Featured Pakistan Railways To Procure High-Speed Passenger Coaches and Freight Vans

Are these standard gauge ?
Logically they should be.
It is high time we dumped the Colonial era 1676 mm broad gauge for good.
unforutnetly we are not dumping broad gauge
despite sheikh sahab pushing for it
seems even the new track will broad gauge which IMO is a bad decision

unforutnetly we are not dumping broad gauge
despite sheikh sahab pushing for it
seems even the new track will broad gauge which IMO is a bad decision
It doesn't matter. When integration with China becomes better the gauge could be converted. Remember that converting from broad gauge to standard gauge is far easier than the reverse. The bridges, tunnels, and yards need little change. They are all in conformity with the clearance requirement.

i think the new track should have been built side by side the old track(there is enough land), we could have kept two system, one for fast transport, the other for freight(with some update in signaling and track rehabilitation)

That is what our "friendly " next door neighbor did with their Dedicated Freight Corridor but unfortunately ( or rather fortunately 😜) they chose to build the new track in broad gauge also at a horrible expense and overrun of the project.
...and for that matter the old track still carries 65 kmph junk passenger trains, using diesel engines.

I agree, the old tracks need to be maintained along with the new track to continue to use our current train set. This would also prevent any delays in the upgrade hindering the current operations of the railroad. Once the new tracks are built they can be used for a dedicated freight line and fast passenger trains (the old tracks wouldn’t be able to sustain the higher speeds, and signals can help keep the trains separated) while the older track can be used for local trains service; similar to the KCR. Signal upgrades and key river crossing bridges should be the first thing upgraded as it will allow efficient use of our resources. Third tracks at key locations will also allow for freight to bypass passenger trains and allow us to keep up to a schedule.

Fo you think the passenger trains should maintain the current layout of the coaches or should they be switched to the bus model of all seats facing forward, considering how people move with their families?

That is what our "friendly " next door neighbor did with their Dedicated Freight Corridor but unfortunately ( or rather fortunately 😜) they chose to build the new track in broad gauge also at a horrible expense and overrun of the project.
...and for that matter the old track still carries 65 kmph junk passenger trains, using diesel engines.
What a genius......
1.Indian Railways is 60% electrified.
2. By 2023 almost complete electrification.
3. Eastern and Western Dedicated Freight Corridors will be fully operational by 2022.1st stretch has already been operationalized few days ago between Khurja and Kanpur.
4.Most of the trains run with max speed of 130 Kmph with Vande Bharat Express going into 160.
5. Indian Railways is having upto 12000 HP Locomotives .

so better comment only on your railway system rather than commenting on IR which is much advance than PR.

What a genius......
3. Eastern and Western Dedicated Freight Corridors will be fully operational by 2022.1st stretch has already been operationalized few days ago between Khurja and Kanpur.
4.Most of the trains run with max speed of 130 Kmph with Vande Bharat Express going into 160.

so better comment only on your railway system rather than commenting on IR which is much advance than PR.

Very true.... Indian and Pakistani railways.... there can not be any comparison at all....

What a genius......

Shrimanji.
For your education:
IR being electrified doesn't mean all the trains are run by electric power because that much power has to be generated. A shortage of power causes tripping stranding trains. The 1950s era Alco model vintage diesel locomotives are still seen pulling passenger trains on
" electrified" track. See below.

What you will do in 2023 will be seen . :yahoo:

CABBF3F3-3022-41AA-830F-7FC4FD78D634.jpeg

B9451FE1-57F8-4BC7-AC6B-11EFF0F9D68D.jpeg

Doubt if your " Vande Bharat" trains can do 130 kmph. How will these poor migrant laborers hang on to the roof ?
😝

Shrimanji.
For your education:
IR being electrified doesn't mean all the trains are run by electric power because that much power has to be generated. A shortage of power causes tripping stranding trains. The 1950s era Alco model vintage diesel locomotives are still seen pulling passenger trains on
" electrified" track. See below.

What you will do in 2023 will be seen . :yahoo:

View attachment 691672
View attachment 691673

Doubt if your " Vande Bharat" trains can do 130 kmph. How will these poor migrant laborers hang on to the roof ?
😝
Janab,

India has power surplus and IR is not is like electricity supply department of Pakistani Punjab where they loadshwding.
You now nothing about railways and brag here. These disel Locos are running on electrified route because there must be some stretch in route where it has not been eletrified.
The second picture you have posted is of almost extinct meter gauge train.

1950 era???? India has modern EMD and GE disel Locomotives having upto 6000 HP. And yes Vande Bharat as well as Gatiman both run at max speed of 160 kmph.

Janab,
by the way which is most powerful locomotive in PR?

Janab,

India has power surplus and IR is not is like electricity supply department of Pakistani Punjab where they loadshwding.
You now nothing about railways and brag here. These disel Locos are running on electrified route because there must be some stretch in route where it has not been eletrified.

1950 era???? India has modern EMD and GE disel Locomotives having upto 6000 HP. And yes Vande Bharat as well as Gatiman both run at max speed of 160 kmph.

