Pakistan trade deficit shrank $4 billion. 13.1% reduction in trade deficit in 10 months.

it is very dangerous move and if military equipment imports are reduced it may result in threat to our sovereignty in time when we are facing g severe threats
No it is not. Pakistan is 80% self sufficient in military equipment and the little we import mostly come from China a very small portion comes from West and that is easily sustainable.

CPEC is in full swing and multiple economic zones developed so what is now needed is to devalue rupee so that business cannot sustain production on imported raw materials and they look towards those economics zones and start local production and thus bringing full fledged growth and employment.

This is one positive indicator but other indicators like shortfall of taxes collection neutralize this achievement totally. Tax collection should be fixed as well to have real impact. Anyways for now, we need to increase exports a great deal too, cutting imports strategy won't last long. Exports as of now growing around $40-50 billions per month only while it should be around $300-400 after January export friendly budget though most of those policies adopted in that budget will kick start from July onwards.

for high technology weapons we need to buy from other countries as our navy needs new equipment and local manufacturing requires surplus cheap electricity which currently we are not producing so this may lead to decreae in living standards of public
No it is not. Pakistan is 80% self sufficient in military equipment and the little we import mostly come from China a very small portion comes from West and that is easily sustainable.

CPEC is in full swing and multiple economic zones developed so what is now needed is to devalue rupee so that business cannot sustain production on imported raw materials and they look towards those economics zones and start local production and thus bringing full fledged growth and employment.

Ishaq Dar should be prosecuted and hanged for letting the Deficit reach $30 billions. This means after taking in to account of $18bn to $20bn of remittances, Pakistan was still facing whopping $10bn shortfall.
Why PMLN idiots complain if Rupees is tanking against Dollar and other major currencies!!
Set aside Dar, he was a corrupt stupid and nonsense FM this country ever had. Let me know why now when despite that people full of wisdom are running the FM the deficit has got narrowed down by nearly 13%

if businesses become incapable to import necessary items to start new projects due to non feasible conditions this reduce deficit but as result growth decreases and unemployment rises which lead to inflation
stunted growth will never understand this.
slow growth/unemployment, how will the govt generate taxes, perhaps minister of science and technology Fawad mirasi might have the solution.

if businesses become incapable to import necessary items to start new projects due to non feasible conditions this reduce deficit but as result growth decreases and unemployment rises which lead to inflation
On the other hand, nation wakes up and starts producing things internally..

As an example, one of the imported item is cheese.. our milk companies may start producing fine quality cheese internally and later on we may be able to export that to other countries..

on the other hand, if the govt could provide a magic lamp to the nation, we will rub the lamp and things will start producing internally.

Instead of going after imports, govt focus should be on providing 1) electricity /gas on reasonable rates 2) sort out exploitative taxation 3)'sort out corrupt fbr 4) provide Riba free loans to people.

You don't do this, your exports will never increase --- How can you expect the nation to produce when the tools of production aren't available.

As an example, one of the imported item is cheese.. our milk companies may start producing fine quality cheese internally and later on we may be able to export that to other countries..

I’m still seeing a lot of household products from overseas in shops.... I’m hoping the govt stops importing these which will encourage domestic companies to manufacture and compete

Ishaq Dar should be prosecuted and hanged for letting the Deficit reach $30 billions. This means after taking in to account of $18bn to $20bn of remittances, Pakistan was still facing whopping $10bn shortfall.
Why PMLN idiots complain if Rupees is tanking against Dollar and other major currencies!!
remittances are 17 billion in this span of time.

Why are people complaining? Exports are increasing AND imports are decreasing. This is the perfect scenario.

Set aside Dar, he was a corrupt stupid and nonsense FM this country ever had. Let me know why now when despite that people full of wisdom are running the FM the deficit has got narrowed down by nearly 13%
Because $4 billion is a lot of money and achieving that in just 10 months is a big achievement so by the time of next election we will have very low trade deficit. It takes time to reduce trade deficit of $30 billion.

13% is too low and too slow.

This is not any achievement. Hopefully it picks up speed and our trade deficit reduces significantly.

I am a die hard PTI supporter but lets call spade a spade.

:omghaha::omghaha::omghaha::omghaha::omghaha:

Beta tu jo bhi kar raha hai woh chor, aur seedha ja hukumat ko ek din mei deficity khatam karney ka nukhsa bata ke aa...
Abhi ke abhi...

on the other hand, if the govt could provide a magic lamp to the nation, we will rub the lamp and things will start producing internally.

Instead of going after imports, govt focus should be on providing 1) electricity /gas on reasonable rates 2) sort out exploitative taxation 3)'sort out corrupt fbr 4) provide Riba free loans to people.

You don't do this, your exports will never increase --- How can you expect the nation to produce when the tools of production aren't available.

I think those imports are being contained which are not critical.. I remember government came up with a list of key imports which may be taxed so that people are discouraged importing those goods.. unless you have information that government put same duties/ taxes across all the imports?

We cannot make electricity cheap as all those loans taken by previous govt made them expensive and this will continue until deficit is brought down which none of previous govt did.