Pakistan needs strategic depth

Pakistanis are simply scared.

They threaten India with nuclear weapons ever since India invaded and annexed east Pakistan.

This left a shock on Pakistan they have never recovered and live in fear of India rise

Pakistan needs strategic depth

By Ejaz Haider

Published: October 7, 2011

Five meetings on security in a week and I heard nearly a dozen times that Pakistan doesn’t need nor seeks strategic depth. That’s codswallop. Every state needs strategic depth and given Pakistan’s geographical location, she more than some others.

I hear the sound of bayonets pulled out of scabbards so let me repeat, Pakistan needs strategic depth. Hore Choopo!

But pray, what is this ‘hated’ concept?

Broadly, in military terms, it refers to a state’s ability to deal with an offensive through elastic, multi-layered defence, absorb the initial thrust, stress the enemy forces and inflict attrition on it through multiple counter-strikes that would lead to the offensive petering out and falling short of its objectives.

At a basic level it is a rather simple calculation of distances between the frontlines and/or any forward battle sectors and a state’s strategic assets: industrial areas, key urban and population centres, communications lines, military production centres, in effect the state’s heartlands or, to put it another way, all the soft and hardware whose agglomeration makes a state viable.

For politico-military planners this becomes a central precept. How vulnerable such assets are and what strategy must be adopted to ensure that a state can absorb a methodical offensive and still be able to respond to and defeat an adversary.

Pakistan’s physical thinness that runs along its length helps it in having shorter interior lines, a plus for quick mobilisation. But it also makes her vulnerable to a sweeping offensive with thrusts directed at strategic locations. Pakistan’s mil-ops strategy against a potential Indian offensive, given a relatively weaker air force, more reliance on air defences and lesser logistics and reserve capabilities, has entailed a combination of holding the Indian offensive in certain areas and striking in others. This meant identifying points of no penetration (Lahore and Sialkot, for instance), points where the Indian forces could be pulled in, areas where Pakistan would strike back and also, areas where, if need be, Pakistan could cross over.

This is a very simplistic overview of a complex mil-ops strategy which subsumes multiple operational plans. But the logic is to use interior lines that benefit the defender rather than taking the stress of exterior lines necessary for an offensive. All these concepts continue to be debated which is exactly what the job of a military is, Pakistani as much as any other.

The current confusion is owed to the ‘brilliance’ of former army chief Mirza Aslam Beg who posited it in relation to Afghanistan. His concept was unpopular even when he was the chief and it has never been entertained by serious military planners. No one thinks of placing military and other assets in Afghanistan and thus acquiring strategic depth. Afghanistan, for a host of reasons, one worse than the other, never offered any such possibility outside of the heat-oppressed brain of General Beg. But just because that was nonsense doesn’t make the idea of strategic depth nonsensical per se.

Also, the concept goes beyond the mil-ops categories. During a talk once I formulated it in political-diplomatic terms: strategic depth being the ability of a state to reduce threats by a combination of strategies which includes improving relations with neighbours to try and bring the possibility of an armed conflict to zero and thereby creating space for economic development and projection.

Since then I have been directed to one of the works by Ahmet Devatoglu, the current foreign minister of Turkey who is widely credited with being the architect of Turkey’s reorientation. The book is called Strategic Depth: Turkey’s International Position. It is written in Turkish and I don’t know of an English translation. But what I have gathered from some research on the internet, it seems that Mr Devatoglu has also argued the concept in political-diplomatic terms.

Not just that. It seems that this process of rethinking Turkey’s relations with its neighbours and the world in general began before Mr Devatoglu’s book came out. Other political scientists like Duygu Sezer, Ali Karaosmanoglu and Huseyin Bagci are also credited with proposing a “‘grand strategy’ for Turkish foreign policy” instead of Ankara’s traditional reactive approach. The same thought was put to me in March 2010 when I interviewed President Abdullah Gul in Ankara: zero conflict in the region; economic development; proactive policy.

It is in this sense that the concept of strategic depth must be seen. And from this perspective, Pakistan needs it not just in relation to Afghanistan, but even more importantly, India.

Put the bayonet back in the scabbard and rethink the concept, thank you.

Published in The Express Tribune, October 8th, 2011.

Aslam Beg was one of the worst thinkers.

Please do not quote him or quote essays that quote him.

Pakistani must realize that our beautiful country has enough of resources and "depth" to become a world power.

What we really need is depth in our intellect and not in land.