Janab,

80DA5BED-203D-4BC9-92F7-989727E56F4E.png

Vande Bharat!
श्रिमाँजि
यहाँ पर विषय है कि १४३५ मिलिमीटर का रेल मानक का उपयोग किया जाए और पूराने १६८६ मिलीमीटर को त्याग किया जाए ।
आपके देश से इस विषय का कोई सम्बन्ध नहीं है । यदि आपको इस से कष्ट है तो क्रिप्या किसी और मँच पर जाके भाषण दें ।
Trans:
Sir, The topic of this thread is whether we should adopt the 1435 mm rail standard and relinquish the 1676 mm standard.
The topic of this thread has no relevance to your country. If you are bothered by this topic then kindly move to a different forum and express your views there.

Janab,

Janab,

Can we stop derailing and hijacking the thread please?

Let's stay on topic. I doubt the thread is to measure schwanzes or compare HP of locos between two rival nations.

You seem to be a newbie in Railway topics, and are here more for juvenile Indian chest puffery reasons, proclaiming how advanced India is to produce 4000 hp locomotives, when in reality Indian antiquated train technology (like everything else) is heavily borrowed from overseas, in this case the US.

I will mention a few facts.

Please stop derailing the thread any further after this.

Even Meter Gauge Freight locos in Bangladesh (GT-38-ACe or equivalent to US spec SD-70 units) nowadays produce 2200 HP and can achieve 110 KMPH theoretically. If longer container rakes are needed to pull they can use MU consists, just like the US. These will be converted to Broad gauge eventually.

Bangladesh also has imported (as I mentioned earlier) GT42ACL locos from Progress Rail in the US with EMD 710 prime movers and having 2,237 kW (or 3000 HP) tractive power. These will also be used in MU style as necessary.

Indian Railways chose 4000 HP or 6000 HP locos because their rakes demanded it, not because Hindutva types could boast to everyone how advanced their railways are (which is not the case). Any railway in the world can buy and operate 6000 HP locos if necessary for their needs.

The reason railways choose locomotives is to choose reliability, economy and to suit their specific freight and passenger carrying needs. This is also partially the reason why track gauge is chosen.

By the way, Pakistan has ordered 55 GE ES43ACi Evolution Series locomotives - which have 12-cylinder 4563 hp GEVO12 engines, which are a decade more advanced and eco-friendly than what you produce in India. These are in the process of delivery. The majority of their fleet also includes many 3000 HP locos, of which some are assembled locally.

It is not in how many HP you produce for a loco that is considered advanced, it is how reliable and eco-friendly it is compared to tractive effort. Pakistan has its bases covered.

A broad gauge truck ( bogie) needs a wheel base of at least 2200 to 2500 mm to maintain the required track to wheel base ratio. The wider track requires much wider curves of 100 -150 m radius which is ideal for flat plains but difficult to construct in mountainous terrain. Extreme mountain terrains such as the Swiss mountain railroads require narrow gauge 600 mm track. But for most undulating and normal terrain a good compromise is 1435 mm gauge which is why the gauge is now almost an international standard. Pakistan having undulating terrain with tighter curves in some areas it makes sense to completely convert to 1435 mm gauge.

The planned Dhaka-Chittagong High Speed Rail Link will use dedicated 1435mm Standard Gauge Double line track with overhead catenary. It is expected to reduce travel time to 55~73 minutes between Dhaka and Chittagong while with current inter-city trains (1000mm gauge) around 6 hours of travel time are needed to cover the 321 km distance .

New route will be 227.3 km, approx. 90 km shorter using continuous welded rail, eased wide curves and minimal stops, maybe one or two. The project will be implemented under a government-to-government (G2G) agreement with China at an estimated cost of Tk. 50,000 crore. Part of the track is expected to run on elevated and sectioned off structure like the Japanese shinkansen.

Here is an OSM image for the planned route,

Seems like the majority of high speed rail across the globe uses standard 1435mm gauge track.

The planned Dhaka-Chittagong High Speed Rail Link will use dedicated 1435mm Standard Gauge Double line track with overhead catenary. It is expected to reduce travel time to 55~73 minutes between Dhaka and Chittagong while with current inter-city trains (1000mm gauge) around 6 hours of travel time are needed to cover the 321 km distance .

New route will be 227.3 km, approx. 90 km shorter using continuous welded rail, eased wide curves and minimal stops, maybe one or two. The project will be implemented under a government-to-government (G2G) agreement with China at an estimated cost of Tk. 50,000 crore. Part of the track is expected to run on elevated and sectioned off structure like the Japanese shinkansen.

Seems like the majority of high speed rail across the globe uses standard 1435mm gauge track.
Good that Bangladesh is adopting 1435 mm track. For economic and strategic purposes that is a good choice.
The West Bengal Dhaka route via Petrapole ( Maitree Express ) should also be converted to 1435 mm standard gauge.
Bangladesh will be able to avail low cost Rolling stock, locomotives and work equipment from China.

Any idea what kind of trains Pakistan will procure for its high speed passenger trains?