotage new dams in th country otherwise nawaz sharif would have built 50 dams

No wonder even a guy who doesnt know failure the quaid-i-azam gave up on these people and left to london in 1930s ..for some miracle the young college students turned the tide later and created pakistan otherwise the majority 30+ age group loved hindus just like they do nawaz sharif these days even though he openly screws them..its stockhom syndrome

I agree
There was no oil mafia before, IK created it..we never had shortages before..track & trace system was there when IK took over, there was no smuggling

Same true with IPPs, ik did all the deals giving 20% returns in 2010 it wsnt nawaz sharif..but IK is shape shifter

Also the pharma shortage of 2010-2018 was created by IK

Lack of pharma in country when countries like india is exporting 50+b is also due to 30 years polcies of IK as i said before he shape shifted as zardari this time

Also for wheat mafia it was IK who sobotage new dams in th country otherwise nawaz sharif would have built 50 dams

No wonder even a guy who doesnt know failure the quaid-i-azam gave up on these people and left to london in 1930s ..for some miracle the young college students turned the tide later and created pakistan otherwise the majority 30+ age group loved hindus just like they do nawaz sharif these days even though he openly screws them..its stockhom syndrome
I strongly agree, couldn't have said it in a better way.:tup:

LAHORE: Prominent businessman and chairman of Nishat Group, Mian Muhammad Mansha Saturday asked the government to stop calling everyone a thief, stressing that Pakistan’s problem was not corruption but incompetence and flawed decision-making.

Mansha made these remarks during an interview with a local media outlet while commenting on the ongoing anti-corruption drive of the government against politicians primarily, and businessmen. “There will always be some corruption in every country. The US, European countries are also not free of corruption,” he said.

The Nishat Group chairman expressed that a country should not stop growing because of its accountability drive. “Let’s put this behind and move forward. We have suffered a lot, we have high unemployment and poverty that needs to be addressed,” he said.

“Even the bureaucracy is dreaded. We need to get people out of fear and grow,” he added.

Budget 2021-22 and growth

On the recently announced budget, Mansha praised the government, affirming that the budget was going to bring growth to the country. “That is what the budget should be like. I am expecting our growth rate to be at 4 per cent but we can really go up much more and a country like us can grow at 8-10 per cent,” he added.

“There were some problems in the initial years of the government but the growth policy that the government is bringing now is on the right track. Now, we should move together and grow the economy that enables us to sell more, grow more, and bring more revenues for the government,” he said.

Mansha also praised the government for adept handling of the Covid-19 pandemic and that the measures adopted helped Pakistan fare better than many other countries

“We have done some great things in Covid. When the lockdown happened, in some ways, we reacted really well. The central bank introduced some great policies like loans for salaries that helped the industries that were working,” Mansha said.

On a question of whether growth will be sustainable as it had been superficial because the State Bank was pumping in a lot of money, Mansha replied that central banks all over the world were pumping money by changing interest rates to keep economies afloat during the pandemic.

“There was a high acceleration when the interest rates went up to 13%. That was a mistake but the State Bank of Pakistan (SBP) corrected it. Presently, the interest rate is 7 per cent but I still think there is room to decrease it further by 1 per cent,” added Mansha.

However, the Nishat Group chairman highlighted that a lot was left to be done if long-term growth was to be achieved and the first step towards that would be decreasing public sector losses by privatisation of public entities. Mansha said that Pakistan’s privatisation programmes have earlier been a hit in the entire world, which goes on to show that more can be achieved if Pakistan privatises more entities.

“Our banking sector is a success story and we should speak about success stories. Next door in India, the banks are not doing that well,” he said.

“We have a chronic circular debt issue which can not be fixed because DISCOs simply don’t have good recovery rates. It is only 18 per cent in Quetta, 14 per cent in the frontier and Hyderabad only has 25-30 per cent recovery. Only in Punjab DISCOs are working well but still, the recovery is 90-93 per cent,” he said.

“Power sector needs to be deregulated and privatised,” he said.

Mansha criticised the government for its policy of bringing professionals on different boards, saying that this policy can bring revenues for the government but not a growth of 8-10 per cent.

“We need to bring regulators that would kill monopolies and prevent any excessiveness. We need to improve the situation in the country,” he said.

The case of IPPs

On a question that the power policy under which IPPs were operationalised benefitted investors at the expense of government revenue and power consumers, Mansha acknowledged that though some excessive profits were made, there was no corruption installed in the process.

“These projects were installed during the Musharraf era and there was no corruption. Few companies including ours were requested to come and install power plants because the nation needed it,” he said.

On another question that the plants generated an ROE of up to 80% for some IPPs, Mansha responded, “All the plants were installed at the same time. According to the report on IPPs, some companies earned Rs14 billion while others did not even do Rs1 billion. It was the same tariff for all the plants that were installed, everything was the same so how would it be possible for some of them to earn Rs14 billion while others did not even do Rs1 billion.”

“Those who articulated the power policy in 2002 expected that by now, we would have 40-50,000MW electricity production. If our economy did not grow, why are IPPs to blame?” he questioned.

On the issue of capacity payments, the Nishat Group chairman stated that there was a one-buyer model for the purchase of electricity from power plants, which will always require capacity payments.

Exports from Pakistan

Mansha expressed hope that exports in the coming days are going to see a boom but regretted that the Rs26 billion export target, set by the government in the recent budget, was very low for a country like Pakistan. He, however, said that the exports were increasing because of the government’s initiatives and that they would bring dividends soon.

“If we talk about textiles, presently, our circumstances are conducive to increase exports. Business is shifting from China where wages are increasing and we will benefit from it,” he said.

Construction industry and foreclosure law

On the question of whether construction brings growth or does growth bring a boom in construction, Mansha stated that whenever there was momentum in the construction sector, 15-20 affiliated industries like cement, steel, electric wires, and furniture grow in parallel.

“The central bank has done a great job and gave concessions. There is an impetus but a lot needs to be fixed in the construction sector. Foreclosure law for one,” he said.

Mansha lamented that the foreclosure law in Pakistan has never evolved that keeps banks from recovering mortgage properties from customers in case of defaults. This eventually leads to a fall in lending to consumers.

“Problems relating to courts and foreclosures have not been solved in spite of the government’s claims. Who is going to invest like this? If these problems are solved, a poor man is also going to get loans,” Mansha said.

“Banks have not lent more than 50 per cent of their deposits. It should be 80-85 per cent. If foreclosure laws are fixed, banks are going to lend to the construction industry as well as others,” he said.

main mansha, is corrupt till his rear end,
thats why imran likes him also.

Ik complains of
Sugar Mafia
Oil Mafia
Pharmaceutical Mafia
Wheat mafia

Per PMLN tareen is clean guy and they invited him to his party
main mansha, is corrupt till his rear end,
thats why imran likes him also.
You tell mian mansha that we will give u 24% return and that you dont need to upgrade your refineries as we are okay with sulphur posioning

Stop blaming investors for your incompetence

Why did PMLN govt offered so much lofty returns with soverign grantees???
Should we know blame the main manshas, the qataris and chinese all of whom invested on those returns???

. . . . .
Your khota biryani price must be decreasing or you patwaris have now moved onto consumption of suwar?
What can you expect when Suwers are running the affairs. All you see is khotas and Suwers in abundance for the jahil awam.

Mansha makes it sound like Pakistan was Switzerfuckingland before IK came and pulverized the dream.
Guess what, Pakistan was and still is a shit-hole; no 2 ways about it and i'm not afraid to say so too, even after 3 years of PTI of which 2 have been in pandemic mode. I've been in Pakistan long enough to realize when things are improving; albeit slowly. Gotta give credit where due and PML-N is getting none of it.

Acc. to a report, before govt started negotiations with IPPs for 12%, Mansha was the only person earning annual returns of 30%+ on his IPP projects against permitted returns of 15%.

If those IPP agreements were not born out of corruption, then what were they?