Pakistan film industry revival; No foreign film needed this Eid-ul-adha[2018] in Pakistan

A.A. Khan

I visited a Pak cinema back in 2015 to watch a Pakistani film, 2 indian and one hollywood film was also being screened. At that time, wished there would come a time when only Pakistani films will be screened in Pakistani cinemas and felt it would take many years to see it.

I visited a cinema yesterday and was pleasantly surprised there was no foreign film slated for release as there were 4 Pakistani movies competing with each other.

Due to advance booking and an extended weekend no tickets were available and had to wait for a couple of hours in case someone cancelled their booking. Pakistani movies are also helping bringing in new cinemagoers. All 4 PAkistani films belong to different genres

Pakistani cinemas had to face a disastrous situation when Indian ban on Pakistani artists in 2016 gave them grave choices with a volatile and unstable Indian partner. Locals also opposed Indian film screenings upon which they depended for most of their revenue since 2007. Censor board also got stricter with distributors losing money when some indian movies were blocked from release.

Pakistan finding homegrown content and finally ruling the box office.

In a way, it is better but still it is like old wine in new bottle..Content is almost same but now our kanjars have performed instead of the foreigners. But the same item-songs and same stories..

People go to cinema's for entertainment, they will still go if Indian films are banned for good. It's the cinema owners own greed that they counterfactually cite a ban on Indian films "a death sentence to local cinema's." Pakistani films need a breathing space, all industries do and protectionism has been prevelant practice globally. It's only in Pakistan that Mafia's fight to justify their modus operandi.

Pakistan need many more cinema screens in more cities. Right now just 129 screens for a country of 220 million, its a shame. I think with 400-500 screens our industry can reach great heights.

People go to cinema's for entertainment, they will still go if Indian films are banned for good. It's the cinema owners own greed that they counterfactually cite a ban on Indian films "a death sentence to local cinema's." Pakistani films need a breathing space, all industries do and protectionism has been prevelant practice globally. It's only in Pakistan that Mafia's fight to justify their modus operandi.

Now that you have opened up your cinema to true competition albeit with limited number of Indian movies allowed per year, we have to see if your cinema industry will come out with some fine movies.
Even Indians love good movies from across border.

Now that you have opened up your cinema to true competition albeit with limited number of Indian movies allowed per year, we have to see if your cinema industry will come out with some fine movies.
Even Indians love good movies from across border.
Pakistani movies don't get screening rights in India. It isn't a fair competition, Indian industry is well grounded and despite Pakistani industry being in infacy, Indian content is allowed here.

Blame yourself for that. You know the reason. But we have access to Youtube to watch your movies.

Nobody, at least the government has explicitly banned any Pakistani movie in India. It is just because there are no takers/distributes here for those movies as I can see. It doesn't matter however good your product may be, there is something called marketing and I can see you guys fail miserably on that front at least in India. :(

Find some good distribution house, spend some money on good marketing and then compete with Indian films, not just bollywood rather the regional language films as well. :-)

FYI, I've seen the movie BOL few years back in the theater here. So India doesn't allow Pakistani movie to be screened is a myth. Most of your guys never tried to tap in the Indian Market. :(

Khuda kay bandon koi kyun nahi bolta kay humari films bhi utni hi vulgar hen jitni bollywood ki.
Kis taraf lay kay jana hai future generations ko?
Sab paghal huay ja rahay hen kay apna cinema revive ho raha hai..
Bollywood wali begairti made in Pakistan kar k kia karnaama kia hai??

Pak needs to ban the Indian movies ASAP....

Will that help ??? I guess no.

Pakistan had tried that back during the Zia era. And in turn it was the Pakistani film industry that nosedive during and after that period. FYI, you need competition to fine tune and improve your work, it ain't get better in isolation.

Moreover in this age of Internet and data revolution, Indian films especially Bollywood will eventually find its way into more Pakistani living rooms. So why not ban the Internet all together. :o:

@war&peace

Recently released 4 Pakistani movies in cinemas don't have any item songs or bollywood vulgarity.

@Tom M

Please don't say bullcrap here most of us know what happens to Pakistani movies and why they are'nt screened in india . Near elections some hindu terrorist group with mass murdering background like MNS or Shiv Sena threatened distributor to withdraw the movie from the circuit, what happened to film Bin roye in 2015. PAkistani movies have released in India in 2008 and 2011, and done well.View attachment 494957

Compared to recent Indian content, Pakistani movies are way better in performance not only in Pakistan but abroad as well. Many indian expatriates also watch Pakistani movies in UAE and UK.
According to indian box office website, in UK, Pakistani movies are doing more business than 2 newly released indian movies which have advantage over Pakistani, with more screens [Akshay Kumar's Gold with 86 screens in 1st week].

Untitled.jpg

@war&peace

Recently released 4 Pakistani movies in cinemas don't have any item songs or bollywood vulgarity.

@Tom M

Please don't say bullcrap here most of us know what happens to Pakistani movies and why they are'nt screened in india . Near elections some hindu terrorist group with mass murdering background like MNS or Shiv Sena threatened distributor to withdraw the movie from the circuit, what happened to film Bin roye in 2015. PAkistani movies have released in India in 2008 and 2011, and done well.View attachment 494957

Compared to recent Indian content, Pakistani movies are way better in performance not only in Pakistan but abroad as well. Many indian expatriates also watch Pakistani movies in UAE and UK.
According to indian box office website, in UK, Pakistani movies are doing more business than 2 newly released indian movies which have advantage over Pakistani, with more screens [Akshay Kumar's Gold with 86 screens in 1st week].

View attachment 494959
:victory::pakistan: