Naya Pakistan - Solar Power Rickshaws

There's nothing and No invention . This Idea will die faster than gastrotrich on cost-to-benefit analysis . every now and then Indians and Pakistanis come up with such Hot air ideas every now and then which has been discarded and dumped long back .

Here's a Detailed Research Paper from IIT Bangalore published in 2003 which concluded that Solar powered 3 wheeler will cost 30 percent more than normal 3 Wheeler . Apart from that there are many other considerations as well .

http://www.iitb.ac.in/~es/news/itpse03/casestudies/casestudy5.pdf

Solar tech is getting better every year, we are a decade on from 2003 now. I do agree with what you have said, but i believe in clean energy future.

@Roybot .. stop posting objective information which stops our bickering.. you are like google on mobile ... there is no proper argument now a days because somebody can search it on mobile and show answer..

ghor kalyug.. :cry:

imo, this is a very good start.
having f16s and sukhois are no doubt important but grass root level development such as these make the lives of ordinary ppl a little less miserable.
india should follow this example, and with some jugaad , we can come up with simple solutions which benefit the grassroots levels more directly.

if you are an engineer then only can you realize and say "This is B.S"

Yep thats all we are saying. Credit should have be given, thats the norm.

Besides this news in from December 2012 anyways, when KPK still had the old government, don't know why we discussing this now?

If it had to materialize it would have by now?

I don't know about that, in India its going on for a few years... But its something anybody can do on a personal level. So all the KPK government can do is support the paradigm shift by introducing tax breaks, "one free service per year" type programs.

Also other countries have made cheaper solar 3 seat cars, which can serve the same purpose. Allow it to be imported without duty - but import becomes a federal thing.

Using file photos of equipment for reference like solar this and solar that is NOT plagirism. Its just to inform the readers about the said idea and the product how it could look like.

It is, if not accredited and called out...

I don't know about that, in India its going on for a few years... But its something anybody can do on a personal level. So all the KPK government can do is support the paradigm shift by introducing tax breaks, "one free service per year" type programs.

Also other countries have made cheaper solar 3 seat cars, which can serve the same purpose. Allow it to be imported without duty - but import becomes a federal thing.

I don't know about any commercially available solar powered cars. Just plonking solar panels on top of a car/auto rickshaw isn't innovation and doesn't make business sense and will not be commercially viable.

I am willing to bet that the M/s United Services International Group (USIG) of Lahore which apparently, "developed the technology through collaborative research" is an importer of cheap solar panels and this is just a gimmick to get some tax rebates/concessions out of the government for their own monetary gains. Its like a solar panel mafia, the market is flooded with cheap solar panels and you ll see people pulling all sorts of tricks to get more and more business.

A Solar electric system like Mahindra Reva E2O might be a way forward though and something your government can look into/ draw inspiration from.

revafinal--621x414.JPG

The solar charging panels at the Mahindra Reva plant in Bommasandra, Bangalore. Photo: Aniruddha Chowdhury/Mint.

reva4--621x414.jpg

The four solar panels that charge the E2O—the panels can be arranged in any way, across different parts of the home.

reva5--621x414.jpg

The E2O plant generates 35% of its energy requirements using solar panels on campus.

You make a decent electric car, and use solar panels to charge it. Cause once again driving around with solar panels on top of the roof is just not feasible.

Meet the E2O - Livemint || India’s first connected and intelligent solar powered passenger car is ready to roll out

Its just not feasible.. Guys think even the best MNCs can't come up with a car which has around 100 miles range, that too with using the expensive li-ion batteries, which would cost 4-5 lakhs min in PKR. This will operate on 5 general household batteries, and will have range of hardly 50 Kms. Meaning that the auto will be useless after 1 or 2 passengers fairies(in 1/2 hours). Then it will need 10 hours to recharge from electric line. Forget about charging it from solar panels(it will take atlast 2-3 days to charge all the batteries, when always in sun). It might be good if autowala is expecting only 4-5 time service in a day and running in between 2 places, where they have the facility to charge.

Also If my guess is right then 5 batteries in Pakistan will easily cost around 75000/-. And these battereies have very low life when used extensively(hardly 1-1500 times of recharge cycle). And for vehicle purpose these batteries will be useless in max 1-1.5 year as battery performance reduces, range will reduce dramatically(can be sold for house purpose, but that will not fetch much money). Meaning you also need to replace the expensive batteries every year or so.

I was just pointing out the image that has been used in the article. Now settle down.

Lets not discuss the picture, plagiarism, etc. Discuss the content of the article, pictures are just fillers for most websites.

If India failed to produce that rikshaw, doesn't mean these guys are copying the same failure.

Move on.