Pakistani Taliban: Nipping the evil in the bud

Pakistani Taliban: Nipping the evil in the bud​

Author
DR SYED KALEEM IMAM
September 29, 202211:50

Espionage has always been an essential part of war and conflict between countries. New dimensions, such as disinformation, organized crime and social subversion have been added to it in the modern age. They help cause instability in opposition ranks and trigger a crisis of legitimacy in the hierarchy of its command. With such tools, the world is now hurtling towards a new era of permanent, low-level conflict — often unnoticed and undeclared.

We would do well to heed the maxim that ‘wars are no longer won on the battlefield’. Any space gained through kinetic means now only suffices to bury those who have fallen trying to seize it. Non-kinetic means are often the only option to ending conflicts with a greater degree of permanence. Eradicating the breeding grounds of enemies and addressing the root causes of their enmity is what finally yields fruitful results.

The Taliban emerged in September 1994 as a prominent faction in the Afghan Civil War. The international community had not cared much about the future when this force was seizing increasing power from the Mujahideen warlords. On our side of the border, their rise was sheepishly supported by the powers of the day, which gave space for Taliban factions to put down roots here.

The Taliban phenomenon was imprudently welcomed and adopted in Pakistan at the state level. Even a few stalwarts in law enforcement and civil society proudly and publicly branded themselves as Taliban. Eventually, as the group’s deep ailments were finally exposed, those who once nurtured and supported it abandoned it in haste. However, there was no strategy to neutralize it, and they are now back to haunt us in the TTP avatar — brandishing weapons and spreading terror as viciously as they have in the past.

The TTP finds charisma in Noor Wali Mehsud, who has united the various factions of Taliban. There is an agenda in the group’s attempts to regain control of an area where it was once dislodged from; especially since things are rough across the border. According to sources, some leniency had been shown to returning militants after earlier negotiations. However, the TTP leadership soon started asserting its authority over the lower tiers and, as a result, heavily armed groups moved in, often occupying vantage points in the region. They now stroll through Dir to Malakand, reaching areas as far off as those bordering the Hazara region.
Just a few days ago, I was at a famous eatery in Peshawar’s fabled Namak Mandi. We were shocked to learn that the restaurant’s owner had been paying the TTP to stay safe, lest grenades were hurled to damage his business.
Dr Syed Kaleem Imam

What are they up to and what do they want? According to some, the TTP’s usual demands include the removal of checkpoints, limited state patrolling, hegemony over the region, exploitation of its mineral resources, and even stakes in pinewood harvesting. As part of their new wish list, they want the previous status of FATA, the removal of border fences, and their brand of sharia to be enforced. Being vicious outfits, they may pressurize the state for additional gains. They seem obsessed with curtailing women's rights, maintaining patriarchal dominance and enforcing religious rituals in accordance with their likings to justify their violent behavior. It is no wonder that the local community is sick and tired of them.

A policy of appeasement has led to the creation of a new merciless breed, not descended from any particular tribe, but from an assortment of opportunists. Within the rank and file are the 'Gujran', who were largely ordinary deprived hands, joined by educated youth radicalized on narratives glorifying war. The TTP leadership is shrewd, trying to maintain relevance and dominate the territory by the use of methods such as abduction, rape, murder and destruction of state machinery. Unlike before, they are armed with leftover foreign weapons, which they have put on sale as well as made a part of their ideological arsenal.

Swat has witnessed some very alarming violence recently. Encouragingly, instead of being intimidated as in the past, its locals are now furious. Unexpectedly large protests have been held in Dir, Maidan, Bajaur, and other areas. Even though security forces are trying to do their best to contain the threat, violence keeps recurring. The latest is that some errant returnees have been pushed back after soldiers and law enforcers took them head on. Other TTP tiers have quietly crept out. It remains to be seen how lasting and effective the action has been.

The threat of a return to turmoil will remain present. There have been hundreds of killings and explosions across the border. There is a possibility that extremist outfits may act in response to the deaths of Amir Muhammad Kabuli and Ayman al-Zawahiri, Omar Khorasani, as well as Rahimullah Haqqani.

We cannot afford another prolonged and costly conflict that will extend the hardships of our long-suffering nation. The question is, will we be repeating our past mistakes? Allowing anarchy to take root in the remoter areas of the country and then taking harsh measures to eliminate it is a failed strategy. The timely enforcement of the law is critical in ensuring 'order'. It has been my experience that it is the law that often looks the other way when trouble is brewing; else how dare anyone challenge the state’s writ.

Just a few days ago, I was at a famous eatery in Peshawar’s fabled Namak Mandi. We were shocked to learn that the restaurant’s owner had been paying the TTP to stay safe, lest grenades were hurled to damage his business. It reminded me of our university days in Karachi, when many of our friends and relatives paid bhatta to an ethnic political party to avoid being bullied or even killed.

There can be no enforcement of a writ without good governance and the rule of law. The sooner dissent and disagreement are addressed, the better. The act of sparing wrongdoers is immoral and illegal. Creating an artificial leadership and using it to gain ad hoc benefits is a dreadful policy.

The state can appropriately respond to extremist groups by enhancing its interaction with the affected communities, which have risen strongly against the TTP in Swat’s case. There is a need to revive the apex committees and execute old policies to nip the root causes of terrorism and militancy in the bud. It is time that the police, as the first responders, and the chief secretary, as the head of the province, oversee counterterrorism policy, or at least be fairly represented in it. Taking an inclusive approach to this distressing issue is essential.

- The writer holds a doctorate in politics and international relations and has served as a federal secretary and inspector-general of police. He tweets @KaleemImam.

If u live by the border,ull know our ahem are more involved in smuggling than others. The smuggled items end up in karkhano market. Nowadays there is nothing to be smuggled, few american light arms came at the start but thats it. Nowadays most smuggled stuff come from iran. So i wonder which TTP facilitates smuggling from iran?

TTP are mostly not refugees, ask anyone with abit of knowledge and they will tell u TTP is mostly Pakistani tribal ppl, mostly wazir and mehsud, with minority from swat, dir, bajaur etc. All produced from medrassas. The medrassas originally built to produce jihadis for afghan jihad against USSR. The locals of these areas are mostly anti taliban, they are more towards nationalists than religious extremists. You dont even know the basics man and just uttering nonsense here.

Hahaha..

Fauji boys won’t admit it but PA is heavily involved in smuggling. On Afghan and Iran border...

One of my very good friends, Shinwari has a huge import and export business to Afghanistan. He says paying off PA officers saves him a ton of headaches.

On Iran side, smuggling consists of drugs, vehicles, and petrol.

Of course fauji boys here think that PA is infallible to corruption so there is no reason arguing with them even when faujis have been caught up in smuggling and have headlined in national media for it.

Funny story about my friend shinwari. He told me that when Amreeka left Afghanistan he had acquired a large number of vehicles. He said he’d sell me a land cruiser for 5 lakh. Unbelievable deal and only because we are such good friends. Unfortunately there is no way to register on Punjab side. He was like don’t worry bro, I know a fauji officer who can take care of the paper work for some $$$... :lol: :lol: :lol:

I had politely declined as I live in US anyway, but he said the offer is up any time I need anything.

The TTP are amongst the afghani refugees,, no one let's a armed man cross the border

In reality we have to be TOUGH and HARSH upon the refugees who we have let in to create fassad for decades

The problem is the lar aur bar mindset that is the basis of the problem

Not all the locals like the TTP but at the same time they are the first to attend jalsas and block roads like a bunch of morons if security kill a TTP terrorist, claiming the terrorist was just some local innocent sheep header, then que manzoora pasheen and the Mohsin dawar riding in on their White horse to stand with the locals against the Stet

You can't help people who create so much trouble when you are trying to help them

It's like sindhis blocking development of Dams and water reservoirs then crying about floods or droughts

Ethnocentric jahilat has been poison across the entire region

TTP are mostly not refugees, ask anyone with abit of knowledge and they will tell u TTP is mostly Pakistani tribal ppl, mostly wazir and mehsud, with minority from swat, dir, bajaur etc. All produced from medrassas. The medrassas originally built to produce jihadis for afghan jihad against USSR. The locals of these areas are mostly anti taliban, they are more towards nationalists than religious extremists. You dont even know the basics man and just uttering nonsense here.
And that's why the "locals" protect them, feed them,allow them to pass without notifying security and police

And then the same locals cry and moan about security and do bullshit jalsas

WRONG the basis of Taliban and TTP is pashtunism, sure they may have a added religious element but fundamentally they are pashtun nationalists and what drives their extremism is nationalism and it's why they are causing trouble for hazaras, Tajiks, Uzbeks frankly anyone who isn't pashtun

And that's why the area is such a backward donkey hole

The Communist Lal salute nationalists like the Pashteens, Dawars and Khattaks are just the flip side of the SAME coin as the TTP Pashto nationalists

BOTH have similar aims
Fassad, lar aur bar, Pashto Pashto Pashto, Stet taking our resources, politics of resistance then something about that Kaffir Gaffur Khan and a bit about Abdali Baba

It's why when security forces had checkpoints it was the Pashteens and Dawar types who led years of jalsas to remove them

It's why when police or army killed TTP terrorist the first people at the lanats funeral was Pashteens and Dawar "Stet kill our poor brudder"

Who are you trying to con?

The people of those areas and afghans in general absolutely refuse to accept any blame for their jahilat and beghairati

That's why afghan blood at the moment is worth less then cow piss and is being spilt left and right and no one cares

The people of those areas need to slap themselves until they get some sense into them, if they don't start acting like decent people then the TTP pashtunism will burn them first
You are obviously an uninformed dumb moron, living in the 90s. Local do not protect taliban, this might have been true in 90s but not anymore. The taliban hang locals for small mistakes, take their money, destroy their businesses and u think locals protect them??? Ever visited those areas and asked ppl abt taliban? U r a perfect example of those stupid morons sitting in cities and acting like expert on the topic while farting in their sofas.
Ideology of TTP and nationalists are totally opposite. If there is terrorism in ur area, does that give right to security forces to abuse locals? A decade ago, i had to cross 7 chk posts to visit my village, at times waiting for hours, at times they would randomly make u wait for hours, doesn't this anger the local?? Rude soldiers, taunting ppl and asking stupod questions. U have chkposts where ppl are abused, im witness to it myself, slapping drivers for minor mistakes, abusing ppl for small stuff, while the terrorists roamed free, this is what angered ppl. A common man would be shot on sight in curfew but ppl saw convoys of taliban passing through at night. Ppl in our area had a firm belief that curfew was in place to transport taliban secretly. This is where the anger comes from, u claim to protect the ppl against terrorists but u prptect the terrorists and abuse ppl, what do u expect.
Its exactly the same again, kids on social media are arrested and software updated while terrorists are allowed inside. Goons r brought to power while common ppl criticising on social media arw threatened and beaten. Tell me who patrols the border? How did these babooms cross the border if the colonial armyy didnt want them in??? U r too stupid and too dumb to even ponder over such stuff. Go play with ur tank toys and sing icepyar songs.
Have u seen the massive protests of locals in swat, khyber and other areas against taliban? They blame the army for bringing back the taliban and letting them get stronger. Infact the locals demanded the borders be completely sealed but still our lumber 1 cant stop TTP. Infact lumber 1 negotiated with them and let them in. Have some shame and open ur eyes retard.

Hahaha..

Fauji boys won’t admit it but PA is heavily involved in smuggling. On Afghan and Iran border...

One of my very good friends, Shinwari has a huge import and export business to Afghanistan. He says paying off PA officers saves him a ton of headaches.

Of course fauji boys here think that PA is infallible to corruption so there is no reason arguing with them even when faujis have been caught up in smuggling and have headlined in national media for it.

Funny story about my friend shinwari. He told me that when Amreeka left Afghanistan he had acquired a large number of vehicles. He said he’s sell me a land cruiser for 5 lakh. Unbelievable deal and only because we are such good friends. Unfortunately there is no way to register on Punjab side. He was like don’t worry bro, I know a fauji officer who can take care of the paper work for some $$$... :lol: :lol: :lol:

I had politely declined as I live in US anyway, but he said the offer is up any time I need anything.

Exactly whats going on. The NCP or non custom paid vehicles that are allowed in ex FATA and PATA areas like swat and dir are vehicles that come through Afghanistan, without paying duty or tax. At time of afghan war, one would understand the arrival of such vehicles but even today, new cars keep coming, the NCP vehicle market in swat and dir is hot and ull find latest model cars and these cars keep imcreasing. One would wonder how is this possible?? How is it possible for thousands of cars every year to cross border and endup in swat and dir and FATA areas?? Well its easy, the army itself smuggles them through the border and its a huge source of income for them. Now i just mentioned cars, there are hundreds of other items too.
These bootlickers are blind and dumb, they think the whole country is corrupt but boots are angels.

Exactly whats going on. The NCP or non custom paid vehicles that are allowed in ex FATA and PATA areas like swat and dir are vehicles that come through Afghanistan, without paying duty or tax. At time of afghan war, one would understand the arrival of such vehicles but even today, new cars keep coming, the NCP vehicle market in swat and dir is hot and ull find latest model cars and these cars keep imcreasing. One would wonder how is this possible?? How is it possible for thousands of cars every year to cross border and endup in swat and dir and FATA areas?? Well its easy, the army itself smuggles them through the border and its a huge source of income for them. Now i just mentioned cars, there are hundreds of other items too.
These bootlickers are blind and dumb, they think the whole country is corrupt but boots are angels.

There are good people in army too, but the problem with Pakistan is that there is corruption in every institution of the country.

I’m not in the interest of badmouthing the Pakistan Army but as someone who is Muslim and an advocate for the truth, I can’t turn a blind eye to things. I’m used to calling a spade a spade.

I only tease the fauji boys because they equate PA with Khuda. Nauzubillah

They are just people like you and me and are fallible to corruption like any human being.

Unless we as Pakistanis don’t start demanding accountability from our institutions all the way to being accountable for ourselves, we will remain in the loop of being a failed state and failed people. This is exactly what Allah swt asks of us. To be accountable for our actions and deeds.

Fauji boys here think they are doing an honorable thing by blindly defending fauj, but the irony of the matter is that they are actually doing a disservice by protecting those that are a black mark on the institution itself.

Imran Khan is just a human too and I have no problem taking him to task for any bullshit he does, but I support him because out of any leader in Pakistan before him and present, he advocates for transparency and accountability throughout the entirety of Pakistan as a nation.

How can you not support that unless you are liar or thief yourself?

You are obviously an uninformed dumb moron, living in the 90s. Local do not protect taliban, this might have been true in 90s but not anymore. The taliban hang locals for small mistakes, take their money, destroy their businesses and u think locals protect them??? Ever visited those areas and asked ppl abt taliban? U r a perfect example of those stupid morons sitting in cities and acting like expert on the topic while farting in their sofas.
Ideology of TTP and nationalists are totally opposite. If there is terrorism in ur area, does that give right to security forces to abuse locals? A decade ago, i had to cross 7 chk posts to visit my village, at times waiting for hours, at times they would randomly make u wait for hours, doesn't this anger the local?? Rude soldiers, taunting ppl and asking stupod questions. U have chkposts where ppl are abused, im witness to it myself, slapping drivers for minor mistakes, abusing ppl for small stuff, while the terrorists roamed free, this is what angered ppl. A common man would be shot on sight in curfew but ppl saw convoys of taliban passing through at night. Ppl in our area had a firm belief that curfew was in place to transport taliban secretly. This is where the anger comes from, u claim to protect the ppl against terrorists but u prptect the terrorists and abuse ppl, what do u expect.
Its exactly the same again, kids on social media are arrested and software updated while terrorists are allowed inside. Goons r brought to power while common ppl criticising on social media arw threatened and beaten. Tell me who patrols the border? How did these babooms cross the border if the colonial armyy didnt want them in??? U r too stupid and too dumb to even ponder over such stuff. Go play with ur tank toys and sing icepyar songs.
Have u seen the massive protests of locals in swat, khyber and other areas against taliban? They blame the army for bringing back the taliban and letting them get stronger. Infact the locals demanded the borders be completely sealed but still our lumber 1 cant stop TTP. Infact lumber 1 negotiated with them and let them in. Have some shame and open ur eyes retard.

Can you hear yourself???????

Never any blame for afghans or tribals or locals

They are the terrorists, they are the killers, the blackmailers, the suicide bombers

EVERYONE of them will be a afghan or a tribal,, but the tribals and afghans don't accept that they have a problem amongst their jahil kaum,,

Stet is meking pashtun terrorists, blackmailers and suicide bombers

Boooo stet

So why is the state lenient and soft on them while hard on own citizens who criticise them on social media? Why were they let in along with weapons. Shopkeepers in karkhano market in Peshawar are paying bhatta to TTP because they threaten them with grenades. Who is behind all this? Who is letting all this happen? Any police official who tries to stop them and act is taken hostage, beaten, his family harassed and the state does nothing. It seems as if they are let in intentionally.
This british colonial leftover establishment actually uses these groups and when they see a danger of a genuine middle class uprising, they unleash these baboons on them.

TTP is a paid and funded arm of the Pakistani establishment.... To keep the population enslaved and indebted and impoverished.

Win win for the Pakistani Military Establishment

TTP is a paid and funded arm of the Pakistani establishment.... To keep the population enslaved and indebted and impoverished.

Win win for the Pakistani Military Establishment

You may have a point here.

Can you hear yourself???????

Never any blame for afghans or tribals or locals

They are the terrorists, they are the killers, the blackmailers, the suicide bombers

EVERYONE of them will be a afghan or a tribal,, but the tribals and afghans don't accept that they have a problem amongst their jahil kaum,,

Stet is meking pashtun terrorists, blackmailers and suicide bombers

Boooo stet

Its funny how u blame the people instead of govt, establishment and their policies. Guess who are these TTP guys? Yes the products of thousands of medrassas built by someone with help of someone and which operates to this day. Yeah bootlicker blame the ppl and not the colonial remnants pulling all the strings. People like u used to blame bengalis too, now look at their place in the world and look at ur place. Bootlickers like u even blame baloch ppl, instead of the snakes that been cashing their wealth and using them.

Are you people babies that you can't tell that terrorism and suicide bombing is wrong?
Your own brothers become terrorists, you own brothers are doing the blackmailing and kidnapping and deshatgardi and blowing up schools

The amount of fassad and ethnocentric stupidity coming out of some of you is reaching retarded levels

How about you wake up in the morning and no Pashto Pashto, no lar aur bar, no deshatgardi, you just get us go to work or school and that's it,,,, same goes for the Baloch, accept some responsibility for your own lives and actions for once

Hahaha..

Funny story about my friend shinwari. He told me that when Amreeka left Afghanistan he had acquired a large number of vehicles. He said he’s sell me a land cruiser for 5 lakh. Unbelievable deal and only because we are such good friends. Unfortunately there is no way to register on Punjab side. He was like don’t worry bro, I know a fauji officer who can take care of the paper work for some $$$... :lol: :lol: :lol:

Did you report that PA officer or are you just gloating your honesty here to score brownie points ?

I didn’t buy the vehicle nor did I ask my friend for that officer’s name.
So thats letting the corruption continue, isnt it ? Why didnt you report the officer ? Doesnt this make you part of corruption too ? Are you saving your friend since he is more important to you than Pakistan ?

Bajra colluded with external powers to oust a democratically elected leader of Pakistan and installed a corrupt government of thieves. Should I leave my complaint at GHQ complaint box? Will that take care of Bajra?

Stop behaving like a child and asking rhetorical questions.

Bajra colluded with external powers to oust a democratically elected leader of Pakistan and installed a corrupt government of thieves. Should I leave my complaint at GHQ complaint box? Will that take care of Bajra?

Stop behaving like a child and asking rhetorical questions.
What’s the use of your rants online then ?

Why blame Bajwa or anybody else ? You proved my point that public is corrupt. You turned a blind eye when u saw corruption.

You are behaving like scared child who can’t even report an officer to save the skin of your friend. You aren’t a patriot.

My dear, you are the coward here. Thanks for showing your true colours.

4 options for you, here you go :
1. NAB
Phone: +92-81-9202528, 9202529
Or
File the complaint online.

2. Find the number of local police station on your own contact police.

3. Lawyer
Get proofs through friend and start a case in court.

4. Media
Inform the media. Contact a journalist. Tell him/her the story.

Tell the truth about your friend and that officer. And you can also make it political if you have contacts in a party like PTI. I am not sure if political party can help but you can get good contacts from there.

@lastofthepatriots tu bohat sahi class leta hai.
Sure, an online warrior who can’t do anything in real life. Outclass !