Strategic depth is absolute BS. its saying like we can defend our selves and need a place to hide. If you cant defend then you don't need to be a state.
This Idea is mother of all ills that Pakistan is facing now, you want to repeat that again?

Lets make our defenses strong enough to withstand any aggression, and the aggression that we cant withstand, we should avoid it at any cost.

Not to corner a cat

it can become a tiger (for a short while).
Aslam Beg was one of the worst thinkers.

Please do not quote him or quote essays that quote him.

Pakistani must realize that our beautiful country has enough of resources and "depth" to become a world power.

What we really need is depth in our intellect and not in land.

A selam Brother

read my last post please its related to your minde !

i am sorry i beg to differ ..
first of all .

there is our neighbour named iran , which was once surrounded by enemies from 3 enemies ir iraq , taliban and saudia
they didnt work on concept strategic depth isntead they focused on self sustained missile system development (land , air and sea based) .

even if this concept materializes wht do we end up with ? sectarian wars , poor population , mountains , no water , no infrastrucutre etc etc

i think we have wasted our time and money in this concept , we need something new and for this we should talk to iran and china
They both have had to develop their tactics keeping USA , a much larger adversary than their capability and importantly they both foucse on self sustained cheap defence systems

It is clear we need to produce defence systems ourselves and need independence in this regard for the time when US betrays us again (imposing Pressler Amendment or other sanctions-already they have cut aid... the less they need us the more they are going to be aggressive against us) but there is also limited research and development in Pakistan. It was .33% of the GDP in the year 2013.

Compare this to Israel. 3.93 in 2012 and 3.97 before (2010, 2011). No wonder they are ahead. We do not focus as much on research and development as Isreal. With American help Israel has evolved into a powerful state with an equally powerful military. We on the other hand cannot finish off a bunch of evil barbarians like the Taliban. We need to destroy the terrorists-utterly and concentrate on defense production.

Even India which is weak in this regard already as the Tejas. We have to do something or we will be left behind.

Research and development expenditure (% of GDP) | Data | Table

Yes that might be right,but it is out of question from the military view that the Iranians have done the best of their situation under the sanctions. Their bases and coastal defence I am not talking about their Naval air and sea arm, are a dangerous threat for any Fleet which trys to attack Iran from sea. With their current tactic, development and mass production of Anti-ship missiles and the combination of long and short SAM arsenal they can hold their declared enemy at the Bay.

The Tactic which the Iranian coastal defence use is very simple:

- firing Anti-Ship missiles in salves

- using older and new typse of missiles, makes it more difficult and complex for the enemy to expect the technical threat and choose the meassures

View attachment 149614

I am not fan of Irans politics neither I am interest in politics, I am just a military reader and writer,who want see Pakistan in peace through military and economic strengthened by a peaceful foreign politic of Pakistan.

Coming back to the "strategic deep"

"Whosoever talks about the strategic depth policy is either outdated on the issue or is seriously mistaken," remarked one Pakistani security official, so @fatman what was the goal to post such a article here without any minde and comment from you ?

View attachment 149615

I dont think that this is possible through a agressive foreigne politic or through intervention in afghanistan politics via ISI or other elements. More realistic is to bring the Afghan economy so close to the Pakistani, that the Afghans depends on Pakistani exports and imports, the next step is than to train their junior Officers in Pakistan and ours in Afghanistan, to hold military exercises, Border patrols etc. the goal is to staion a full heavy equipped mechanized Brigade of Pakistani Soldiers in Afghanistan, to get a military base in Afghanistan, the task is to protect Kabul from the Talibs and to get trust and brotherly cooperation......and so on. Is that possible ? I say yes, for that our tasked men of the Pakistani government and Military most workeput a new Afghanistan-strategic-deep doctrin, for this new line Pakistan musst build a longterm, serious, foreigne political agenda for Afghanistan. A message that Gen. Raheel Sharif carried on his recent trip to Afghanistan. The new policy is one of no interference, no favorites in Afghanistan, which is supported by the ruling Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz. According to ISPR Raheel Sharif was even ready to offer the Afghan military in building and and equipping a full Afghan infantry Brigade near Kabul !

Mechanized Pakistani Forces

View attachment 149617 View attachment 149618

I don't want declare essay works from ministers of my: For that here is very good and actual article to this "strategic deep" issue.

Hussain Nadim is currently serving as the Special Assistant to Pakistan's Federal Minister of Planning, Development & Reform :

It's very rare that one comes across optimism towards Afghanistan among the security establishment in Pakistan, but when I interviewed a senior member of the country's intelligence community recently, he said of the recent elections in Afghanistan: "[It] doesn't matter if the president is Abdullah Abdullah or Ashraf Ghani, the democratic process in Afghanistan in itself is a sign of stability and progress." Several senior members of the Pakistani security establishment expressed similar views when asked about the Afghan elections, indicating a dramatic shift in Pakistan's policy toward its neighbor that is a refreshing break from the past -- a message that Gen. Raheel Sharif carried on his recent trip to Afghanistan.

The new policy is one of no interference, no favorites in Afghanistan, which is supported by the ruling Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz.

But what about the ‘strategic depth' policy -- a vivid idea that Pakistan must control Afghanistan so not to have an enemy on its Western border? "Whosoever talks about the strategic depth policy is either outdated on the issue or is seriously mistaken," remarked one Pakistani security official. While the strategic depth policy was once an integral part of Pakistan's Afghan policy before 9/11, it is now redundant and obsolete. He added that: "The policy was a byproduct of [the] Soviet invasion of Afghanistan under a certain context. It is not sustainable and doesn't make any sense today given how the context and regional dynamics have changed."

With the ‘strategic depth' policy out of the window, India'sgrowing involvement in Afghanistan is becoming more acceptable to Pakistan's security establishment. That is not to say that Pakistan is completely comfortable with it, but more that it is slowly coming to terms with the idea as part of its new ‘no interference, no favorites' policy. "Afghanistan is a sovereign state, and it can choose to have any relations with any country. That should not be a concern for Pakistan, unless third powers are using Afghan soil to target Pakistan," explained a senior military official. On the question of a recent India-Russia deal to provide arms to the Afghan Army, the same official replied with a question: "Has the deal been signed yet?"

The newly found comfort over Indian advancements in Afghanistan can be attributed to three causes: First, Pakistan's security establishment realizes that Afghanistan requires regional partnerships for development. Second, Pakistan feels that, since India does not share a direct border with Afghanistan, it can only have limited influence on ground. Third, Pakistan's security apparatus has developed a relationship of good will and understanding with the Afghan leadership.

There is also a realization within the establishment that there is much to be learned from India in terms of its development strategy of winning hearts and minds in Afghanistan. While Pakistan may provide hardware and infrastructure development to Afghanistan, Indians are going out in rural Pashtun areas to provide books, medicines, and hospital facilities -- items that affect the people most and create goodwill. If Pakistan wants cordial relations with the people of Afghanistan it must follow the same route.

Most of the Pakistani security officials I interviewed are confident and optimistic about Afghanistan's future -- something that wasn't the case a couple of years back -- because of ongoing trends in the country, such as the elections, the quality of the candidates, and how everyone, young or old, turned out to cast a vote. One of the intelligence officers I talked to was of the view that Afghanistan has even gone beyond its ethnic divide, especially if one looks at voting behavior, and how Tajiks and Pashtuns voted for candidatesregardless of their ethnic affiliation. Moreover, the candidates have worked to mobilize the vote across ethnic divides, something that has been met with success. For example, Abdullah was supported by Pashtuns in Kabul and Jalalabad, and Ghani received support from Tajik strongholds in the north. As a result, Pakistan's security establishment does not predict an ethnic civil war breaking out between different ethnic factions, nor with Taliban................

read the full article here:

Pakistan's New, Optimistic Afghan Strategy

Nice. Very nice.

Joint ops on Pak-Af border

Posting of one brigade in Afghanistan

Sending volunteer teachers/doctors to rural areas.

In all this we must remember that total population of Afghanistan is comparable to just one city of Pakistan aka Karachi.

And Afghanistani economy is 1000 times less vibrant compared to Karachi.

If we keep population+economy in our analysis, we will behave more rationally when it comes to Afghanistan.

Peace

It is clear we need to produce defence systems ourselves and need independence in this regard for the time when US betrays us again (imposing Pressler Amendment or other sanctions-already they have cut aid... the less they need us the more they are going to be aggressive against us) but there is also limited research and development in Pakistan. It was .33% of the GDP in the year 2013.

Compare this to Israel. 3.93 in 2012 and 3.97 before (2010, 2011). No wonder they are ahead. We do not focus as much on research and development as Isreal. With American help Israel has evolved into a powerful state with an equally powerful military. We on the other hand cannot finish off a bunch of evil barbarians like the Taliban. We need to destroy the terrorists-utterly and concentrate on defense production.

