Mumbai - 20 years old ?

This year is the celebration of Mumbai as before it was reinvented it was called Bombay. I was just wondering are Mumbaites existance only 20 years?

I ask this because Indian's can't seem to get around the name "Pakistan" to mean the four consolidated provinces* of the erstwhile British Empire so does this mean Mumbai is entirely disconnected from it's previos incarnation as Bombay?

Are all the residents of Mumbai from Mars?

And did Bombay residents all vanish after 1995?

* Punjab, NWFP, Sindh and Balochistan.

This year is the celebration of Mumbai as before it was reinvented it was called Bombay. I was just wondering are Mumbaites existance only 20 years?

I ask this because Indian's can't seem to get around the name "Pakistan" to mean the four consolidated provinces* of the erstwhile British Empire so does this mean Mumbai is entirely disconnected from it's previos incarnation as Bombay?

Wtf. Do some more research? You know how the Bombay came into existence, and how Bombay become Mumbai.

BTW, Mumbaites is wrong word, its Mumbaikar. People from Delhi be called Delhiites, like me.

. . . . . . .
Locals always called it mumbai . But outsiders ko kya pata . nach lo , waah kya thread banaya hai :D .

The name Mumbai is derived from Mumba or Maha-Amba—the name of the Koli goddess Mumbadevi—and Aai, "mother" in the language of Marathi, the mother tongue of the Kolis and the official language of Maharashtra.[2][24]

The temple of local Hindu goddess Mumbadevi, from whom the city of Mumbai derives its name
The oldest known names for the city are Kakamuchee and Galajunkja; these are sometimes still used.[25][26] Ali Muhammad Khan, in the Mirat-i-Ahmedi (1507) referred to the city as Manbai.[27]In 1508, Portuguese writer Gaspar Correia used the name Bombaim, in his Lendas da Índia("Legends of India").[28][29] This name possibly originated as the Old Portuguese phrase bom baim, meaning "good little bay",[30] and Bombaim is still commonly used in Portuguese.[31] In 1516, Portuguese explorer Duarte Barbosa used the name Tana-Maiambu: Tana appears to refer to the adjoining town of Thane and Maiambu to Mumbadevi.[32]

Now op should show me reference to Pakistan from 15th century . Can't find it . Let me dear sir cry a river for you :D .

Locals always called it mumbai . But outsiders ko kya pata . nach lo , waah kya thread banaya hai :D .

The name Mumbai is derived from Mumba or Maha-Amba—the name of the Koli goddess Mumbadevi—and Aai, "mother" in the language of Marathi, the mother tongue of the Kolis and the official language of Maharashtra.[2][24]

The temple of local Hindu goddess Mumbadevi, from whom the city of Mumbai derives its name
The oldest known names for the city are Kakamuchee and Galajunkja; these are sometimes still used.[25][26] Ali Muhammad Khan, in the Mirat-i-Ahmedi (1507) referred to the city as Manbai.[27]In 1508, Portuguese writer Gaspar Correia used the name Bombaim, in his Lendas da Índia("Legends of India").[28][29] This name possibly originated as the Old Portuguese phrase bom baim, meaning "good little bay",[30] and Bombaim is still commonly used in Portuguese.[31] In 1516, Portuguese explorer Duarte Barbosa used the name Tana-Maiambu: Tana appears to refer to the adjoining town of Thane and Maiambu to Mumbadevi.[32]

Now op should show me reference to Pakistan from 15th century . Can't find it . Let me dear sir cry a river for you :D .
Chhod na yaar. By now u shud have known whose threads to be taken seriously and whos not.

this is the perfect example of a Thin Tank ANALYST doing his analysis with zero research about the subject.

This Happens only on PDF.......

My guess was right about the thread title, that somehow you drive your point across about ancient Pakistan existence.

Fine we admit defeat... ancient Pakistan exists. Now you can sleep well.:lol: