More Indians should listen to this lady

a few marks mean nothing in the grand scheme of things

india did not exist until it was drawn up, kashmiri's have their own distinct and unique identity, ethnicity and history

let me repeat again, DISTINCT ETHNICITY AND IDENTITY

note indians rarely ever make an argument on these lines, what business does a south indian have with a kashmiri?

none.

they are chalk and cheese, they do not belong in the same nation, its an unnatural situation hence the brutal occupation.

What business does a pashtun or a Baloch have with lets say Sindh or Punjab?? That doesnt mean all of them can't be in Pakistan..Give me a break dude.. stop scapping the bottom of the barrel for arguements..

Can't you solve a problem in your house without inviting the ghora to come and solve it for you ? The US will only have bases on both sides of Kashmir if it suits their foreign policy self serving agenda. But wait, Kashmir does not have oil and neither is it operated by die hard Islamic militants who plan on dive bombing Boeing 747s into skyscrapers in the US. So chances of that happening are slim to nil at this stage.

As for the wrangling, yes it does seem to be a rather stupid affair which has been dragging on for too long. India asks Pakistan to leave Kashmir and vice versa whilst the only people who suffer are the poor Kashmiris. Right now for their sakes I hope that India and Pakistan would go to war over Kashmir and to resolve the issue for once and forever since talks aren't helping enough. Thereafter I hope that the victor would be huge enough to ask the Kashmiris what exactly is it that they want and to grant them their wishes.

Bhai sahab if India continued with occupation of Kashmir and the situation prevails i feel one day US will need to have Bases on both sides of Kashmir to contain China.

I feel Kashmir can be vital for US strategic interests in the long run.

Your other points are just emotional bouts as war is not the solution.

a few marks mean nothing in the grand scheme of things

india did not exist until it was drawn up, kashmiri's have their own distinct and unique identity, ethnicity and history

let me repeat again, DISTINCT ETHNICITY AND IDENTITY

note indians rarely ever make an argument on these lines, what business does a south indian have with a kashmiri?

none.

they are chalk and cheese, they do not belong in the same nation, its an unnatural situation hence the brutal occupation.

there is an assumption you are making here which i believe is flawed.

when you say that kashmiris have an ethnicity and identity distinct and different from that of india, you are assuming that a monolithic "indian" identity exists.

this i believe is a flawed perception. india is not a monolithic entity. when u compare a bengali and a malyali person. even they share nothing in terms of ethnicity,history , etc. so how can they be part of the same ethnicity and history which you claim the kashmiris are distinct from?

Bhai sahab if India continued with occupation of Kashmir and the situation prevails i feel one day US will need to have Bases on both sides of Kashmir to contain China.

I feel Kashmir can be vital for US strategic interests in the long run.

Your other points are just emotional bouts as war is not the solution.

Bhein ji , if my memory serves me correct then the idea was mooted by the US and rejected by India. Instead of pandering to the west to score points against each other, we should try resolving our issues between us without involving the west. Historically we relied on the UK to partition our nation and look at what a fine job they did of it.

US strategic interests against China should not be used by India and Pakistan to score points against each other. The economic and strategic battle between the US and China is none of our concerns. We should proceed to resolve the issues of water and Kashmir either by diplomacy or conventional war and thereafter concentrate on building our economies. India and Pakistan are major roleplayers in the sub continent. For them to be at odds with each other is to the detriment of all people in the sub continent

Bhein ji , if my memory serves me correct then the idea was mooted by the US and rejected by India. Instead of pandering to the west to score points against each other, we should try resolving our issues between us without involving the west. Historically we relied on the UK to partition our nation and look at what a fine job they did of it.

US strategic interests against China should not be used by India and Pakistan to score points against each other. The economic and strategic battle between the US and China is none of our concerns. We should proceed to resolve the issues of water and Kashmir either by diplomacy or conventional war and thereafter concentrate on building our economies. India and Pakistan are major roleplayers in the sub continent. For them to be at odds with each other is to the detriment of all people in the sub continent

As far as my memory goes US never proposed in offiical words neither privately for any set up with help of India or even agreement of India. Rather there were some write ups suggesting that US might be thinking to have base in Held Kashmir.

India is already using US interests to scores points not only against Pakistan but more keenly against China.

In my personal view US should set up bases in Kashmir it will be far better for US strategic interests without depending on anyone. This will also resolve the tension between the two countries :azn:

I can get 10 kashmiris on this forum to say similar things.. so chill dude.. What he is trying to say is that there are similar youtube snippets about any troublesome area in the world

Farooq Abdullah group?

