Nalanda University reopens after hundreds of years!

One thing I personally do not appreciate about Buddha. Buddha left his wife and son (why did he married in the first place?), @levina @Indrani @Chinese-Dragon @Nihonjin1051 @Gibbs @Indischer @Skull and Bones @SarthakGanguly @scorpionx @Ravi Nair @Bang Galore @sreekumar

This is very interesting and my educated guess would be that sacrifice is part of the theological virtues , be it in regards to the Dharmic religions of Hinduism and Buddhism, to the Abrhamic religions of Judaism, Christianity and Islam. As for Buddha's decision to leave his wife and son, it is part of the concept of dying to the world , the liberation theology of meditation and internal reflection to finding one-ness with the Divine. One can make a comparative analysis of how the Prophet John the Baptist left the material world and focused on baptizing hebrews and heralding the coming of the Messiah as for in all tense and purposes he lived a rather ascetic life, eating from honey bees, insects, and wild berries, or from the food that pilgrims offered. One can also say that the decision of St. Peter, the first Apostle of Christ, to leave his family behind and to follow Christ was an example of the same sacrifice of Buddha who decided to leave his wife and children. Or if we refer to the life of Prophet Jeremiah who, too, took up an ascetic life and focused on prayer and in personal communion with the Almighty. There seems to be an emphasis of sacrifice and "dying" to the world of materialism and possession in many of the leaders of world religions.

I have read every page of this thread till now. But no body has said anything about Ashok the Great who spread Buddhism throughout Asia by sending his son and daughter (one to Srilanka and one to Japan). It is said that he changed from Chandashok to Dharmashok after he won battle of Kalinga and was at pain to see so much bloodshed and after that he met Buddha or his disciple (I do not know) under whose teaching he changed completely. But for him Buddhism would not have spread like this.

Also another interesting thing is that we have a tooth of Buddha in our Museum at Bhubaneswar. Some body please clarify if tooth can have DNA of a person. If yest then we can scan among billions of people to see if someone is carrying the same DNA, as Lord Buddha also had a son.

One thing I personally do not appreciate about Buddha. Buddha left his wife and son (why did he married in the first place?), @levina @Indrani @Chinese-Dragon @Nihonjin1051 @Gibbs @Indischer @Skull and Bones @SarthakGanguly @scorpionx @Ravi Nair @Bang Galore @sreekumar

Yes DNA is found in tooth.And this is how it can be used
"Ancient tooth DNA sheds light on origins of Arctic peoples".

And Ashoka did help in spreading Buddhism.But had the religion and its teachings not been so liberal then I dont think ppl would have accepted it so well.

Hindu pandits are Dhars and Bhat while muslims are Dar and Bhatt. Isnt it??

Chalo I wont derail this thread.:disagree:

Read my post #367 so that your mind is cleared as far as Dar tribe is concerned.

Kanjars like jbond aside I think Pakistan could have done the same thing with Taxila but I think there is an ordinance factory in the area or something

Lo aa gya, Arabon ka khoon. Punjabi bolne wala Arabi Syed!! Apne bloodline ka ata pta nahi doosre ko kanjar bolta hai.. Lol..

This is very interesting and my educated guess would be that sacrifice is part of the theological virtues , be it in regards to the Dharmic religions of Hinduism and Buddhism, to the Abrhamic religions of Judaism, Christianity and Islam. As for Buddha's decision to leave his wife and son, it is part of the concept of dying to the world , the liberation theology of meditation and internal reflection to finding one-ness with the Divine. One can make a comparative analysis of how the Prophet John the Baptist left the material world and focused on baptizing hebrews and heralding the coming of the Messiah as for in all tense and purposes he lived a rather ascetic life, eating from honey bees, insects, and wild berries, or from the food that pilgrims offered. One can also say that the decision of St. Peter, the first Apostle of Christ, to leave his family behind and to follow Christ was an example of the same sacrifice of Buddha who decided to leave his wife and children. Or if we refer to the life of Prophet Jeremiah who, too, took up an ascetic life and focused on prayer and in personal communion with the Almighty. There seems to be an emphasis of sacrifice and "dying" to the world of materialism and possession in many of the leaders of world religions.

But in Islam .. It is your duty to protect your family ... And fulfill the rights of your wife etc..

For example .. Once the companions o the Prophet Mohammad PBUH ... Left his wife n family in order to "seek Gods love etc... The Prophet ordered him that if he wanted to seek God's love than return to their families n fulfill their rights as it is equal to Meditation or prayer in eyes of God..

You have also probably hear Prophet Ibrahim's (Abraham) story aswell .. Where God replaced his son with a Ram or goat ?

I have read every page of this thread till now. But no body has said anything about Ashok the Great who spread Buddhism throughout Asia by sending his son and daughter (one to Srilanka and one to Japan). It is said that he changed from Chandashok to Dharmashok after he won battle of Kalinga and was at pain to see so much bloodshed and after that he met Buddha or his disciple (I do not know) under whose teaching he changed completely. But for him Buddhism would not have spread like this.

Also another interesting thing is that we have a tooth of Buddha in our Museum at Bhubaneswar. Some body please clarify if tooth can have DNA of a person. If yest then we can scan among billions of people to see if someone is carrying the same DNA, as Lord Buddha also had a son.

Ashoka gave a lot contribution for Buddhism.The expansion of Buddhism in our parts of area is because of Ashoka .
When it comes to Buddhism Ashoka has a prominent place like that of Buddha.
I think DNA can findout from tooth.But decoding and scanning of that DNA will next to impossible job.1 billion people is not enough we dont know whether his descendants found a way to East Asia or their presence in Nepal .

Lo aa gya, Arabon ka khoon. Punjabi bolne wala Arabi Syed!! Apne bloodline ka ata pta nahi doosre ko kanjar bolta hai.. Lol..

So was Bullay shah n Waris shah .. Both were punjabi Sufi saints with Arab background .. And inspired no just Muslims but even Sikhs n Hindus ..

And not many claim to be Arabs .. Syeds can be found in every country even in Kazakhstan .. They are the descendants of preachers n saints who spread Islam ..

But an ignorant fool like yourself wouldn't understand it ... Im a Baluch.. Son of the soil.. My ancestors were pagans .. Probably Zoroastians.. I'm muslim and proud of them.

But in Islam .. It is your duty to protect your family ... And fulfill the rights of your wife etc..

For example .. Once the companions o the Prophet Mohammad PBUH ... Left his wife n family in order to "seek Gods love etc... The Prophet ordered him that if he wanted to seek God's love than return to their families n fulfill their rights as it is equal to Meditation or prayer in eyes of God..

You have also probably hear Prophet Ibrahim's (Abraham) story aswell .. Where God replaced his son with a Ram or goat ?

Dont deviate that much from the topic .Thread is about Nalanda University and contribution of Buddhism for that university,not Islamic studies.

I have read every page of this thread till now. But no body has said anything about Ashok the Great who spread Buddhism throughout Asia by sending his son and daughter (one to Srilanka and one to Japan).
Ashoka also sent missionaries to europe. One edict of ashoka prove this fact
Now it is conquest by Dhamma that Beloved-of-the-Gods considers to be the best conquest. And it [conquest by Dhamma] has been won here, on the borders, even six hundred yojanas away, where the Greek king Antiochos rules, beyond there where the four kings named Ptolemy, Antigonos, Magas and Alexander rule, likewise in the south among the Cholas, the Pandyas, and as far as Tamraparni. Rock Edict Nb13 (S. Dhammika)

So was Bullay shah n Waris shah .. Both were punjabi Sufi saints with Arab background .. And inspired no just Muslims but even Sikhs n Hindus ..

And not many claim to be Arabs .. Syeds can be found in every country even in Kazakhstan .. They are the descendants of preachers n saints who spread Islam ..

But an ignorant fool like yourself wouldn't understand it ... Im a Baluch.. Son of the soil.. My ancestors were pagans .. Probably Zoroastians.. I'm muslim and proud of them.
Call me ignorant fool but a simple DNA test will clear anyone's misconception!! Sad that these people claim to be Arab but Arab rejects them and treat them as South Asians only.

Mein bolna nahi chahta tha, par mamba ne ungal ki to jawab to milega.

I doubt you can blame our leaders or ancestors. Remember they had a history and tradition of thousands of years and they were not a part of world view which believed in being conquerors. They were mostly self-contained. It is very hard to change that outlook in a matter of few decades or even few centuries. What happened in Arabia was a surprise to the Arabs themselves. The entire Middle East, North African, and Southern Europe was torn asunder. We survived and we survived because our ancestors fought back. We can only learn and prepare ourselves, not so that we emulate the conquerors but that we can remain free.
Islamic invasion was slow and took centuries we had enough time to retaliate but some of our leaders sided with invaders to settle their childish rivalry with other indian kings.

Call me ignorant fool but a simple DNA test will clear anyone's misconception!! Sad that these people claim to be Arab but Arab rejects them and treat them as South Asians only.

Mein bolna nahi chahta tha, par mamba ne ungal ki to jawab to milega.

Simple genetic test will prove who you are, tribal gond.