Nitin Gadkari moots Rs 90,000 crore underground ring road for Mumbai

The Huskar

MUMBAI: The Centre is planning to construct a tunnel ring road in the city that can be linked to the proposed Ahmedabad-Mumbai highway.

The cost of the tunnel ring road project, as per initial estimates, is around Rs 90,000 crore.

"To improve connectivity and at the same time ensure that the scenic beauty of the city is not disturbed while creating bridges and roads, we are considering building a tunnel road that would go up to the proposed Ahmedabad-Mumbai highway," Union Road and Transport Minister Nitin Gadkari said here over the weekend.

He said the highway project, which has been on the back burner as there is a new proposal for a Surat-Mumbai elevated road, will be revived.

"We have carried out the feasibility study and also decided the alignment of the Surat-Mumbai highway. But it is still not finalised whether we will go ahead with the project or not. In meanwhile, we are also thinking about creating a tunnel ring road that will go up to the pending proposal of Ahmedabad-Mumbai highway," he said.

Gadkari said the idea of the tunnel road came to him when he visited Holland. "I saw the tunnel connecting Notre Dame to Belgium and this gave me the idea of constructing a tunnel road in the city," the minister said.

One section of the proposed tunnel road would start from the Mahim Creek in the central part of the city and connect the Bandra-Worli Sealink on the western fringe and connect also connect Nariman Point in the south.

Another section will begin from Sewre on the eastern periphery of the island city and extend undersea to connect the JNPT at Nhava Seva across the bay and will also connect the Mumbai Port on the eastern cost. The road will enjoin the proposed Mumbai-Ahmedabad highway from Bhayandhar on the northwestern periphery of the city, he said

Gadkari further said initial estimate on the cost of construction is around Rs 90,000 crore and said fund is not an issue. But he was quick to add that bringing down the cost is a priority and accordingly the government will be appointing a consultant for this.

"We are studying ways to ensure the cost comes down to at least Rs 60,000 crore," he added.

He also assured that necessary assistance from the government side would be provided to make the project financially viable.

Another scheme by Gadkari to milch the tax payers money into his own coffers...this person is corrupt to the core

What a damn waste - a $13 billion internal road in Mumbai?

For that amount they can freaking run bullet train Mumbai-Ahmedabad route.
Or create a new 8 lane expressway for hundreds of kilometers

If the road is important they can bloody well build it overground - on pillars. The cost will be less than half of that of an underground road.

Gadkari is a corrupt but efficient minister.
Still miles better than Congress :D

Yaar 10 lakh ki road mere ghar ke paass bhi banwa do :P .... Why they don't pump this massive amount on DMIC project or develop other 3 tier cities ?

What a damn waste - a $13 billion internal road in Mumbai?

For that amount they can freaking run bullet train Mumbai-Ahmedabad route.
Or create a new 8 lane expressway for hundreds of kilometers

If the road is important they can bloody well build it overground - on pillars. The cost will be less than half of that of an underground road.

GDP is Mumbai is close to 300 billion.
I don't think Ministry of Transport is full of retards so as to entertain an idea if it does not make atleast some sense.
Hopefully they will take best decision for Mumbai, and India.
You are welcome to file a PIL if you want.

MUMBAI: The Centre is planning to construct a tunnel ring road in the city that can be linked to the proposed Ahmedabad-Mumbai highway.

The cost of the tunnel ring road project, as per initial estimates, is around Rs 90,000 crore.

"To improve connectivity and at the same time ensure that the scenic beauty of the city is not disturbed while creating bridges and roads, we are considering building a tunnel road that would go up to the proposed Ahmedabad-Mumbai highway," Union Road and Transport Minister Nitin Gadkari said here over the weekend.

He said the highway project, which has been on the back burner as there is a new proposal for a Surat-Mumbai elevated road, will be revived.

"We have carried out the feasibility study and also decided the alignment of the Surat-Mumbai highway. But it is still not finalised whether we will go ahead with the project or not. In meanwhile, we are also thinking about creating a tunnel ring road that will go up to the pending proposal of Ahmedabad-Mumbai highway," he said.

Gadkari said the idea of the tunnel road came to him when he visited Holland. "I saw the tunnel connecting Notre Dame to Belgium and this gave me the idea of constructing a tunnel road in the city," the minister said.

One section of the proposed tunnel road would start from the Mahim Creek in the central part of the city and connect the Bandra-Worli Sealink on the western fringe and connect also connect Nariman Point in the south.

Another section will begin from Sewre on the eastern periphery of the island city and extend undersea to connect the JNPT at Nhava Seva across the bay and will also connect the Mumbai Port on the eastern cost. The road will enjoin the proposed Mumbai-Ahmedabad highway from Bhayandhar on the northwestern periphery of the city, he said

Gadkari further said initial estimate on the cost of construction is around Rs 90,000 crore and said fund is not an issue. But he was quick to add that bringing down the cost is a priority and accordingly the government will be appointing a consultant for this.

"We are studying ways to ensure the cost comes down to at least Rs 60,000 crore," he added.

He also assured that necessary assistance from the government side would be provided to make the project financially viable.

$14.37 billion for a ring road!:o::o::o:

Ye Gadkari bavda ho gaya hai kya?

GDP is Mumbai is close to 300 billion.
I don't think Ministry of Transport is full of retards so as to entertain an idea if it does not make atleast some sense.
Hopefully they will take best decision for Mumbai, and India.
You are welcome to file a PIL if you want.
I will if they decide to build a $13 billion internal road.
Just so that you know - the GDP of Mumbai is not by virtue of creating wealth there. Its because most companies that sell products all over India, declare their taxes from Mumbai.

If tomorrow, they shift to Kanpur in UP, Kanpur's GDP will also be atleast $250 billion.

Politicians dont necessarily take the decisions in the best interests of the country, they tend to look at their agendas like areas where they are popular from or their constituencies and all.

$14.37 billion for a ring road!:o::o::o:

Ye Gadkari bavda ho gaya hai kya?
I don't think this idea is quite plausible.Making a stretch of underground road means closing off the entire section until the tunnel roof is axially secured.Too much waste and nightmarish traffic congestion.

They should build overhead flyovers over the city if they want.. I really don want precious money to be so wasted like this...

Gadkari has great ideas for Indian infra. Mumbai really needs world class expressways and highways. Problem of land crunch may be overcome by undergound roads. Boston has the biggest underground road network.

I don't think this idea is quite plausible.Making a stretch of underground road means closing off the entire section until the tunnel roof is axially secured.Too much waste and nightmarish traffic congestion.
Is this true? I don't think they did this with the Delhi Metro's underground stretches.

I think it is a great idea.
The requirement for larger, better and faster transport is only going to increase in India. We are looking to lift the economy and become a manufacturing hub. This does call for innovative thinking.
Demolishing existing buildings is only going to increase friction between people and the government.

It is the responsibility of the leaders to look ahead decades and do what is needed for us to face challenges that will most certainly hit us then.

I find the nay sayers to be thinking only in short term.

Ofcourse corruption must be stopped and money must be spent where it gives maximum benefit. But not discussing ideas is stupid.

first reclaim large amount of un-used land from army, dharawi and chawls...so tat the prices can come down...then this road will not even cost a billion

Is this true? I don't think they did this with the Delhi Metro's underground stretches.
It's actually the standard protocol followed during underground construction.The crust of the area under which the tunnel is being burrowed has to be relieved of all kinds of live loads until proper axial pressure safeguards are in place.This is mainly done to prevent the roof cave-in situations.