Pakistan hints willingness to bridge gap on ‘traitor’ Shakil Afridi

The foreign minister further elaborated that the future of Afridi lies with the courts and not with politics. He added that the now-imprisoned CIA asset went through the due legal process and was given a fair trial and a chance to plead his case.

“He was sentenced, he was convicted and is serving a sentence. We expect you to respect our legal process, as we respect yours,” said FM Qureshi while alluding to interference by the US in the country’s internal affairs.

As I said before to much derision here, Pakistan will have to let Dr. Afridi go, at some point. How and when, and the mechanism used to implement that remains to be seen.

Pakistan should ask for Dr. Afia Siddiqui in return...

give us Hussain Haqqani , 36 F-35's , 1 Air craft Carrier , 4 Arleigh class Destroyers , 4 Pi8's , 2000 AIM-9X , 36 F-18's , 20 Apaches , 20 AH-Z1's , 8 Chinooks , 2 Ohio Class Submarines , 2 Battalions of PAC-3 Patriots , 1000 MRAPS , 5000 Javelins . and than you can take Shakeel Afridi .

@tps77 @Hell hound @Mentee bhai kuch aur add kerna hai tu kerlo :D

The foreign minister further elaborated that the future of Afridi lies with the courts and not with politics

Lo ji inkay bhangrey pehly hi start

If that's so... than consider Afridi a free man.
Pakistani judiciary ek visa ki mar nahi.

It means talk to Supreme court of Pakistan

Having this man released and then he goes on CNN and reads a RAW/Mosad manuscript will complicate matters

It's best he rots in Prison

Crime:
  • Administering fake drugs
  • Administering fake Vaccination , causing many children to miss their Vaccination
  • Collaboration with a foreign Agency and acted as a Agent
  • Stealing Patient's personal data and sold it with intent to make a profit with out Patient's consent
  • Reducing social trust in Vaccination campaigns in Tribal areas, many Legitimate doctors and nurses lost their lives in aftermath of mistrust
  • Doctors are not meant to politicize their profession
  • Failed to notify local Defense forces about foreign Agenda

I’ve always said Aafia Siddiqui should be exchanged for Shakil Afridi.

In return for Husain Haqqani

Sir, they can produce any number of Shakeel Afridis and any number of Hussain Haqqanis. If we do a trade today, tomorrow they will create any Shakil/Haqqani pairing and show their public how they save their heros. We need to view this situation as one looks at terrorists/mafia/scumballs. You don't pay ransom if you know do so only gives fuel to bad behaviour.

I’ve always said Aafia Siddiqui should be exchanged for Shakil Afridi.
Hope she dies in that process. Shakil Afridi is an embarrassment, but not someone who is going to fuel extremism and terrorism in Pakistan. Its better to get haqqani back for Afridi since at the most Afridi is going to be some sepratist nobody celebrated only in the west.

In return for Husain Haqqani

That is also unlikely. Very unlikely.

Any accommodations will probably be behind the scenes or economic, if any deal is reached.