Kashmir clampdown
Dawn Editorial
Saturday, 13 Feb, 2010

A fine balance A fine balance THE protests in Indian-administered Kashmir during recent weeks are threatening to engulf the region in yet more violence and bloodshed.

Anti-India sentiment has deepened after India’s Border Security Force admitted on Wednesday that “prima facie evidence points towards a constable” being responsible for last week’s shooting of an innocent boy. It is encouraging that the Indian administration has promised to pursue justice. Nevertheless it must be noted that the region was paralysed on Thursday by a major security lock-down following a general strike called by the Jammu Kashmir Liberation Front.

There are fears that protests could morph into widespread demonstrations, particularly if the administration persists in its heavy-handed response.

This is deeply disturbing on many counts. A move towards peaceful resistance was becoming evident in recent months, and this represented the only way forward for a region that has for decades witnessed mass suppression and bloodshed. But the Indian administration’s disproportionately forceful clampdown on even peaceful demonstrations stands in danger of pushing the Kashmiri people back against the wall and leaving them with no option other than violent agitation. There is no doubt that people have the right to air their grievances in a calm manner. If they are stripped of that right, they may be forced to resort once again to violence. There are two further aspects to be considered in terms of the consequences of heavy-handedness by the Indian administration. First, such tactics of oppression are the hallmarks of a dictatorship, not a democracy. If India wants the world to see and treat it as a credible democracy, it must follow through on basic principles. This includes allowing the Kashmiri people their right to protest peacefully, and pushing towards a long-term solution for the region. Second, in order to take the wind out of the sails of the Islamist militants operating in the region, it is essential that India take a more nuanced approach. The militants justify their violent tactics by pointing towards the brutality of the Indian forces. In the absence of such brutality, instigating violence would lose all justification.

Correct me if I am wrong, but isnt this thread about Arundhati Roy's pov on Kashmir?

@ my dear compatriots, why bother bringing Baluchistan? Actually aint none of our business and totally irrelevant to the thread, and nither is Kashmir per se. (There are a gazillion other threads about Kashmir - point to note: if you dont find AM with his long posts countering every argument with his interpretation of UN resolutions, that Kashmir related thread is not worth its weight in Gb's).

Arundhati Roy - well after she won that prize for her novel, success definitely overwhelmed her and caused major short circuits in her brain! Shes been acting weird ever since and whatever she says should be taken with a huge helping of sea-salt. Shes in the same class as that other 'liberal' lady - Mehta. I have been following these ladies ever since Roy won that prize and Mehta started that Narmada Dam agitation, and also because I too was once a 'bleeding heart liberal'.

An airheaded bleeding-heart liberal given ample amount of free airtime will run out of serious practical and pragmatic approaches to problems at hand and start rambling off. Thats what is happening here. In short - she's turned out to be a moron. Period.

@ op, if this thread was in response to that Zaid Hamid thread, then remember this, - there is a hell lot of difference between being an impractical bleeding heart liberal and being a pragmatic centrist. One has no sound basis while the latter leads to introspection and betterment of ones own country. Take your pick.

Dude, seriously get a life. These posts are useless, because the only places affected by the seperatists are only small regions. Most Balochis are pro-Pakistan!

Now go fix your India:

The Seven Sister states all want independance:

6fc06b02fc4700bf44cdfcd9d4223cfc.png

I could post many many more, but your not worth it!

India is falling apart and is failed state.
India has a weak economy and can crumble anytime.
Happy go lucky:taz:
Thats funny you even think that hardly 10,000 naxals can take over India and make it a communist state.:what:
About Khalistan.................oh come on dude.........dont make me laugh.:cheesy:

And thanks for saying Kashmir as part of India..............atlast you accepted it my friend:cheers:

@ Xtremeownage

did u watch the first video....... Pakistani flag was hoisted in Assam :rofl: wow

@jana
The world is more laughing at India aka Bharat for the hard kick it got in case of Afghanistan. Such pitty after so much spending on setting up terror camps in Afghanistan to spread terrorism in Pakistan, at last Indian game came to an end.

let them laugh
india has already achieved wat it intended to can u deny tat

who are indians fooling - ofcourse kashmiri's have their own distince ethnicity, just look at the blatent difference LOL

and this so called unity of being indian wherever you are from - i mean geez what rubbish, i dont know many kashmiri's who want anything to do with this in the slightest.

and yes, common ethnicities and cultures and religions make a peoples and a nation, DURRRRRRR!!!

why have the indians not once stopped to ask what the kashmiri' want?

why have they actively supressed their voice?

why do they engage in so much brutality?

something to hide - OFCOURSE

We all know how you indians treat Kashmiris: