Nicely said Munir.As some new democracies have shopwn transition it van only be done by temp dictatorship that pushes away fundamentalistic and old-powe-people and gives the people the right to educate and develope. I think that Musharraf has said that clearly so do please look on google video where in the first part a "taleban" figure makes fun of Musharraf and in the second part Musharraf shows him the reality.
One of the reasons I like Musharraf is that he managed to make the right decision at the right time. Some posters here would probably have liked the confrontational approach against America but the cost in terms of lives and territorial integrity would be too high. If Pakistan refused to side with the US, we would have been hammered back to the stone age. Comparing Pakistan with Iran would not be right. Iran still recieves trade and investment from Europe and the far east. Even Iran would suffer if there were complete sanctions put on it by the west (case: Iraq).
I'm going to have to agree with Asim. The number of journalists who can make fun of Pervez Musharraf and his government would never be allowed to do such under any of the "democratic" civilian governments we've previously had.
Also we must not forget Pakistan has began to diversify its sources support. Pakistan under Musharraf is also building better relations with China so if we lose American support we still have a source of backup on the international level. Even if Musharraf goes, the system is in place to continue.
Well even at that time we faced a soviet invasion. So it wasn't just about helping America. The Soviets needed warm waters and the only logical option was to go through Pakistan.See I disagree on this whole issue of chamcha geeree that Pakistan's military is all about. The current set of issues and complications being faced by the military regime in Islamabad stem from a series of poor and toady decisions taken by Zia, and his cronies in the CIA. The so called "CIA jihad' that paksitan fought against the Soviets is what is at the crux of this problem. Who told these guys to fight that 'jihad'???...now who is telling them to undo that same jihad?
I don't know how you see but the things we're saying "yes" to is reducing not increasing. Especially America's open demand to send in thousands of troops to hunt OBL.You know right now its all good, but what if they are asked to do something tomorrow which is even more unpopular? This essentially leads to a crediblity factor which is nonexistant for the Pakistani govt. no one takes them seriously.
I'd have lesser pride when we'd be a bombed nation like Afghanistan or Lebanon. I like my nice streets, buildings and suburbs.Seems like foreign intervention in Pakistan's affairs is something that these guys are fairly used to. If swallowing your pride on many an occasion by these pakistani chamchay is by any means a guide, boy they have shattered all records.
Which are also pretty much the things we should be doing. If we support terrorists that justify that the Quran says to kill infidels then we won't be much of a nation. It's a good and proud thing that Pakistan's finally this anti-terrorism.Undo the Afghan "jihad'......Undo the Kashmiri 'jihad'....break your ranks with the 'terrorists and their set up that we helped you create throughout the 80's? Redirect and re-orient your policies to be in line with the flavour of the day (which happens to be that of these World Federalists)?..... or we'll bomb you to stone age?
And not be bombed.The carrot being we'll let you sell your towels, T-shirts and bedsheets in Walmart, besides chump change in aid. The usual peanuts that gets these chamchay excited.
They have more muscle than we do. You don't arm wrestle with someone knowing fully well about that fact.I understand that for a defunct economy like pakistan, this is a big deal, as otherwise there is literally no hope to even get this meagre benefit that they are getting now, riding on the blood of innocent Afghans and Waziri's, who they blame for being ingrates. De-wahabbisation of the region in general of the militant apparatus, which they were directed by the same ppl to set up in the first place.
Yaar for all these years our elected leaders didn't have the guts to stand up to the mullay or else they lose their vote banks. So now Mushy's finally giving it to the mullahs. It'd be ugly but someone's got to do it.yaar its a joke! One phone call Generals, whose relationship with Afghanistan depends on a crack of the whip from Washington.
I think 9-11 brought to light a very interesting phenomena..........
What goes around comes around.
Our chamchay should be wise and follow suit. Not in Tehran's or Hezbollah's governance style but in aligning yourself politically.And with Washington's power getting severly diminished in the ME, due to the impending and massive debacle these Neo-thugs face in Iraq and Afghanistan, will affect the leverage they currently enjoy over Pakistani chamchay leaders, and specially this uninvited Pakistani military junta and for that matter over all these client regimes in the M.E. the traditional worthless and lackey regimes like Jordan, Saudi arabia and Egypt in Particular. Already these chamchay are trembling after Hezbollah's unexpected defiance and good showing against Israel. The bigger one being the huuuuuuuuuuuuuuuge prize of Iraq that these Neocons have no other way of resolving except surrendering to Tehran.
Well even at that time we faced a soviet invasion. So it wasn't just about helping America. The Soviets needed warm waters and the only logical option was to go through Pakistan.
Probably shouldn't have done the whole madrassa bonanza, and changing Pakistani laws in the process. But we had to fight. Call it Jihad, call it balet.
And today we have an option of Agreeing to a few things (as difficult as it may be) or goto war with America. Till we aren't strong enough to say, No to about everything we have to agree to at least somethings.
And what are we agreeing to? Mostly we are killing terrorists, that too reluctantly.
I don't know how you see but the things we're saying "yes" to is reducing not increasing. Especially America's open demand to send in thousands of troops to hunt OBL.
I'd have lesser pride when we'd be a bombed nation like Afghanistan or Lebanon. I like my nice streets, buildings and suburbs.
Which are also pretty much the things we should be doing. If we support terrorists that justify that the Quran says to kill infidels then we won't be much of a nation. It's a good and proud thing that Pakistan's finally this anti-terrorism.
And not be bombed.
They have more muscle than we do. You don't arm wrestle with someone knowing fully well about that fact.
Yaar for all these years our elected leaders didn't have the guts to stand up to the mullay or else they lose their vote banks. So now Mushy's finally giving it to the mullahs. It'd be ugly but someone's got to do it.
He's not going to do a pristine job of it, but I vote for the best man for the job available. Not prince charming.
Our chamchay should be wise and follow suit. Not in Tehran's or Hezbollah's governance style but in aligning yourself politically.
They didn't have to capture all of it. They just needed our coast line, even only a part of it would do. Thats why they were in Afghanistan. What other beautiful wonders did it have to offer for the Soviets? It was just the route to Pakistan. There would've been definite conflict and Pak didn't jump in only on a mere scare that the Americans give them. How hard would it have been? The Soviets attacking from the west and India on the east?Yaar that whole 'warm water' ports thing was a myth. Perpetuated by the West to keep our chamchay in line. Soviets ka dimagh kharab naheen hua tha to actually go and invade a country full of 130 million ppl! No way!
We tried being nice to both the sides before we showed them the barrel of a gun.If you notice that we didn't have any problems with Waziri's in the last 50 years of our existence, and Balochistan was quiet for the last 30 years too. But this guy has managed to alienate both those regions and its ppl's. Not because he wanted to, but because he is a coward and has repeatedly succumbed to threats.
This level of you scratch my back and I scratch yours is very good for Pakistan. It's a connected world and you definitely need the world's strongest nation a lot more than it needs you. I would've called him a fool if he opposed the US.Who knows what else they might have him do now......personally I have no respect for the man, but indignation. He works for the White house, not for that country called Paksitan.
New Recruit
Musharraf does U-Turn on his own people. Are they even his people now? Perhaps Balochistan should become a state of India\'s, we would treat them good.
Just noticed you added to your post. Will look it up later.
Thori derr chain kar
Bachoo ji, common Pakistani is deeply concerned and cares for the Baloch people. Their social life, their economic life, their education and well being in all aspects. Just as we cared for Kashmiris when the Earthquake happened and all of us everywhere around the world gathered around their embassies conducting small campaigns and fund raising drives.I don't think Baloch would like to be a part of any country. We have our own agenda which is independance for both 'Wings' on either side of the divide, just like our Afghan and Pukhtoon brothers who also want to be out of these fake countries with British colonial and divisive origins and fake borders. Away from India and Pakistan. I am sure you guys have a lot more in common linguistically/ racially/ culturally with the Sindhi's, punjabi's and our Mirpuri's.
P.S. We will deal with this musharraf and his army one of these days. By hook or by crook. And we thank India for helping the Baloch nation in these difficult times.
Bachoo ji, common Pakistani is deeply concerned and cares for the Baloch people. Their social life, their economic life, their education and well being in all aspects. Just as we cared for Kashmiris when the Earthquake happened and all of us everywhere around the world gathered around their embassies conducting small campaigns and fund raising drives.
Jinke peeche chal paray ho unke peeche Bangladeshi bhi chalay thay. Balochistan ki haalat ka blame kisi ko dena hai toh Punjabi politicians k saath saath, ek nazar kabhi apne sardaron pe bhi daalo. Kab tak Balochi unki ji hazoori main zinda rahay ga?