Pakistan has no friends in region: Ahmed Rashid

@The HBS Guy.....

aage aati thi haal-e-dil pe hasi...ab kisi baat par nahi aati
kaaba kis muh se jaoge ghalib...sharam tumko magar nahi aati

apply this to urself,u r confused with even flag?............

That is because India is a lot better in terms of letting the public know what the truth is. We do have issues like Kashmir but it is no way near the double game your government and army plays.

The army and the government has played no games, Pakistan wasn't opposed to the Afghan Taliban (unlike the Pashtun nationalists) because they didn't threaten the geographical integrity of Pakistan, but they never supported it. Pakistan Army has even fought the Taliban, and have more casualties and killed more Taliban in the WOT than their American counterparts in Afghanistan. Provide me unequivocal proof that Pakistan has ever aided the Taliban, besides the conjecture of the international, US analysts.

Remember that in the FATA tribal areas, Pakistani law does not apply; tribal law (Pashtunwali) applies. Even then, the Pakistan Army has waged war on numerous fronts against the Taliban, risking losing the support from some people. The Pakistani Army has been overstretched in its fight against the Taliban; & the reason why this whole, unsubstantiated "double talk" claim started coming was because the Pakistan Army refused to open new war fronts, as it is already overstretched. This does not mean Pakistan has shown unwillingness to fight, Pakistan has shown more willingness than the US & NATO forces (attested by the highest casualties of Pakistani soldiers, killing and arrests of AQ and Taliban leaders) to fight this WOT, & are only delaying certain operations because they have been overstretched. The international media takes this as us supporting the Taliban LOL!!! It's this conjecture that is false, as there is no substantiated evidence against the Pakistani Army or ISI supporting the Taliban. Pakistan has never sent any Pakistani proxies inside Afghanistan, but the NATO and US forces have infiltrated proxies into Pakistan from Afghanistan, as well as through their US embassies & consulates.

The difference between the Pakistani and Indian media is that you can openly and in an unsuppressed way praise India and bash Pakistan in Pakistan. In India, you can only bash India to a certain extent (you can't talk about the realities of Kashmir for example), and you cannot praise Pakistan AT ALL.

Without being too sarcastic... Tell me one thing that you think Pakistan has that the Indian media should praise about? (exclude the singers... I have personally heard a lot of good things about them even from Indian television)

1. That is because India is a lot better in terms of letting the public know what the truth is. We do have issues like Kashmir but it is no way near the double game your government and army play.
letting the public know the truth...first go and get the GOI release the hendersen -bhagawat report so that indian public know the truth.

2. Indian public trust their government unlike in Pakistan. Your public is confused as to who is telling the truth and who is not. So there is always room for different theories and theorists.
Indian public trusts GOI............:rofl:

Ask all those tribals for whom maoist fight.ask kashmiris,ask manipuris,aks assamese......u'll get anwer in ak fire.

apply this to urself,u r confused with even flag?............
no not i but u people are confused with flags.the reason being that u people have closed mindset conditioned over the years in indian schools.

Why am I not surprised that the troll population aka 99% of indian members on here are gathered in this thread.

Veeru get a life and as for Ahmad Rashid no one takes what he says seriously except indians because both live in delusion.

I'm a Hindu. I don't believe in Kaaba.

Aur sharam ki baat tum naa hee karo toh achha hai.
will pray that u get enlightened soon and u believe in kaba.Aur kyon na karoon sharam ki baat?Aapki dhajjiyan jo uda deti hoon.

1. That is because India is a lot better in terms of letting the public know what the truth is. We do have issues like Kashmir but it is no way near the double game your government and army play.

2. Indian public trust their government unlike in Pakistan. Your public is confused as to who is telling the truth and who is not. So there is always room for different theories and theorists.

How has India let its people know about the issues of Kashmir? How many Indians know you have more than 800,000 troops forced into Kashmir, that kill and rape innocent Kashmiris everyday? Indians like to compare Kashmir to Balochistan, there is no comparison. The majority of Balochis support Pakistan, majority of Kashmiris don't support India. Balochis have reserved spots for all important positions in Pakistan, including the government, army and the ISI. How many Kashmiris living in Kashmir are in the Indian army? India wants to divert its problems, by blaming each and everything on Pakistan, ignoring the fact that you have excessive homegrown terrorism (Jamiat-ul-Mujahideen, Hizb-ul-Mujahideen, SIMI etc) from Muslim and Hindutva groups that have nothing to do with Pakistan. They completely ignore their own stark realities, because if they embrace them, they know their country will be in shambles. They haven't even fully embraced the realities of the Maoist movement, look at the shambles their country is in. Blaming Pakistan for everything happening in India is a classic technique to divert the attention from the real problems. People know that the day Kashmir breaks away from India, every other state with separatist movements will do the same, and India will cease to exist. So it is very easy for India to blame everything on Pakistan. People like Indian conjecture that Dawood Ibrahim lives in Pakistan, but they forget that Dawood Ibrahim is an Indian citizen that has nothing to do with Pakistan. Instead, his overflowing drug money is used excessively for the Bollywood industry.

That is because India is a lot better in terms of letting the public know what the truth is. We do have issues like Kashmir but it is no way near the double game your government and army plays.

The army and the government has played no games, Pakistan wasn't opposed to the Afghan Taliban because they didn't threaten the geographical integrity of Pakistan, but they never supported it. Pakistan Army has even fought the Taliban, and have more casualties and killed more Taliban in the WOT than their American counterparts in Pakistan. Provide me unequivocal proof that Pakistan has ever aided the Taliban, besides the conjecture of the international, US analysts.

Also remember that in the FATA tribal areas, Pakistani law does not apply; tribal law (Pashtunwali) applies. Even then, the Pakistan Army has waged war on numerous fronts against the Taliban, risking losing the support from some people. The Pakistani Army has been overstretched in its fight against the Taliban; and the only reasons why this whole, unsubstantiated double talk started coming was because the Pakistani Army refused to open new war fronts as it is already overstretched. This does not mean Pakistan has shown unwillingness to fight, Pakistan has shown more willingness than the US and NATO forces (attested by the loss of Pakistani soldiers, killing and arrests of AQ and Taliban leaders) to fight this WOT, and are only delaying certain operations because they have been overstretched. The international media takes this as us supporting the Taliban LOL!!! It's this conjecture that is false, as there is no substantiated evidence against the Pakistani Army or ISI of supporting the Taliban. Pakistan has never sent any Pakistani proxies inside Afghanistan, but the NATO and US forces have infiltrated proxies into Pakistan from Afghanistan, as well as their US embassies and consulates.

See I cannot start this topic now. But you know that many of the stories and opinions by well respected international media does not match with those of your government and army. You often have different versions of the same story , one from army, the opposition, ex-foreign minister, a famous talk show host and then the international media. People chose their favorite version. So there is always doubts and mistrust.

comrades,

the region entails MUCH more than just hindustan. So let's just move on before this thread becomes corrupted and indianized......

by friends i assume we mean genuine FRIENDS; otherwise we are talking about countries with whom we do business and trade with. Speaking of which, I read an excellent article about the Islamabad-Tehran-Istanbul railways link --which is up and running.

what's really important is overseas Pakistanis who are doing well and making a good name for Pakistan and her people. And we have many of those types of people. They are like our diplomats, and help maintain Pakistan's friendships with overseas countries

I highly take issue with some of the things Ahmed Rashid says, but you also need to ''appreciate'' to whom he is trying to get an audience from. When a country sacrifices a lot to fight terrorism, it's silly to say that it uses "terrorism as a state policy" (or words along those lines)

but as an author and free-thinker, he's free to come up with theories and views

How has India let its people know about the issues of Kashmir? How many Indians know you have more than 800,000 troops forced into Kashmir, that kill and rape innocent Kashmiris everyday? Indians like to compare Kashmir to Balochistan, there is no comparison. The majority of Balochis support Pakistan, majority of Kashmiris don't support India. Balochis have reserved spots for all important positions in Pakistan, including the government, army and the ISI. How many Kashmiris living in Kashmir are in the Indian army? India wants to divert its problems, by blaming each and everything on Pakistan, ignoring the facts that you have excessive homegrown terrorism (Jamiat-ul-Mujahideen, Hizb-ul-Mujahideen etc) from Muslim and Hindutva groups that have nothing to do with Pakistan. They completely ignore their own stark realities, because if they embrace them, they know their countries will be in shambles. They haven't even fully embraced the realities of the Maoist movement, look at the shambles their country is in. Blaming Pakistan for everything happening in India is a classic technique to divert the attention from the real problems. People know that the day Kashmir breaks away from India, every other state with separatist movements will do the same, and India will cease to exist. So it is very easy for India to blame everything on Pakistan. People like Indian conjecture that Dawood Ibrahim lives in Pakistan, but they forget that Dawood Ibrahim is an Indian citizen that has nothing to do with Pakistan. Instead, his overflowing drug money is used excessively for the Bollywood industry.

Everyone that watches news and keeps up with current affair.

How has India let its people know about the issues of Kashmir? How many Indians know you have more than 800,000 troops forced into Kashmir, that kill and rape innocent Kashmiris everyday? Indians like to compare Kashmir to Balochistan, there is no comparison. The majority of Balochis support Pakistan, majority of Kashmiris don't support India. Balochis have reserved spots for all important positions in Pakistan, including the government, army and the ISI. How many Kashmiris living in Kashmir are in the Indian army? India wants to divert its problems, by blaming each and everything on Pakistan, ignoring the facts that you have excessive homegrown terrorism (Jamiat-ul-Mujahideen, Hizb-ul-Mujahideen etc) from Muslim and Hindutva groups that have nothing to do with Pakistan. They completely ignore their own stark realities, because if they embrace them, they know their countries will be in shambles. They haven't even fully embraced the realities of the Maoist movement, look at the shambles their country is in. Blaming Pakistan for everything happening in India is a classic technique to divert the attention from the real problems. People know that the day Kashmir breaks away from India, every other state with separatist movements will do the same, and India will cease to exist. So it is very easy for India to blame everything on Pakistan. People like Indian conjecture that Dawood Ibrahim lives in Pakistan, but they forget that Dawood Ibrahim is an Indian citizen that has nothing to do with Pakistan. Instead, his overflowing drug money is used excessively for the Bollywood industry.

Read my post again. What I meant was, India doesn't show the Kashmir issue to the public. But in overwhelming cases, Indian government's story will match with international media and hence people trust them.

Why am I not surprised that the troll population aka 99% of indian members on here are gathered in this thread.

Veeru get a life and as for Ahmad Rashid no one takes what he says seriously except indians because both live in delusion.

welcome to thread..

why attacking veeru for this?have u forgotten tales of soccom,hafizz every day.
atleast the thread he post doesnt belong to cattegory that these above mentioned guys post.

I relectunly have to agree with the author on this if indeed we have so many friends in the region as claimed by my other pakistanis brother why do we require a visa for Srilanka now ?

Without being too sarcastic... Tell me one thing that you think Pakistan has that the Indian media should praise about? (exclude the singers... I have personally heard a lot of good things about them even from Indian television)

Pakistan's culture is extremely vibrant & progressive, but you wouldn't know it because your media doesn't talk about it. Pakistan has a vibrant economy, powerful army, democratic government, great infrastructure, good people, hospitality, ethnic diversity just like India etc. Pakistan is surrounded by Iran, Afghanistan, Tajikistan, China, India. This brings a lot of diversity. We are the Mecca for Sikhism, we have all their holy sites here, including the birthplace of Guru Nanak, Nankina Sahib. We have a small, but very resourceful Christian & Hindu population here, with their Churches & Mandirs all intact, with the right of full freedom of practicing their religion freely, as well as reserved seats for minorities in the government, & even the army. Pakistani people are full of resilience, most people want amicable relations with India. Even though India has threatened our country's integrity in the past, we view them as a great country, we are not shy of hiding our admiration for some of the things India has done. India must not be shy of doing the same, but for that you need your media to be free & impartial about Pakistan.

My mother is actually from Patna, she had never lived in Pakistan or even visited it before she was married. My dad was born in Khujwan village, but he moved to Pakistan in 1947. I have been to India twice, and I have a deep admiration and respect for the places where my family lived (and still lives) in India, namely Bihar, Jharkhand, UP. But I was also very sad when I visited those states when I went there. Both India and Pakistan have lost a lot since 1947. I completely agree with SRK, we need to appreciate each other as 'great neighbors', powerful countries and regional powers, forget the ghosts of the past and look to the future. Pakistan has moved past its ghosts of 1971, we admire Bangladesh today and we consider them to be our brothers. We admitted our faults for 1971, Musharraf made a public apology in Dhaka when he went there. India must move past the ghosts of 1947.