New Taxes Will Kill Digital TV in Pakistan Before It Becomes Mainstream

Current fbr chief is incapable and I blame him for odds as ik not interfere and makes policy and fbr chief is making bad policies and trying to benefit his tax clients,he has no vision and seems corrupt

we have DTH box in our home for the last 3 years now and most of my friends and families have it too...

Current fbr chief is incapable and I blame him for odds as ik not interfere and makes policy and fbr chief is making bad policies and trying to benefit his tax clients,he has no vision and seems corrupt

FBR chief cannot and shouldn't do anything illegal. He can implement whatever is in the income tax laws and nothing outside it, if there are loopholes in the law, that is not his fault. His role remains within the ambit of applicable tax laws.

Come back to Pakistan and pay all those taxes in Pakistan ........ contribute to Riyasat e Medina foundation laying. Why do you wish to continue living such a miserable hard life there? Come life is easy in Pakistan and Pakistan needs you and your genius methods and advises ............ the minimum wage in Pakistan has been raised to PKR 17,500 from PKR 16,500 ...... i.e. 147 Canadian dollars a month.

And if you can't then stop telling us what you pay and what you don't pay in PKR in Canada........ why should a Pakistani living in Pakistan should be interested in a Canadian resident who so conveniently ignored the exchange rate of PKR 119.25 / CAD.

That is CAD 333

That is CAD 416

And that is CAD 1.35 / liter

Do I now compare the purchasing power?
Yar in expats sei argue karnei ka koei faida ni. These people opinions are so fucking stupid because they are so out of touch with reality.

we have DTH box in our home for the last 3 years now and most of my friends and families have it too...
The illegal ones. Because no company in Pakistan officially sells DTH boxes or services.

Yar in expats sei argue karnei ka koei faida ni. These people opinions are so fucking stupid because they are so out of touch with reality.

Bat faiday ki hay he nai hy, bat realisation ki hy ........ mostly they get their information on Pakistan from stupid tv talk shows.

The illegal ones. Because no company in Pakistan officially sells DTH boxes or services.
lol you are not in Pakistan pls get knowledge......it was officially announced by Pakistan govt in 2015 for all citizens to convert on digital boxes or else their connection will be stopped.

https://propakistani.pk/2016/02/15/...tan-to-be-converted-to-digital-within-a-year/

and what do u think how Pakistani channels are opening HD channels.

lol you are not in Pakistan pls get knowledge......it was officially announced by Pakistan govt in 2015 for all citizens to convert on digital boxes or else their connection will be stopped.

https://propakistani.pk/2016/02/15/...tan-to-be-converted-to-digital-within-a-year/

Abey dakhan admi jinko license mila tha kabi unki website par ja, they haven't launched DTH yet. DTH abi tak launch ni hoa pakistan mei.

Jo tumarei ghar mei aur jo tumarei dosto kei paas DTH parein hain woh illegal hain most likely of indian company.

Mujei lag rha hai you are talking about digital boxes, even the article is. DTH unke paas hota hai jinke ghar kei upar satellite lagi ho. Kya tumarei ghar kei upar hai? Is tarah tou merei bi ghar mei pakistan mein trans world ka digital box hai jispe 200 channels aatei hain all in SD quality.

See this link: https://pakistandth.com/

DTH abi tak launch ni hoa Pakistan mei. Kisko bewakoof bna rha hai.

I live in Canada, which has some of the highest taxes in the world. We literally get taxed for paying taxes. Our internet prices are also one of the highest in the world, and for shit speeds, same with our phone Bill's; just as an example, I pay my home phone, internet and TV for almost 40,000 PKR a MONTH. I also have to pay almost 50,000 in car insurance a month. Now our government is forcing through a carbon tax, which have skyrocketed gas prices to 162.16 PKR PER LITER, and we produce our own gas!

Don't speak as if we're living a life of luxury, just because we're not living in Pakistan.

Besides, I'm not saying I agree with him, but attacking expats, instead of addressing the points isn't a good way to make an argument, you're just being dismissive.
Salary bhi pata dain so we can compare the middle class wages here as well?

The amount isn't really that relevant. My point was that paying taxes, even high taxes, can bring benefits. Those high taxes have brought universal healthcare, and social safety nets for Canadians who are poor, such as, but not limited to, unemployment coverage, and disability coverage.
On a side note;

A poor man in Canada is classified as anyone who makes less than 2000 dollars a month.

A poor man in Pakistan is classified as anyone who makes less than 90ish dollars a month.

What matters is purchasing power.

While I won't tell you what I make, I can tell you that I'm by no means well of, nor wealthy.

I can barely afford to pay my rent, but that I'm not poor either.

Come back to Pakistan and pay all those taxes in Pakistan ........ contribute to Riyasat e Medina foundation laying. Why do you wish to continue living such a miserable hard life there? Come life is easy in Pakistan and Pakistan needs you and your genius methods and advises ............ the minimum wage in Pakistan has been raised to PKR 17,500 from PKR 16,500 ...... i.e. 147 Canadian dollars a month.
It seems that in your foolish rant, you've completely dismissed my point, instead choosing to foolishly attack me directly.

This is the problem with Pakistanis like you. You want an end to corruption, and want Pakistan to become rich, but you don't want to contribute anything to its success.

As for my "genius methods and advises", what methods and advises? All I've done is agree with what the government of Pakistan is doing. Why are you stupidly trying to attribute that to me?

As for why I dont move back to Pakistan? Why should I? I may not be living a life of luxury, but because taxes are paid here, life is significantly better because the government can afford to spend more money on social safety nets (precisely because taxes are paid).

You trying to guilt trip me has only gone to prove my point. Pay your taxes, and you can probably make Pakistan even richer than Canada.

Besides,I've said this ever since I joined the forum. My sympathy is with Pakistan, but as a proud Canadian citizen, my loyalty is with Canada.

And if you can't then stop telling us what you pay and what you don't pay in PKR in Canada........ why should a Pakistani living in Pakistan should be interested in a Canadian resident who so conveniently ignored the exchange rate of PKR 119.25 / CAD.

First off, I didn't ignore the exchange rate, I gave my answers in PKR to give a better understanding of the financial situation in Canada. If I ignored the exchange rate, I'd be giving my answers in CAD, not PKR.

But you go ahead and pretend otherwise.

Learn from the past, as well as other countries, if you do not, than Pakistan is simply going to go bankrupt. In other words, dont be like Veruca Salt.

That is CAD 333

That is CAD 416

And that is CAD 1.35 / liter

Your point? I reiterate once again, my use of PKR was to give a better understanding to the person I was replying to.

Do I now compare the purchasing power?
You do that, but you would once again be missing my point.

Instead of addressing the point that paying taxes can result in a stronger economy, you've instead foolishly chosen to pick a personal fight with me.

After decades of tolerating corruption, and not paying taxes, what did you expect would happen to Pakistan?

There is a reason why even the army is backing these measures.

@Oscar @Nilgiri
Your thoughts would be appreciated here.

Is there no digital TV broadcasts in Pak - meaning OTA?

Alberta has only 5% :D And we enjoy the cheapest gas. Though will be moving back to Ont pretty soon. Honestly Canadian politics is in a way very similar to back home with its hypocritical environmental politics....
Dont move back before Doug Ford is out of office. He's made things far worse.

@Oscar @Nilgiri
Your thoughts would be appreciated here.

Any system gets out what it puts in. Energy and matter can neither be produced nor destroyed (only transferred into usefulness (order) or non-usefulness (disorder) which we can call broadly as "wealth"/"poverty" in the economic realm)....so it becomes a case of how best to evaluate and make use of the entropy (order vs disorder) present in a system. Ideally you want to reward and encourage order and discourage disorder....and most ideally build something that does this with self-growing inertia over time so its not sensitive to regular perturbations found in any society's typical churn.

Simply put, Pakistan (esp. elites with power and responsibility) has not done well relative to others on this entropy management, prioritisation and creating machinery that can do this on autopilot with resilience... thus it now has to pay its debts from kicking this can this long.....either to get back into a (more reasonable) state where it can then keep kicking the can again......or reverse this habit all together....or some combination of both.

Now how much effective rewarding of disorder and punishment of order must a society tolerate (in some argued interim) for the vision of the greater good and long-run vested into a power structure that proposes it will be different compared to the previous?. It is after all reverse of the ideal, but brought about (above the surface and directly) because of a long time engaging in such in more sub-stratum way....to make the surface look better.

That is essentially the case the current Pakistan govt policy is finding out with these low hanging fruit taxes at expense of the high hanging (but much more long term rewarding) fruit systemic bureaucratic reform+common rule of law application...which it rather proposes to achieve long term. How and if its achieved, we will have to wait and see.

The thing is low hanging fruit is easy to go for.....but they are in view and reach (and easy judgement) of everyone else as well, and you inevitably leave less for them to pick over time....so there is only so long you can do it within the argument balance (I need to, to be able to go for the big stuff you cannot..and help everyone, but especially you in the end) you propose....as there is only so much everyone will tolerate in the end till you say you have finally taken your fill on it so you could expend the energy on the high hanging stuff where it really matters (and they can then judge you on delivering that stuff from the higher reaches out of their view).

They will also be extra mad if they deem (in the past, present or future) that you never needed this low hanging fruit to begin with....and you are in the branches already and could go for the high hanging stuff right away.

This (esp perception of this balance for govt/elites role, scope and performance vs the larger public needs and grievances) all varies from country to country....and is quite complicated and simple at same time. Simple in basic concept of it....but complex in how people form opinion on it in their personal innate sense of morality, fairness and justice.

@Oscar @MUSTAKSHAF @waz @Shahzaz ud din @TheDarkKnight @N.Siddiqui @farhan_9909 @Chak Bamu @VCheng @Arsalan