Pakistan economy can double to $700 billion by following 'Bangladesh model'

Why do you lot live on a Pakistani forum and abuse Pakistanis, create insulting threads, compare BD Pakistan daily?

Looks like you are staring in the mirror for the first time.

Well for your edification, this is now an international forum - initially created by some Pakistanis to discuss Pakistani defense (and later other) Pakistani issues.

Nowadays there are a lot more issues discussed here other than Pakistan Defense topics which is of interest to others. The mods would not have created those Indian and Bangladeshi sub-forums (object of so much hatred by some immature Pakistanis) if they did not think those sub-forums were important and if they wanted to limit discussion to Pakistan only.

Nowadays this forum does not even belong to Pakistanis only (as far as I know), although a large number of posters are Pakistani. Please prove me wrong. Or ban people from other countries posting here. It is a pathetic situation for semi-educated subcontinentals that if they see a Pakistani name (like PDF), they start claiming 'Mera huq aur mera khabardari' because 'Yeh hai mera Baap ka Zemindari'. The feudal mentality persists for some in 2019.

The article posted to start this thread was meant to generate sober/well-considered discussion for the betterment of Pakistan and if the lessons of the last three decades learned in Bangladesh can be emulated for improving the situation in Pakistan.

Instead (much to my amazement) some immature thin-skinned Pakistanis have taken this as an insult and tried to return the favor. Go ask any educated Pakistani over the age of forty if they'd like to make some changes in Pakistan right now. From watching Pakistani TV shows and the like, the judgment is pretty much unanimous - that Bangladesh did certain things right and there are lessons Pakistan needs to take from it. There are also things (defence-wise) Bangladesh has learned from Pakistan and will continue to learn. Why is this such a big deal?

The article posted at the outset was posted from a PAKISTANI news outlet, not a Bangladeshi one.

The call to emulate Bangladesh came from one of the top business leaders in Pakistan - who has a lot more at stake business-wise than some of the snot-nosed semi-educated immature folks who are crying about the 'izzat' of Pakistan here. These 'izzat-wallahs' (some of them have almost nothing at stake money or intellect wise to save Pakistan) could not reason their way out of a paper bag if you asked them to.

Every person (including Bangladeshis) posting here creates page-views which are important to the existence of this forum, because it depends on ad-revenue. Those of us in first world countries, probably more, because of higher per-capita income.

I am tired of drilling this into the head of every self-aggrandizing noob that comes along that thinks that non-Pakistanis are somehow second class posters. Here's a news flash - non-Pakistanis are doing you a favor by being here. There is no dearth of reasoned intelligent Bangladeshi folks wanting to discuss defense issues and PDF (as far as I know) is glad to have them here.

If this forum is for Pakistanis only, then let the mods delete the other subforums (including the Bangladesh forum). Please go suggest this to the mods. I will gladly go away if they ask me to.

It is sobering to me that not one Pakistani asked what Bangladesh did right in the last three decades. There was certainly more than being the 'Vassal of India', if the Vassal is now doing better in some cases, than the master.

And for that matter - I suggest to the mods doing a two-tier membership system here (paid and unpaid). I really have no problem paying dues for membership and getting additional privileges if offered (though I have no idea what those are).

Slowly we should make membership at PDF a paid system - too much noise from undesirables to discuss things in peaceful manner.

It is sobering to me that not one Pakistani asked what Bangladesh did right in the last three decades.

That's because there really isnt much to it.

Grovel to everyone outside that you can (LDC freebies etc)....fake your numbers inside as much as you can get away with. The latest example being the elections in the two countries.....one a 95% STRONK mandate, the other quite competitive (as one would expect in a more mature, transparent country).

Its quite astonishing that after what Pakistan has been through, they still have invested more than 5 times per capita outside their borders than you lot have.

Why is that important? Because thats stuff other 3rd parties physically acknowledge....no govt feel-good BS in between at all.

Also quite telling where Pakistan stands in the corruption index compared to you lot....also very correlated to the lower dissonance between their internal numbers and vetted performance in 3rd party fully external metrics.

That's what your people said in 2013 too...
Those 'people' were political workers/activists who had confidence in corrupts and liars. Though I myself, not a political worker/activist of any political party but I have hope in IK that he will be able to steer the Pakistan from present economical situation - In-Shaa-Allah.

Who the hell is "Jahangir Akhtar".? and how is he qualified to make any comments and what Bangladesh model is he talking about?

As I said earlier no Bangladeshis need to go poorer and filthy Indian states compared to Bangladesh.
Give it a rest friend, why are you adding fuel to fire. Both of us know about the state of our respective countries 30 years back. This comparison of the GDPs of BD, Assam and India makes no sense in the historical scheme of things.

@Riyaz Syed control your language
We do not tolerate insults to another nation

@Atlas @Homo Sapiens kindly dont reply to him or we will be forced to reprimand you too...next time call a mod if things get out of hand instead of attacking the member (even if he is wrong) because attacking members is an offense here!

I guess he is using fake Muslim name and using it as a cover!!

Give it a rest friend, why are you adding fuel to fire. Both of us know about the state of our respective countries 30 years back. This comparison of the GDPs of BD, Assam and India makes no sense in the historical scheme of things.

No one denied there are few lakh Bangladeshi Muslim in India. But saying it 7-8 cr or even 2 cr is gross exaggeration.

No one denied there are few lakh Bangladeshi Muslim in India. But saying it 7-8 cr or even 2 cr is gross exaggeration
I agree, but even those few lakh BD muslims should not pose any concern for a country of hugh landmass like India. You must understand that the struggles of the Assamese community against the Bangladeshi immigration is not a religious one, and we generally don't wear our religion on our chests. It therefore hurts us when you bring religion to the fore, calling us go mutra drinkers and all. If you do so, there's nothing else to distinguish you from the Pakistanis. We may have our differences but we want BD to forge ahead farther, that would bode well for our region.

Bigger amount of Bangladeshi muslim are in West Bengal not in Assam. Those of East Bengal descent migrated prior 1947 and part of Assam now.

Even at NRC only 1.2 million has been flagged as Muslim where bulk are woman and children who will be added back. Hardly around 1 lakh or so may be declared as illegal as Bangladeshi Muslim in Assam.

Assam community should focus on Bengali Muslims well being and prosperity otherwise they as a state won’t prosper much.

We don't call the general hindus as "go mutra drinkers". It's the sanghi pigs who start talking shi1t, we respond to them and it is meant to be a mere insult. In the list now we have this new donkey Riyaz Syed.

Even at NRC only 1.2 million has been flagged as Muslim where bulk are woman and children who will be added back. Hardly around 1 lakh or so may be declared as illegal as Bangladeshi Muslim in Assam.
That is a myth, official data is yet to be released. But we don't see the Bengali Hindus complain much, propaganda against NRC is mostly peddled by the Muslims.
Assam community should focus on Bengali Muslims well being and prosperity otherwise they as a state won’t prosper much.
Assamese community comprises of us Assamese, Biharis, Bengalis, Punjabis, Nepalis, Adivasis, why then we only see the Bengalis complaining?

That is a myth, official data is yet to be released. But we don't see the Bengali Hindus complain much, propaganda against NRC is mostly peddled by the Muslims.

Assamese community comprises of us Assamese, Biharis, Bengalis, Punjabis, Nepalis, Adivasis, why then we only see the Bengalis complaining?

Bengali Muslim did not complaint but since independence their condition have not improved. That’s why they should be given priority for improvement as they make up 35% of Assams population that can not be ignored.