Pakistan’s Quest for Maritime Depth

I never said that those things wont be used. I meant that Ultimately, IN will be successful in enforcing blockade, as it is better than PN quantity wise & quality wise .

Whatever floats ur boat..
Gwadar is only connected to Karachi only by M8 Motorway. Gwadar to Hoshab, Turbat , Khuzdar section is still under construction since so many years. Your Senate Body has expressed displeasure so many times over the delay. You can't say It is connected to whole country .

You think tht motorway should connect every small far flung town? They are connected by Indus National Highway.. and the gwadar ratodero is under construction... or should i say being expanded... its lanes are being widened...and according to PM its a top priority....

Many important cities of Punjab which comprises 60% of Pakistan population is not connected. Lahore, Multan, Faisalabad, Islamabad, Rawalpindi are not connected. Are they ? Gwadar is only connected to Karachi. If Gwadar is connected , then why Import & Export is not being carried out except for a few items by the govt. ??

According to what you dream? Faisalabad to multan part is under construction... but again M2 connects whole pf punjab to KPK till Peshawar... while Indus national highway connects Sindh and baluchistan... as for handling frieght thts bcoz there are 2 ports and gwadar though its still handles freight is still not 100% developed... but being constructed by chinese companies..

Here is an old ma of Motorways and National highways in Pakistan:

30cn82d.jpg

Where here is an old plan.............again this plan is years old and most of the development has been done or under construction:

National Highways

N-5 Karachi-Thatta-Hyderabad-Moro-Multan-Sahiwal-Lahore-Jhelum-Rawalpinid-Peshawar-Torkham (Grand Trunk Road) 1819 km
N-10 Lyari-Gwadar-Gabd (Makran Coastal Highway) 653 km
N-15 Mansehra-Naran-Jhalkhand 240 km
N-25 Karachi-Bela-Khuzdar-Kalat-Quetta-Chaman (RCD Highway) 813 km
N-35 Hasanabdal-Abbottabad-Thakot-Gilgit-Khunjerab (Karakoram Highway, KKH) 806 km
N-40 Lakpass-Nokundi-Taftan 610 km
N-45Nowhera-dir-Chitral 309 km
N-50 Kuchlac-Zhob-Dl Khan 531 km
N-55 Kotri-Shikarpur-DG Khan-Kohat-Peshawar (Indus Highway) 1264 km
N-65 Sukkar-Sibi-Saryab 385 km
N-70 Qilasaifullah-Loralai-DG Khan-Multan 447 km
N-75 Islamabad-Satra Mile-Lower Topa (Murree)- Kohala (Murree Expressway) 90 km
S-1 Jaglot (KKH)- Shangrial-Karachi-Skardu 167 km
S-2 Kohala-Muzaffarabad 40 km
Lahore - Sialkot Carriageway 101 km 6 Lanes Under Construction
Lahore - Faisalabad Carriageway

Motorways

M1 Peshawar-Islamabad 155 km 6 Lanes Under Construction
M2 Islambad-Pinidi Bhattian-Lahore 367 km 6 Lanes Completed
M3 Pinidi Bhattian - Faisalabad 53 km 6 Lanes Completed
M4 Faisalabad - Multan 243 km 4 Lanes Planned
M5 Multan - DG Khan 84 km 6 Lanes Planned
M6 DG Khan - Kakkar 467 km 2 Lanes Planned
M7 Kakkar - Karachi 280 km 2 Lanes Planned
M8 Ratodero - Gwadar 895 km 2 Lanes Under Construction
M9 Karachi-Hyderabad 136 km 4 Lanes Planned
M10 Karachi Northern Bypass 64 km 4,6 or 8 Lanes Planned

Regarding Iranian permission to let India use their port. I agree that it is very difficult.

Again id say its impossible... also here is a map... tell us how you will send ur ships to chahbahar even if we "imagine" Iran gives u the permission... without being attacked or bombed:
2znr53t.jpg

Regarding Independent Balochistan . Let me make it clear. It is not my dream. I didn't say that Balochistan will become independent. ( Like I said regarding blockade )
I only told that US doesn't want China to use Gwadar port. US doesn't want the establishment of Trade Corridor from China to Xinjiang. Thats why US is supporting movement for Independent Balochistan, however weak that movement may be. I agree with the reasons given by you.
Dont judge anyone by the number of his posts.

Again US might not want tht... but the reality is tht China is already managing the port and building the trade corridor from Gwadar to Xinjiang.. while there is no proof of US involvement ... but the indian suport of BLA is there ... also US needs Pakistan for its strategic location in the foreseeable future..

@ DESERT FIGHTER. Every thing is UNDER CONSTRUCTION since so many years. I agree that Rest of Pakistan is very well connected. But I said this only , that, Gwadar is connected by road with Karachi only. Not with rest of Pakistan. If some urea or anything has to reach , say Lahore, Faisalabad , from Gwadar by road, those cargo has to go to Karachi first, and from there to Lahore or Faisalabad, thus increasing the cost. It cannot reach Lahore or Faisalabad straight from Gwadar. It has to Karachi first. Because, As you said, Gwadar to Ratodero is under construction. You said in your post that Gwadar still handles some freight but is still not 100 % developed.
Thats what I wanted to say........ It is not ready yet.

we will become worse than iraq in five years time by which time the plan will be complete....no money, no oil, no railways, no electricity, no flight training time for planes, no maintenance [because of no money for spares], remember missles and rockets have a shelf life too, then senior appts in responsible positions made by ganjas and mr 10% and kargil "hero" for 20 years...end of story....

Aray bhai. leave politicians out of it. Obviously Pak economy is not doing well, although we now hope that Imran Khan is in parliament and he will set an example of governance in Khyber_pakhtunkwa and wont let Nawaz Sharief loot like the last two times he was in power.
Lets get back to the topic. Pakistan in no longer a weak nation, like before in 1971. Remember we had sanctions thrust on us from 1990 to 2001 and in that time, not only we survived but became more self reliant. Many of our indigenous programs were started by the military during that time. Now thank to Allah we are able to fulfill major military requirements and unlike Iraq who needs to import everything from outside, we in fact export our military hardware to the world.
Right now Pakistan is a strong military nation. Can you imagine that we have been fighting internal terrorists, plus helping fight the 'war of terror' for the americans and then we have to deal with india who is conspiring against us in balochistan.
I am praying to Allah that the next 5 years will be better for Pakistan inshAllah.

"Works or installations containing dangerous forces, namely dams, dykes and nuclear electrical generating stations, shall not be made the object of attack, even where these objects are military objectives, if such attack may cause the release of dangerous forces and consequent severe losses among the civilian population."

This is governed by the India-Pakistan Non Attack Agreement.

If you read my post clearly you would understand, that I wrote that to show the indian defense planners know of Pakistan's capability to inflict terrible damage on indian infrastructure, so thats why they would not dare to blockade Karachi port and hence start a war. We accept that right now india is more developed in its infrastructure than Pakistan and that why, it will get hurt more than us, once we start destroying all the your dams and major vital infrastructures.
LOL. When the war starts, all the pacts and agreements are tend to be forgotten or ignored my dear fellow.

:sniper:

If you read my post clearly you would understand, that I wrote that to show the indian defense planners know of Pakistan's capability to inflict terrible damage on indian infrastructure, so thats why they would not dare to blockade Karachi port and hence start a war. We accept that right now india is more developed in its infrastructure than Pakistan and that why, it will get hurt more than us, once we start destroying all the your dams and major vital infrastructures.
LOL. When the war starts, all the pacts and agreements are tend to be forgotten or ignored my dear fellow.

:sniper:

Do you understand what happens when you attack a dam which is part of a river system which flows downstream into Pakistan? There will be defence formations downstream. Defence holding positions downstream. That is as good as Indian opening the floodgates in the dams. Do you remember what happened when there were floods? Do you understand the magnitude of economic damage likely with both floods and Karachi blockade?

Another thing to remember is if you are under the belief that blockading of the Karachi port will not happen because of Pakistani capability to inflict damage to an infrastructure, which will be a contravention of an ratified agreement, you would be mistaken. Also, check up whose idea it was to have this agreement in place.

Do you understand what happens when you attack a dam which is part of a river system which flows downstream into Pakistan? There will be defence formations downstream. Defence holding positions downstream. That is as good as Indian opening the floodgates in the dams. Do you remember what happened when there were floods? Do you understand the magnitude of economic damage likely with both floods and Karachi blockade?

Another thing to remember is if you are under the belief that blockading of the Karachi port will not happen because of Pakistani capability to inflict damage to an infrastructure, which will be a contravention of an ratified agreement, you would be mistaken. Also, check up whose idea it was to have this agreement in place.

Aray bhai relax. I am just writing what can happen in case of a war. Which is usually mayhem and destruction. It will be a severe setback for both countries and in the end probably a stalemate. Both countries have enough weapons of mass destruction to destroy each other many time over. So hence there wont be a war very soon.
And when a war does occur, no previous agreement will take precedence, no one will follow the rules. It is not a game were rules are followed.

Whatever floats ur boat..

You think tht motorway should connect every small far flung town? They are connected by Indus National Highway.. and the gwadar ratodero is under construction... or should i say being expanded... its lanes are being widened...and according to PM its a top priority....

According to what you dream? Faisalabad to multan part is under construction... but again M2 connects whole pf punjab to KPK till Peshawar... while Indus national highway connects Sindh and baluchistan... as for handling frieght thts bcoz there are 2 ports and gwadar though its still handles freight is still not 100% developed... but being constructed by chinese companies..