Even India which is weak in this regard already as the Tejas. We have to do something or we will be left behind.

Research and development expenditure (% of GDP) | Data | Table

This are words which I want read and hear every day in PDF and Pakistan, talking and writing about ways which moves us Pakistanis forward, and taking the steps for that ! Build a powerfull Pakistani Republic of Islam like Jinnah wanted

Nice. Very nice.

Joint ops on Pak-Af border

Posting of one brigade in Afghanistan

Sending volunteer teachers/doctors to rural areas.

In all this we must remember that total population of Afghanistan is comparable to just one city of Pakistan aka Karachi.

And Afghanistani economy is 1000 times less vibrant compared to Karachi.

If we keep population+economy in our analysis, we will behave more rationally when it comes to Afghanistan.

Peace

A selam

That's a brilliant and short analysis of the great Plan by you!

regards and peace !

This are words which I want read and hear every day in PDF and Pakistan, talking and writing about ways which moves us Pakistanis forward, and taking the steps for that ! Build a powerfull Pakistani Republic of Islam like Jinnah wanted

All words and little action does not amount to much, unfortunately.

That is totally correct, and et the end it means nothing. Everything starts in hearts and mindes, in our head, who did ever expect that ISIS will control half of Iraq and Syria ? Nobody ! What Pakistan has not, what ISIS has ? or Isreal ? North Korea can control every inch of his Land every single human, they can hold their Bay against their so declared "enemys",what has north Korea what Pakistan can not bring on the table ? How is it possible that the communist regime in north Korea and China is working like a clockworke ? They have national Ideas and goals and build governance-instruments to control and establish it !

We need to PRESENT our national Ideal, targets and Goal in every corner of Pakistan and at the international political stage ! But for that the actual political system of feudalism must be overthrown we need socialism with reforms with a peaceful islamic idealism. Our Media has to present our Ideas of Unity, faith and dicipline, we need Propaganda of this for 24 hours in TV,Streets, Radio and in public, also in Schools. We have to build in every City a elite of such educated people and young students, and send them in every corner of Pakistan as messengers. We need a Force which controls the public like in China and North Korea still our society is ready and healthy enough for a democracy like in EU .

Do you remember our begining ? "Send Messenger in every corner of this world"
MzA2MDU0NjAzNA==_o_the-message-1976-full-movie-about-islam-2hrs-55mins.jpg

Words and books can be so powerfull ! Do not forget who we are and what kinde of blood is runing in you and me !

Everyone has the option to die as anonym person or choose to live and die as part of a great movement, a greater Pakistan. I did fail hundertimes in my live but giving up is out of my order, I choose to fight for Pakistan in my heart and with my minde !

Pakistan Zindabad

regards and peace

Ullah

Assuming you do need it, but the question is where will you get it from?

At the present moment, your strategic depth has reduced from the past rather than increased. Most of fata and nwa are hostile regions for your forces and defense installations, same is the case with vast regions in balochistan - all installations will be targets for terrorists and their presence will restrict free movement of your troops and equipment. Afghanistan is hostile and afghan forces fire at anything that's near their border. The same situation is present on the Iran Ian border where large fencing and agressive border patrolling is the norm.

In all, your depth has reduced to an extent.

Assuming you do need it, but the question is where will you get it from?

At the present moment, your strategic depth has reduced from the past rather than increased. Most of fata and nwa are hostile regions for your forces and defense installations, same is the case with vast regions in balochistan - all installations will be targets for terrorists and their presence will restrict free movement of your troops and equipment. Afghanistan is hostile and afghan forces fire at anything that's near their border. The same situation is present on the Iran Ian border where large fencing and agressive border patrolling is the norm.

In all, your depth has reduced to an extent.

You are welcome here in PAKISTANdefence to READ before you post, enojoy this process ! Hope we could teach you a key element in how discuss a topic.

Welcome in PAKISTANDEFNCE
1264691384-pakistan-rangers-marching_232295.jpg

You are welcome in here in PAKISTANdefence to READ before you post, enojoy this process ! Hope we could teach you a key element in how discuss a topic.

Ty for the welcome.

Pakistanis are simply scared.

They threaten India with nuclear weapons ever since India invaded and annexed east Pakistan.

This left a shock on Pakistan they have never recovered and live in fear of India rise

Bhai jaan sahi hai,jhoot bolo,jitna ho sakta hai bolo,ziada bhi bolo lekin kabhi bhi jhoot ki hadd cross mat kia karo,