Pakistani Snipers have Rattled the Indian Army

why are new weapons 3-4 years away?

Indian tender process.To bureaucrat babus and politicians ,jawans lives are cheap and easily replaceable.Its not like israel, 1.3 billion pop makes losses irrelevant and promotes callous attitude.Till then mortars will do.

Sniper kills one man,1 heavy mortar shell a whole squad.Anyone getting too hyped about snipers remember that.Our new sniper rifles are on tender too,till then dragunovs will soldier on.It is a good thing that PA has awoken us to this operational gap,now we will equip our frontline LOC forces with modern sniper rifles enmasse.Very soon we will enjoy advantage in number of sniper rifles as well as no.of heavy mortar tubes that we already enjoy.
Your statements are Somewhat Naive. A weapon in the hand of a trained sniper and the same weapon in the hand of a LOC-sentry are two different things. Its the experience which gives an edge; years of combat with TTP scum n the harshest of the terrains, protecting convoys through ground, vehicular and aerial sniper deployment, getting deployed in different terrains (starting from green valleys of Swat to bare mountains of FATA) and experiencing static combat as well as advancing inch by inch and then mile by mile during snow, rain and heat. This experience is on-going through Ops carried out on western front.

Unfortunately, IA has not been through such combat experience, only training and excercises. So distributing sniper rifles en-masse among Indian Army ranks will never give the edge against experienced snipers, just more targets.

Your statements are Somewhat Naive. A weapon in the hand of a trained sniper and the same weapon in the hand of a LOC-sentry are two different things. Its the experience which gives an edge; years of combat with TTP scum n the harshest of the terrains, protecting conveys through ground, vehicular and aerial sniper deployment, getting deployed in different terrains (starting from green valleys of Swat to bare mountains of FATA) and experiencing static combat as well as advancing inch by inch and then mile by mile during snow, rain and heat. This experience is on-going through Ops carried out on western front.

Unfortunately, IA has not been through such combat experience, only training and excercises. So distributing sniper rifles en-masse among Indian Army ranks will never give the edge against experienced snipers, just more targets.

It would be the ultimate disgrace if Indian snipers started getting killed en masse. Insha Allah this is the fate that awaits them.

This is only for BSF.
Source:
https://www.google.com/url?sa=i&source=web&cd=&ved=2ahUKEwiak-3frsLfAhVMtI8KHVfMD3AQzPwBegQIARAC&url=https://economictimes.indiatimes.com/news/defence/can-cibms-alone-secure-the-indias-borders/articleshow/65722529.cms&psig=AOvVaw3_AE2WKFOJdXfJz0eRugig&ust=1546081017187204

Army does not need this as they are retaliating successfully to snipers by using it's massive advantage in firepower.
But BSF does not have the firepower of army so they need this.
So the Indian Military is chopping off its own feet in many different ways then, firstly by funding TTP/BLA to give valuable experience to PA snipers, then putting inexperienced BSF and IA personnel as targets on LOC and lastly as you mention firepower, expending 100 rounds Vs 1 round of PA sniper who by the way would probably have shifted his position after firing that 1 crucial head shot.

It would be the ultimate disgrace if Indian snipers started getting killed en masse. Insha Allah this is the fate that awaits them.
You know i haven't even mentioned how does IA and BSF get their experience in kashmir, using its population; target practice with pellets, civilians tied in front of jeeps, targeting the weaker lot (children/women) etc.

Inna Lillahi Wa Inna Ilaihi Raji'oon. Insha Allah the patience and steadfastness of Kashmiri brothers and sisters will bear fruit.

Your statements are Somewhat Naive. A weapon in the hand of a trained sniper and the same weapon in the hand of a LOC-sentry are two different things. Its the experience which gives an edge; years of combat with TTP scum n the harshest of the terrains, protecting convoys through ground, vehicular and aerial sniper deployment, getting deployed in different terrains (starting from green valleys of Swat to bare mountains of FATA) and experiencing static combat as well as advancing inch by inch and then mile by mile during snow, rain and heat. This experience is on-going through Ops carried out on western front.

Combat experience will be gained relatively quickly in the LOC.We also have access to foreign sniper training schools if we want.

maxresdefault.jpg

The Defence Acquisition Council (DAC) in February 2018 had approved the procurement of 5,719 sniper rifles for the Army and the Indian Air Force at an estimated cost of `982 crore. The Request For Proposal (RFP) for the procurement was floated in September. However, the process will take 3-4 years to complete. Under the plan, 50,000 rounds of ammunition will be bought upfront and 52,000 more will be made domestically.

Like before the Indian army will gradually reveal it's casualties. :D

Are these numbers (50,000 and 52,000) really true :woot:

If yes, they are laughable.

One of my cousin went in the Pak army's best shooter competition.
Their group was firing 100,000 bullet per week.

Combat experience will be gained relatively quickly in the LOC.We also have access to foreign sniper training schools if we want.
There is a difference between training and combat experience.

We got plenty of both.

As for foriegn schools... we have our own Sniper training schools... chunning out guys who fight and get medals in international competitions..

example:

https://www.dawn.com/news/1279902

Pak Snipers vs 14 nations...

including the likes of russ,israel,china etc...