NOT VERIFIED: Pakistan Catholics protest after abduction, forced marriage of 13 year-old Catholic girl

At 13, she is incapable of handling a husband the responsibilities of a household, child bearing and rearing. I know many 13 year olds, I recall my own teen / pre-teen years I was well read emotionally mature for my age and yet I could not handle being married.

I can't imagine what man in his right mind would want to marry a 13 year old.:crazy:

As a parent myself I feel for her mom and dad, they've lost five years with their daughter.

Misguided or coerced it doesn't matter - we should all know better, and make the right choice for the thirteen year old.
You're talking to brainwashed people here.

Enforcing the law should be the minimum responsibility of the government. If the girl honestly consented then the marriage should be done in public. The source maybe biased, but it is the responsibility of the government and police to investigate to find out what really happened and enforce the laws on the books.
I'm trying to figure, how a 13 y/o child can willingly consent to marrying a 44 y/o beast.

@Topic...what a symbol of shame Pakistani court system and government attitude is. Shameless to say the least. Jungle rule and lawlessness.

Sickening.

However, I thought there was a minimum legal age for consent to marriage in Pakistan....I can't remember the exact age, but I'm certain it's well above 13!!

So I don't understand how any court ratified this supposed marriage of a 13 year old!
Most likely somebody created forged documents like birth certificate and ID cards to prove already corrupt and foolish courts that the girl is 50y/o or something.

We are quick to blame each other "enemy agent" instead of trying to get rid of such evil practices. No wonder why country is ruled by likes of Nawaz, zardari, billo, altaf, fazlu, etc.

Most likely somebody created forged documents like birth certificate and ID cards to prove already corrupt and foolish courts that the girl is 50y/o or something.

We are quick to blame each other "enemy agent" instead of trying to get rid of such evil practices. No wonder why country is ruled by likes of Nawaz, zardari, billo, altaf, fazlu, etc.
Yes I think you've hit the nail on the head.

Hopefully the state will intervene directly and establish the truth and punish those involved in an obvious case of child abduction. Extremely sad case. The incompetence of the courts is shocking.

At 13, she is incapable of handling a husband the responsibilities of a household, child bearing and rearing. I know many 13 year olds, I recall my own teen / pre-teen years I was well read emotionally mature for my age and yet I could not handle being married.

I can't imagine what man in his right mind would want to marry a 13 year old.:crazy:

As a parent myself I feel for her mom and dad, they've lost five years with their daughter.

Misguided or coerced it doesn't matter - we should all know better, and make the right choice for the thirteen year old.

For argument sake, Let's assume that she is incapable to handle life pressures but that is where the support from the husband will come in. The matured husband will be able to guide her until she gets matured enough. The same thing can happen to a 20 or 30 year girl too. You get experience only once you try it. I know a 5 year old which can ride a bicycle while a 50 year old who cannot as the 50 year old never tried cycling for the fear of getting hurt.

You should have proof or evidence that the decision of taking blood money by the victim's relatives was forced upon them. Accusation without any evidence is simply a invalid statement just create hype.

my two cents ...

the whole concept of blood money is garbage. When you commit a murder of citizen of the state it is a crime against the state - not against the individual, not against the family. It is a dumb law and has to go

For argument sake, Let's assume that she is incapable to handle life pressures but that is where the support from the husband will come in. The matured husband will be able to guide her until she gets matured enough. The same thing can happen to a 20 or 30 year girl too. You get experience only once you try it. I know a 5 year old which can ride a bicycle while a 50 year old who cannot as the 50 year old never tried cycling for the fear of getting hurt.

lol yeah right!! marriage = riding a bike

We already have people on this thread justifying the act saying she's post puberty. This place is a cesspool.

Ek baat batao mere bhai.

Baghair wali ke nikah kese hogaya? Jab uska baap zinda hai tou koi aur wali bhi nahi ban sakta.
Their is a decision on this matter that Wali is not necessary for Nikah meanwhile the same system freed Asiya Masih and then it was a transparent decision however now it is black justice. I can count numerous black decisions of west. Why we as Pakistani Muslims are feeling guilty if the girl has made decision with free will then she along with the guy involved should be protected otherwise as per law the guy should be dealt. No need to create a drama.

Yes.

13 year old girls are not ready for marriage.

Come into the modern world.

This news includes fake information about girl age and statement etc. In this regards India is the worst society in the world . if there is such a single case in Pakistan then there are more than 100 cases in India. All non-Hindu minorities in India, including Muslims, Christians and Sikhs, are victims of Indian state terrorism.

Isn't that surprising, that some here from administration trying hard to endorse that girl was indeed 13!
Completely ignoring the details in legal documents.
Picture is clearly from old print we used to see in 90's.
When parents deliberately shared older picture of their daughter with Christian rights association, they are clearly driving malicious agenda... do we need brain of Einstein to understand this twist?
Yes.

At least in modern Pakistan,... you can't marry any one under 18.

Yes.

Never supporting the 13 years old marriage or the incident. It is painful for any parent if and when in such circumstances their child goes away. But radical ideology is every where , 1st I don't think the girl is 13 Year old secondly if she has got married with free will then state should protect her instead of supporting her family. I am against such marriages even within same religion as per our society norms but parents should also think why their children go against their will. The decision should not be based upon western pressures or Catholic wishes but as per law. If the husband of the girl found guilty he should be dealt with iron hand otherwise people accusing should be dealt harshly. As per my knowledge the judges are not dumb and there should be enough medical proof depicting that age of girl is far above from 13 years.

I don't trust this news
Something seriously wrong with Pakistan society and courts as this is too regular a occurrence. 13 with 44 year old.
And not from some remote village but in the heart of Karachi.
Court allowing legal child abuse on a regular basis.
Shameful.
This. Coming from an Indian is hilarious