Modern India: A personal experience of a Sri Lankan

I am a native of Gurgaon (Haryana), and have seen developments in every field except in culture i.e. deteriorating. According to me, Pune is a nice place to live(not talking about freedom that students use to enjoy). Localides are very nice people in every aspect.. from culture to personal basis.But auto drivers are looters , i still remember on my first day in Pune I paid 80 odd bucks to Auto driver, and in retuning from same route it cost me only Rs.25..
I never visited any southern part of country.. but my perception for south is great as i know people of south still respect our cultural values, they are helpfull, nice in talking and yes, they are not rude.Even level of cleanliness and tidyness in south is much much better than north India, just take an example... at our place(North), everybody use to spit everywhere like birth right ,even train and railway stations in southern parts of India are much cleaner than trains in northern India.
Now, as I am like a delhite.. coz live in Gurgaon.. I know Delhi is like " everthing seems great from outside and nothing well from Inside".

Modern India: A personal experience of a Sri Lankan

We finally decided to pay her 500 Indian rupees, I gave the note to her.

With the greatest surprise I experienced in Chennai, she refused to take the tip from us. We know for sure that 500 Indian rupees is a significant amount for them and it was shocking to see that she didn’t accept it.

When we forced her to take it, she whispered the only sentence she expressed in English:

“Sorry sir, this is my duty.”

The whole image I had in my mind about money-hungry Chennai people collapsed and I felt very guilty about the initial bad impression I had about her. It was amazing to see an employee in Chennai who has got inculcated a protestant work ethic and good values.

I left the store thinking of one thing: Can sales guys back understand this simple logic and genuinely perform their duties? I leave it to you to come to your own conclusion.

Yaar mujhe to iske irade naik nahi lag rahe the....Rs 500 bhi tip hoti hai kya???

Which part of hyderabad you are talking about. Most telugus dont understand hindi. Nobody is against outsiders though, they are friendly.

I am a Chennaiite and I lived in Hyd for a year. It was an awesome experience. People are very friendly there, expect for those around Charminar. That place is scary!

+1
Yeah,the place around charminar is absolute crap :bad:

He is a sri Lankan. How do you expect him to know Hindi?

Even you didn't understand......Its a sarcasm

Translated-

I suspect his intentions, does any body give Rs500 as tip?

Mr Kanna, India is a good place. I am happy you experianced that now. So dont ever post Anti-india threads any more on PDF and spread mis information like you used to do earlier.

On a side note, hope pakistanis too shed their mentality of looking at India from their prism of perspective that has been nurtured by negative propagandaah all the years since they were born. Actual folks have not even a little info about real India.

This goes both ways. You have a perception that all Pakistanis are extremists, militants and Hindu-haters, whereas the reality is that most don't bother with such things in Pakistan. There are similar accounts of Pakistanis visiting India and the other way around. All the more reason that people-to-people contacts should be increased and not subjected to the politics of the two countries.

a country is represented by its media...we have seen lot of hindu bashing in your media which tells us enough about pakistanis.

^^^ I am spending Rs 150 for taxi from home to airport but auto charge me Rs 400 for the same :hang2:

I have stayed in Chennai for four years. I did not find any discrimination.

I am in agreement with the fact that there is a lot of scope of improvement as far as Auto rickshaw system works.

Now I am in Pune. The city bus system sucks as these conductors don't care for commuters. They are such rude.

I have visited Mumbai two three times.

I can say...people are very good. The city bus is very good. The conductors are so generous. the Auto is always reasonable and in even during 2 or 3 AM in night they are such help.

I think they have a culture of work. They just love their work.

I feel pity for the Mumbaikars. they are good host, but the ever increasing guests are the problem. Once in Mumbai I started sympathizing with MNS and Sivsena.

Best way to impress Tamils. Go to chennai and tell them in tamil that you are north indian. It works. Just speak tamil...

Trusted and tried formulae...

I don't want to be pointing fingers here, but when I came to this forum, for the first time I realised the amount of hatred pakistanis have for India. Whether it's your textbooks or media or whatever, it was appalling. I agree it's there on this side too, but the truth is most Indians really don't care.

As per my experience of metros Mumbai is best, I am here for last 4 years and never met an autowaala who asked a single penny extra over meter's reading;
Secondly its a safe place , even if you are traveling late night(by late i mean after 2)
I am not Marathi but i have never felt any discrimination here .

As per my experience of metros Mumbai is best, I am here for last 4 years and never met an autowaala who asked a single penny extra over meter's reading;
Secondly its a safe place , even if you are traveling late night(by late i mean after 2)
I am not Marathi but i have never felt any discrimination here .

Dude Ive been to many indian cities. There isn't a single city where every single traffic law is followed as good as mumbai