Pakistan to scrap law allowing dual-national overseas Pakistanis to vote

Had to modify my POC yesterday
If you hold Pakistani Id card you just gotta pay RS 100, for POC its $300 just to modify urgently funny thing its not even listed on card, and its just updating the system but they still wanna issue you a new card🤣 systematic corruption by the state , FYI it was same in PTI tenure as well.

I get dual citizens cant vote, how about all these politicians who got green cards 🤣and dual citizenships

Should people with another country's passport be allowed to vote in Pakistan’s elections ?

Can remittances/investment sufgice to let them have voting rights?

Just like Story of Overseas "Citizens" of India....
Its a one sided love affair with India. Indian government wants us to send money, tourists and whatever. In return we get OCI card. This "citizenship" card requires us to report to police station ever 3 months or so --I don't hold it, so I don't know exact number. It needs us to not take part in any "research" activities. Research has not been defined. And few months back they even removed the fig leaf and called OCI holders what they were always. Foreigners.

And then they wonder why there is brain drain and what not. First they treat us like shit and then they expect us to send remittance, tourism, investment.

Saalaa, its like having a gold digger wife.
Hence why the amount of remittences to india is disapointing just twice the size despite having 15x bigger dispora

If this continues in long run remittences will evaporate

Islamabad: The Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N)-led ruling alliance is all set to undo the provision introduced by the previous government allowing dual-nationality holder overseas Pakistanis the right of vote.
A bill in this regard was moved in the National Assembly by dissident Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s Assembly lawmaker Noor Alam Khan to amend the Elections Act 2017. The bill seeks deletion of the provision that conditionally allows dual nationals to contest elections or vote.

No objection to single nationality holder​

While introducing the bill in the House, Noor Alam Khan said the country’s law did not provide any such right to the dual national overseas Pakistanis who have pledged their allegiance to their host countries.
Noor Alam Khan further said he was not against granting voting rights to overseas Pakistanis with Pakistani citizenship but wanted to withdraw this right from the overseas Pakistanis with dual citizenship.
Former Interior Minister Sheikh Rashid Ahmed, whose Awami Muslim League (AML) is a close ally of the PTI, warned the government of Shehbaz Sharif of serious consequences if the overseas Pakistanis were deprived of their right of vote.
“I would challenge the bill in the Supreme Court of Pakistan and would take the case of the overseas Pakistanis to every forum,” said Sheikh Rashid.
PTI has a strong political base among the overseas Pakistanis and from the day since Imran Khan was voted out of power, overseas Pakistanis in Europe, America and elsewhere have been staging protests and holding rallies in his support.
The Pakistani diaspora is one of the largest immigrant populations in the world and sends remittances worth billions of dollars every month back home. In 2020-21, alone they sent a record $29.4 billion (Dh 108 billion) back home hence playing a leading role in boosting the country’s foreign currency reserves.
View attachment 843831
A very welcome development. Having said that let's admit the fact we overseas Pakistanis are very patriotic and really want to see our motherland progress. We deserve all the credit and fair facilities for supporting our motherland through various means. But allowing dual citizens run Pak ministries and sit in meetings related to Pakistan's national security is sheer stupidity. No one really knows for sure the hidden connections of some of those overseas Pakistanis that end up holding public offices. Even if a single compromised overseas Pakistani sits in such meetings, then none of our state secrets is really a secret.

Over a dozen dual citizens were running our federal ministries or officially sitting in meetings related to our national security in IK government. This brainless IK didn't really know what the heck his left hand was doing as compared to his right hand. Such a stupid set up indeed disgruntled our closest ally countries due to the fear of leakage of sensitive information. Thanks God, that disastrous saga is over now. I know many people will mindlessly start their non-sense of calling the current set-up as imported government. I am not allergic to that. But I am not favoring this or that set up. I am just favoring a move by GoP that deserves our support, especially from overseas Pakistanis. We need to think for our motherland much above than our personal or party interests.

They dont like overseas voting or taking part in governance but then two fat pig sons of bonga are taken on official forwign visits and take part in meetings.

They are fcuking high hypocrites, they are treating overseas Pakistanis with disdain, they want our money, then they build luxury mansions abroad to retire while the average citizen suffers, its a vicious cycle with these status quo parties coming back in power and loot everything they can.

From now on no overseas Pakistani should invest in that cursed country starting with disgusting establishment who have not got a clue what they are doing.

They are fcuking high hypocrites, they are treating overseas Pakistanis with disdain, they want our money, then they build luxury mansions abroad to retire while the average citizen suffers, its a vicious cycle with these status quo parties coming back in power and loot everything they can.

From now on no overseas Pakistani should invest in that cursed country starting with disgusting establishment who have not got a clue what they are doing.
Better still.
Sell your assets in Pakistan and repatriate the money to your countries of residence.
There is no future for us, or our coming generations in that country anyway.
The only reason we work for Pakistan is because of emotional reasons.
It's pretty clear that we are seen only as a source of income and not really as patriots.

Same apply for eligibility to stand in elections?

Mr. Chief Neutral has no clue how to deal with the modern world and people having access to free information.
He is stuck in the 80's. He thought he can easily pull of what his predecessors were doing for decades and Awam will still sing his songs.
Now he is making one blunder after another, trying to silence the voices by scaring people.
And yes, he is the culprit. He screwed a progressing and imporving country by bringing the thug mafia on the call of his masters in Washington.
Anyone who thinks otherwise needs to get a checkup of their brains.

Aur yeh kon hamarey threads delete kiye ja raha hai? Mr. Neutral se bara pyar hai aapko? Mulk se pyar kab hoga?
In traitors aurt karaye ke logon ko point out nhi kiya kjayega to mulk kese theek hoga?

Excellent decision.

Overseas Pakistanis must be stopped at every Airport and thoroughly questioned about their loyalty as they have pledged allegiance to the country of their residence.

They must also be barred from sending money back home and unless they have strong political affiliation such as sending 10% to any of the coalition party from PDM their source of money must come under investigation as it is a great risk to the security of Pakistan.

I would go on to say their Pakistani passports should be cancelled and should get the visa to visit Pakistan. India had done the same for a long time when the Indian nationals could only have 1 nationality and becoming a UK citizen for example would automatically nullify their Indian citizenship.

These overseas Pakistanis are curse for our nation as they stop every political leader wherever they go in London and other countries, shout at them, blame them for crimes yet to be proven in Pakistani courts and call them traitors where in reality they are the traitors for pledging allegiance to foreign land

Wondering, what is the current rate my Patwari Dance Party (PDM) friends can pay if I write 100 word post for them 10 times a day in beautiful Calibri fonts? They are more loyal Pakistanis as they know INs and OUTs of Pakistan. I can’t imagine how to evade taxes and they people know every loophole to evade taxes and make the most profit for themselves so no doubt we overseas Pakistanis can never compare ourselves with them

Journalist Imran Riaz Khan suggested that overseas Pakistanis should advise their relatives in Pakistan to vote for Imran Khan, but I suspect most of them would vote for him anyway.

Still, it's a good idea to spread the word.

Better still.
Sell your assets in Pakistan and repatriate the money to your countries of residence.
There is no future for us, or our coming generations in that country anyway.
The only reason we work for Pakistan is because of emotional reasons.
It's pretty clear that we are seen only as a source of income and not really as patriots.

I agree the way things are its all downhill, we have been taken a ride for too long by the crooked establishment, the moment the remittances starts drying up, then maybe the establishment will come to thier senses, but as it stands no future for overseas Pakistanis in Pakistan.

Just like Story of Overseas "Citizens" of India....
Its a one sided love affair with India. Indian government wants us to send money, tourists and whatever. In return we get OCI card. This "citizenship" card requires us to report to police station ever 3 months or so --I don't hold it, so I don't know exact number. It needs us to not take part in any "research" activities. Research has not been defined. And few months back they even removed the fig leaf and called OCI holders what they were always. Foreigners.

And then they wonder why there is brain drain and what not. First they treat us like shit and then they expect us to send remittance, tourism, investment.

Saalaa, its like having a gold digger wife.
I am sorry but i dont get your(moreover overseas Pakistanis) anguish.
It's not as if anyone forced them out of India. They went out on there OWN, for some perceived better future towards greener pastures. Abandoning there own homeland and people to there own devices.

Also, I support the rule that denies OCI card holders to any sensitive govt post.Because they are not citizens. (Although in special cases it should be allowed). More so in case of Dual citizenship(like Pakistan).
Because for me, it's logical to think that a person who can leave his motherland and people for personal/selfish reasons and than pledges loyalty to another country is a big NO. They can again switch sides,they did it before, they can do it again. So they should not have equal opportunities or rights like normal citizens.

And it's not as if overseas diaspora sends money to India/Pakistan out of any patriotism or greater good.

Again they are sending it out of there own personal reasons(mostly to friends n family or to buy properties).
If overseas people could they would have migrated there whole families, because they cannot, they take care of them.
Basically they send money mostly because they have to coz of obligations and it's not out of love for the country they left behind.
So, it's kind of outrageous when they make it sound like it's some great good deed they do, especially for the country.
PS-I WANT TO ADD THAT, YES I SYMPATHIES WITH OVERSEAS PEOPLE HERE COMPLAINING, YES A LOT IS WRONG WITH OUR COUNTRIES.
BUT THIS ISSUE HERE IS NOT WRONG, THE GOVT IS CORRECT.

If an overseas Pakistani is living in Pakistan for a certain period of time and paying taxes, he/she should certainly be allowed to vote. The ones who live here for sometime, have a realistic understanding of situation on ground as compared to those who rely on hearsay. That should be the law. The other statement about cancelling a passport and keeping only one is complete bullshit! Desperation at its peak.
Now PML-N should pass a law that also says those leaders without outside assets should also not be able to rule. Then there will be parity.

Watch the Roshan Digital accounts dry up under this Govt...