Pakistan's Internet censorship

Saudi scholar Ghasssam Al-Ghain said Muslims should ignore such issues and focus on showing the world Islam in its true spirit, something that he said is not happening nowadays. "To market Islam we should apply the ethics we have learned and keep everything clean and pure," he said, adding that young Muslims should fight back by presenting a positive image of their countries, religion and Prophet. "Let the youth at least invest in and invent products that can keep us away from relying on their societies. Rather than focusing on wearing low-cut pants and showing their underwear in public, be men and useful members of society," he said. Al-Ghain said boycotts are useless as they could lead Western countries to stop selling important products, such as medicine and hospital equipment, to Muslim countries. "People who call for boycotts think childishly," he said.

Al-Ghain said cartoons depicting the Prophet in an offending manner cannot harm him. He added that a person who defames the Prophet is "just like a man who throws a handful of sand toward the sun just to find the sand falling over his own head."

The Kingdom’s Communications and Information Technology Commission (CITC) failed to respond to an Arab News’ query whether they would block Facebook or the website marking the day.

Muslims outraged at Facebook profanity - Arab News

Wow...that's some smart scholar..I hope Muslims follow what he says

Saudi scholar Ghasssam Al-Ghain said Muslims should ignore such issues and focus on showing the world Islam in its true spirit, something that he said is not happening nowadays. "To market Islam we should apply the ethics we have learned and keep everything clean and pure," he said, adding that young Muslims should fight back by presenting a positive image of their countries, religion and Prophet. "Let the youth at least invest in and invent products that can keep us away from relying on their societies. Rather than focusing on wearing low-cut pants and showing their underwear in public, be men and useful members of society," he said. Al-Ghain said boycotts are useless as they could lead Western countries to stop selling important products, such as medicine and hospital equipment, to Muslim countries. "People who call for boycotts think childishly," he said.

Al-Ghain said cartoons depicting the Prophet in an offending manner cannot harm him. He added that a person who defames the Prophet is "just like a man who throws a handful of sand toward the sun just to find the sand falling over his own head."

The Kingdom’s Communications and Information Technology Commission (CITC) failed to respond to an Arab News’ query whether they would block Facebook or the website marking the day.

Muslims outraged at Facebook profanity - Arab News

For me, in all 96 pages of this thread this post was best of all.:tup:

Hi
How true! i hope all Muslims will try to understand this point.

holocaust is definitely a fake drama created by christians and jewish leader roschild,,,
it was a fake you can ask it to the germans and they will tell you what had happened,,, they created holocaust story to establish a new jewish state,,, first it was decided to make it on ethiopia and than palestine is the chosen one....

There are 20 million people in Pakistan who uses Internet and I believe there are more people using Facebook, cuz i have seen people who dont have internet at home (some parents dont allow them) they use it on Cell Phones, PDAs, iPhones at schools or in Net cafes, i see Facebook have to bear a heavy loss :tup:

Hi
all those 80,000 scumbags on fb are like those street dogs who have nothing better in their pathetic lives except to bark at every one who pass by.

We Pakistanis are possibly the worst unrational Muslims on this Planet.

oh yaar Makkah main agar kisi banday ki jaib katt jaye to woh chor bhi Pakistani nikal aata hai - ab batao yahan main ro'on yah hanso? :cry: ? :rofl: ?

aur agar wahan pe Haram Shareef ke andar koi banda paise mangta howa mil jaye to woh bhi Pakistani hota hai :confused:

What else can you expect from illeterate and irrational nation we know as Pakistanis :whistle: (i am talking about the poverty/lower class of peoples and middle or upper class is great)

You have no clue what I am talking about. I was not giving you any answers to any of your problems, perceived or otherwise. All your talk of standing against "opression, about killing and encirling of innocents and most of all about right and wrong" seems to be restricted to the Islamic world, regardless of who is right or wrong. And even in that, there are double standards. You never lose breath in talking about the "atrocities" of the Indian Army in Kashmir, but I have never read a single line about the Uighurs of China. And this is not about you personally, just the general opinion of the Pakistanis on this forum.

We are probably digressing here. I am not judging you for having double standards, nor do I want to run down China. It is very profitable and comforting to have an ally like them. But then don't talk as if you are against oppression and such. You do it only when it works for you. There are ample Indians who would do the same, and I would say this to them as well.

The point is that between national identity and the religious one, most people choose the former. And that is not necessarily a bad thing.

Here u go again I responded to list of the problems we the Pakstanis talk about, read the list and be ashmaed that in it ughers are not noted.

* we are more kashmiri than kashmiris
* we more Arab than Arabs
* We are more Palestinians than Palestinians
* We are more Chechen Than Chechens
* We are more Afghans than Afghanis
* we are more Iraqi than Iraqis
* We are more Turkish than Turks
* we are more Iranian than Iranians

Now you change your mind and like to mention ugher, What a double face, just to rile up the emotuions and to troll by putting differant stuations every time.

what a style, u have no base to stand on, just keep shifting to new situation to create more arguments and more insults.

You sir are a very cunning person who has no values at all.

???

How do you figure this? The Turks of all the Muslims are the most rational, the most modern of all Muslims. They are modernizing Islam.

They have even banned the Hijab. Saying its a form of political Islam. I agree that it is a form of political Islam and nothing more.

lmao
these are basijis!!!!
They are paramilitary!
I'm talking about ordinary citizens.
And I'm all for funding hezbollah and hamas! that's one of the only smart things this regime has done! what's wrong w/ having proxies to hurt your enemies!?

and you won't kick anybodies but. I've seen your pictures. The minute you raise your voice to an Iranian he will drive over your balls and beard with his BMW.
stupid ****

btw your mods are too ******* slow

ban me you ******* tali fucks

This guy is still around ?

Hey you and i are not care takcares of any religions.. believe in you rreligion and practise what it says.. don't ask others not to mock it or follow it. Coz if you get pissed of with the whole thing then it shows the weakness of your beliefs..!!! And let them draw what they want and leave them alone.. if you truely believe that the god almighty will answer them if they are doing something wrong.

Here u go again I responded to list of the problems we the Pakstanis talk about, read the list and be ashmaed that in it ughers are not noted.

Now you change your mind and like to mention ugher, What a double face, just to rile up the emotuions and to troll by putting differant stuations every time.

what a style, u have no base to stand on, just keep shifting to new situation to create more arguments and more insults.

You sir are a very cunning person who has no values at all.

Do not digress and assume things you don't know about anyone. First of all, I was responding to a post by Emo where she had, I am assuming sarcastically, spoken about how Pakistanis care more about what is happening to Muslims around the world instead of bothering to tackle the problems at home. I am not sure how you came into this. All I was trying to tell her was that at least on this forum, there are more patriotic Pakistanis rather than the people blinded by their religion. And I am only stating my opinion that it is the better choice. Believe me, if I were in your place, I would do the same.

I am not the first one to bring the Uighurs in here, nor will I be the last. But like I said, I don't want to judge the Chinese because they should know how to run their country. The point I am making is that you cry hoarse about Kashmir and say nothing about the Uighurs. Which is understandable, since the Chinese have always been good to you and the Indians have been hostile to you since the beginning. So my point is that your Pakistani identity is stronger than your Muslim identity. Please counter that with reasonable arguments instead of getting emotional or personal.