Here is an old ma of Motorways and National highways in Pakistan:

30cn82d.jpg

Where here is an old plan.............again this plan is years old and most of the development has been done or under construction:

National Highways

N-5 Karachi-Thatta-Hyderabad-Moro-Multan-Sahiwal-Lahore-Jhelum-Rawalpinid-Peshawar-Torkham (Grand Trunk Road) 1819 km
N-10 Lyari-Gwadar-Gabd (Makran Coastal Highway) 653 km
N-15 Mansehra-Naran-Jhalkhand 240 km
N-25 Karachi-Bela-Khuzdar-Kalat-Quetta-Chaman (RCD Highway) 813 km
N-35 Hasanabdal-Abbottabad-Thakot-Gilgit-Khunjerab (Karakoram Highway, KKH) 806 km
N-40 Lakpass-Nokundi-Taftan 610 km
N-45Nowhera-dir-Chitral 309 km
N-50 Kuchlac-Zhob-Dl Khan 531 km
N-55 Kotri-Shikarpur-DG Khan-Kohat-Peshawar (Indus Highway) 1264 km
N-65 Sukkar-Sibi-Saryab 385 km
N-70 Qilasaifullah-Loralai-DG Khan-Multan 447 km
N-75 Islamabad-Satra Mile-Lower Topa (Murree)- Kohala (Murree Expressway) 90 km
S-1 Jaglot (KKH)- Shangrial-Karachi-Skardu 167 km
S-2 Kohala-Muzaffarabad 40 km
Lahore - Sialkot Carriageway 101 km 6 Lanes Under Construction
Lahore - Faisalabad Carriageway

Motorways

M1 Peshawar-Islamabad 155 km 6 Lanes Under Construction
M2 Islambad-Pinidi Bhattian-Lahore 367 km 6 Lanes Completed
M3 Pinidi Bhattian - Faisalabad 53 km 6 Lanes Completed
M4 Faisalabad - Multan 243 km 4 Lanes Planned
M5 Multan - DG Khan 84 km 6 Lanes Planned
M6 DG Khan - Kakkar 467 km 2 Lanes Planned
M7 Kakkar - Karachi 280 km 2 Lanes Planned
M8 Ratodero - Gwadar 895 km 2 Lanes Under Construction
M9 Karachi-Hyderabad 136 km 4 Lanes Planned
M10 Karachi Northern Bypass 64 km 4,6 or 8 Lanes Planned

Again id say its impossible... also here is a map... tell us how you will send ur ships to chahbahar even if we "imagine" Iran gives u the permission... without being attacked or bombed:
2znr53t.jpg

Again US might not want tht... but the reality is tht China is already managing the port and building the trade corridor from Gwadar to Xinjiang.. while there is no proof of US involvement ... but the indian suport of BLA is there ... also US needs Pakistan for its strategic location in the foreseeable future..

Every thing is UNDER CONSTRUCTION since so many years. I agree that Rest of Pakistan is very well connected. But I said this only , that, Gwadar is connected by road with Karachi only. Not with rest of Pakistan. If some urea or anything has to reach , say Lahore, Faisalabad , from Gwadar by road, those cargo has to go to Karachi first, and from there to Lahore or Faisalabad, thus increasing the cost. It cannot reach Lahore or Faisalabad straight from Gwadar. It has to Karachi first. Because, As you said, Gwadar to Ratodero is under construction. You said in your post that Gwadar still handles some freight but is still not 100 % developed.

Source: http://www.defence.pk/forums/pakist...n-s-quest-maritime-depth-3.html#ixzz2WyPDsuUP

Every thing is UNDER CONSTRUCTION since so many years. I agree that Rest of Pakistan is very well connected. But I said this only , that, Gwadar is connected by road with Karachi only. Not with rest of Pakistan. If some urea or anything has to reach , say Lahore, Faisalabad , from Gwadar by road, those cargo has to go to Karachi first, and from there to Lahore or Faisalabad, thus increasing the cost. It cannot reach Lahore or Faisalabad straight from Gwadar. It has to Karachi first. Because, As you said, Gwadar to Ratodero is under construction. You said in your post that Gwadar still handles some freight but is still not 100 % developed.

Source: http://www.defence.pk/forums/pakist...n-s-quest-maritime-depth-3.html#ixzz2WyPDsuUP

Yaar dimagh kyun kharab kar raha hai...... Ratrodero road is already there and more lanes are being added to widen it ... as for "Everything is under construction" dude go see a shrink ... only some parts of motorways.... while the ones with 4 lanes are being widened with 2-4 more lanes....... and you dont need to go to lahore or faisalabad via karachi frm gwadar... see the bloody map again...... and do note tht these stats are years old.. got them from skyscrapper website.....

Gawadar is new born city and is even hardly a city according to infastructure so give it a bit time and all other major areas are linked with each other with roads,highways and railway and major cities are also linked by motorways……