Ousted Prime Minister Imran Khan Arrested: News and Discussion

Is Martial Law/Emergency a real possibility after IK arrest?

• Yes

Votes: 145 63.6%
  • No

Votes: 83 36.4%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
Imran made blunders by not reforming our system
@RescueRanger , lo hi nawi gal sun lo.

O bhai, to ye sab keya chal rha he? Abhi wo govt me nhi he to status quo forces are united against him, merely out of fear of what he would do. Do you think he had any room for meaningful change in that shaky coalition govt? We all saw how it ended.

In terms of economic growth and political stability, how did Indonesia fare after Soeharto? Was ur better off or worse off?

Some Pakistanis believe the involvement of the army in the country’s politics is a good thing. It’s a wrong conclusion but one that holds some sway with certain level of the population, even though this segment is becoming a small minority given the recent blunders by the army leadership.

Soekarno main focus is military expansion. Under Soekarno, Indonesia had war with British, Australia, New Zealand, Nepal, Malaysia, and Singapore.

He bombed Singapore 50 times and entered Malaysia territory

He also wanted to make atomic bomb with many Indonesians scientist has already been in Russia. Later many of the scientists become political enemy of Soeharto and many of them keep staying in Russia and others in prison.

---------------------------------------

Soeharto see economy and industrialization as his main focus. He uses best Indonesian economist from Barkeley, USA and calling BJ Habibie who at the time was Vice President of German Aerospace Company.

He makes ASEAN with other SEA leaders and make peace with Indonesia neighbor. He aligned with USA and become anti-communist force in SEA.

Majority of foreign investment comes from Japan during Soeharto period.

I would say in term of developing a nation, Soeharto is much better than Soekarno. Soekarno is more about taking independence and land expansion. He grabs Papua from Dutch and then tried to get Malaysia and Singapore as well.

------------------------------------

But in 1998 Indonesian people wants democracy and Soeharto resigned after getting the pressure from his own cabinet members and ruling Golkar party who see that the time for Indonesia to embrace democracy has come.

I've been roaming around lahore cantt and observing this total outcome. Protesting is one thing but vandalising public property for some gain is delusional. People especially the lower echelon are getting some hit out of it. Plus there is massive fear of dread and dispair and they're stopping free movement inside the cantt. I went out to get some medication for my mother and I've never felt this much lost. Ajeeb scene hai and it doesn’t make sense what the mob is trying to achieve.

It's my opinion that someone has to step up and take control. IK is not the solution. He'll always agitate and blame someone everytime he's out of power. There's no endgame here.

you must be the armybrat who gave the finger to protesters

@RescueRanger , lo hi nawi gal sun lo.

O bhai, to ye sab keya chal rha he? Abhi wo govt me nhi he to status quo forces are united against him, merely out of fear of what he would do. Do you think he had any room for meaningful change in that shaky coalition govt? We all saw how it ended.
They didn’t even give the poor man a chance, itni phati thi is admi sey. They mocked him when he planted trees( the same scheme that is lauded as an example across the world now).

When he told people to raise chickens to become self sufficient, they laughed at him and called him sheikhchilli, when even in the Bible it says “teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime”.

Narrow minded, pea brained idiots.

poor chap can't handle a second hand wife, how could he reform the whole system?
Agar IK nahi handle kar ska us 2nd wife (Devil's Mistress) ko, te tuhade vi bas da rog ni je. Make no mistake

Allah kolo panah mangni chahi di he, aise makhloq tu bachao di.