Pakistan intends to alter blasphemy law

We tend to keep our ' limit of no penetration' far away from us. Therefore react to almost everything said about us. Religion too falls in this category.

We need to keep it closer to us.

Religion is a wonderful & powerful thing but like all such things too much of it &
allowing it to move unbridled is counter productive.

I've heard that non-muslims may not vote in Pakistan.

Is this true? if so, why?

you are saying non-Muslims are not allowed to vote........ my friend we had Non-Muslim Chief Election Commisioner of Pakistan back in 1990s

I forgot his name now but he was the Chief Election Commissioner during Benazir's era

if i find his name on google i will post it later on

Pakistan has oscillated between joint electorate and separate electorate for different religious communities, but non-Muslims do have the right to vote.

Currently the system is one of joint electorate, which non-Muslim Pakistanis apparently prefer.

Ten seats out of 342 in the National Assembly are also reserved for minorities.

Pakistan has oscillated between joint electorate and separate electorate for different religious communities.

Currently the system is one of joint electorate, which non-Muslim Pakistanis apparently prefer.

Ten seats out of 272 in the National Assembly are also reserved for minorities.

well if i am not wrong 8 seats are reserved for minorities?

or are you sure its 10?

We have no qualms about admitting that on this forum you do not have total freedom of speech, limitations exist in "Talking on topic, about Pakistan and non-theological discussion". America's 1st amendment rights do not apply here - this is a business entity, not your government.

Government is subservient to its people. It has to allow its people to say anything. Insults by definition are not supposed to be liked. But if I limit your right to insult me then I can claim anything as an insult that goes against my views, technically it is insulting even if you say whatever I believe is a lie. But not so much for the person who does not believe what I believe.

That is the spirit of Freedom of Speech.

We are an Islamic state, our values are Islamic and will remain Islamic! People like yourself, who grew up abroad and have no knowledge of ``Adhab`` and Islamic etiquette have NO right to enforce your hateful agenda on our society.

The concept of "freedom of speech" was misused by Jewish media men, to demonize and remove Christianity from the lives of the people of the West.

Under Islamic principles that which is sacred and holy is meant to be treated with certain respect... Christians might have abandoned their respect, but we Muslims will never, Insha Allah!

I have no problem with pragmatic debates and dialogue, but insults will never be tolerated!

A true Muslim loves Allah and the holy Prophet Muhammad (SAW) more than anyone or anything else! And God forgives anything except Shirk and disrespect of the holiest and greatest of all Prophets, the holy Prophet Muhammad (SAW)!

Now keep your western/secular concepts to yourself... I follow Allama Iqbal, who preached that we should only take that which is beneficial to us from others (particularily science and technology) , and leave those concepts and ideas which goes against our values and are detrimental to us!

Allama Iqbal is one of our forefathers, and he lived his life to spread the truth and as Pakistanis we should be familiar with his concepts and ideas.

From Jawab-e-Shikwa:

"...Ki Muhammad (SAW) Se Wafa Tu Ne Toh Hum Tere Hain,
Ye Jehan Cheez Hai Kya, Lohh-o-Kalam Tere Hain..."

Translation (does not do it justice, but gets the idea across):

...If you are loyal to Muhammad (SAW) then we are yours,
This universe is nothing, the tablet and pen are yours...

Wake up and realize that success lies only on the path of Rasool Allah (SAW), the greatest of God's creation, and seal of the Prophets... Without him (S), this Pakistan, this world, this universe would not exist!

Islam is submission to the almighty, and as an Islamic Republic, we should do just that!

Let the Westerners blashpemize all they want, they are only harming themselves, and they will pay the price... Would you begin cutting of your wrist if you saw others do it? Like I said earlier, do not imitate the West in ways that will only harm us!

tape recorders all over......

finality is the Islamic Law implemented by the last Prophet of Islam followed by all Caliphs of Islam briefly ordered by Allah..for all you can write thesis and books and papers you do not change after what is reveled and Ordered by God.

case ends dismissed!... no more ranting this and that...you cannot justify your cases your nothing what Allah has Ordained and implemented by His Messenger the Laws outlined and briefly explained in sharia..
it is such a time when people don't know what is right and what is wrong Prophecy fulfilled first hand witnessed on this thread..

We are an Islamic state, our values are Islamic and will remain Islamic! People like yourself, who grew up abroad and have no knowledge of ``Adhab`` and Islamic etiquette have NO right to enforce your hateful agenda on our society.

The concept of "freedom of speech" was misused by Jewish media men, to demonize and remove Christianity from the lives of the people of the West.

Under Islamic principles that which is sacred and holy is meant to be treated with certain respect... Christians might have abandoned their respect, but we Muslims will never, Insha Allah!

I have no problem with pragmatic debates and dialogue, but insults will never be tolerated!

A true Muslim loves Allah and the holy Prophet Muhammad (SAW) more than anyone or anything else! And God forgives anything except Shirk and disrespect of the holiest and greatest of all Prophets, the holy Prophet Muhammad (SAW)!

Now keep your western/secular concepts to yourself... I follow Allama Iqbal, who preached that we should only take that which is beneficial to us from others (particularily science and technology) , and leave those concepts and ideas which goes against our values and are detrimental to us!

Allama Iqbal is one of our forefathers, and he lived his life to spread the truth and as Pakistanis we should be familiar with his concepts and ideas.

From Jawab-e-Shikwa:

"...Ki Muhammad (SAW) Se Wafa Tu Ne Toh Hum Tere Hain,
Ye Jehan Cheez Hai Kya, Lohh-o-Kalam Tere Hain..."

Translation (does not do it justice, but gets the idea across):

...If you are loyal to Muhammad (SAW) then we are yours,
This universe is nothing, the tablet and pen are yours...

Wake up and realize that success lies only on the path of Rasool Allah (SAW), the greatest of God's creation, and seal of the Prophets... Without him (S), this Pakistan, this world, this universe would not exist!

Islam is submission to the almighty, and as an Islamic Republic, we should do just that!

Let the Westerners blashpemize all they want, they are only harming themselves, and they will pay the price... Would you begin cutting of your wrist if you saw others do it? Like I said earlier, do not imitate the West in ways that will only harm us!

Yaar dekho, understand what exactly it is that I'm saying.

I'm not asking people to blaspheme. I'm hoping people won't do it, even if there isn't a law against it, that is, they would courteous out of free will.

Problem is blasphemy is used as an excuse. Qadianis say there is another prophet, we go crazy and start killing Qadianis. Qadianis say we are Muslims, we go crazy and start killing Qadianis.

Killing is not right. It drives people away from our religion. Ultimately you're doing a disservice to your religion by going crazy over mere words.

On the other hand, a mature response of argument and debate would convince the masses. A killing spree would instead make everyone go like "Woh dekho Pagalon ki toli".

The most standard excuse of jailing people under this law "He/She tore a page of the Quran". You should be out there showing people evidence of this lowly behavior of disrespecting a holy book. Expose them and make them hurt where it counts (hurting their new recruits). But to kill? To jail? That will hurt you.

Moreover you will notice that minorities are mostly victimized by these laws and they are not in actuality in the business of tearing down religious books. Maybe some do, like a handful. But most of the jailed are victims of false cases.

They are Pakistani too. Ultimately when we achieve harmony within our society they would not want to blaspheme and say things that hurt the sentiments of their fellow country men.

Remember if you suppress their freedom of speech today, tomorrow there will be an even stronger person suppressing your own freedoms too. What am I saying we've seen dozens of Mullahs, Generals and Civilian dictators do just that. So don't start this cycle. It's not an evil conspiracy against Islam or the nation. Its for each and every individuals betterment.

I find blasphemy laws a bad idea for three reasons: They restrict freedom of speech, they serve to enforce "acceptable" views of particular religions, and they deny the religious the opportunity to experience for themselves the difference between the holy and the blasphemous.

I wouldn't want someone imposing blasphemous stuff on me from a loudspeaker outside my house, but that ranks as disturbing the peace. Someone blaspheming my religion or observance in print, on TV, etc. is preferable to losing the three rights listed above.

Of course, I might like the same right to do the same to other religions or people in return. Even if I choose not to exercise that right, just knowing that I have the right to do so often embarrasses and shames those that do.

Yaar dekho, understand what exactly it is that I'm saying.

I'm not asking people to blaspheme. I'm hoping people won't do it, even if there isn't a law against it, that is, they would courteous out of free will.

Problem is blasphemy is used as an excuse. Qadianis say there is another prophet, we go crazy and start killing Qadianis. Qadianis say we are Muslims, we go crazy and start killing Qadianis.

Killing is not right. It drives people away from our religion. Ultimately you're doing a disservice to your religion by going crazy over mere words.

On the other hand, a mature response of argument and debate would convince the masses. A killing spree would instead make everyone go like "Woh dekho Pagalon ki toli".

The most standard excuse of jailing people under this law "He/She tore a page of the Quran". You should be out there showing people evidence of this lowly behavior of disrespecting a holy book. Expose them and make them hurt where it counts (hurting their new recruits). But to kill? To jail? That will hurt you.

Moreover you will notice that minorities are mostly victimized by these laws and they are not in actuality in the business of tearing down religious books. Maybe some do, like a handful. But most of the jailed are victims of false cases.

They are Pakistani too. Ultimately when we achieve harmony within our society they would not want to blaspheme and say things that hurt the sentiments of their fellow country men.

Remember if you suppress their freedom of speech today, tomorrow there will be an even stronger person suppressing your own freedoms too. What am I saying we've seen dozens of Mullahs, Generals and Civilian dictators do just that. So don't start this cycle. It's not an evil conspiracy against Islam or the nation. Its for each and every individuals betterment.

Like the great founder of our country said, The state would be completely impartial to religion of the individual and this laws goes against our founders ideology.

Religion is your personal choice and should be a matter of privacy, but blasphemy laws are a conduit of extremist to suppress and attack minorities who are as much a part of Pakistan as any other.

And I cannot stand these uneducated extremists who were against the idea of Pakistan and have caused us nothing but problems.

Long live Pakistan but death to all extremists who have brought us so much grief and loss life.

The people who made these and hudood laws were and are the reason of extreme problems faced by us today.

May Allah enable us to defeat these devils in the guise of religion and protect our nation. Ameen.
:pakistan::pakistan::pakistan: