Mobile money drives financial inclusion

Russell

says study funded by Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation

demographic.jpg

Muhammad Zahidul Islam

Financial inclusion expanded 8 percentage points year-on-year in 2015, driven by growth in mobile money, according to a recent study.

About 43 percent of Bangladeshis are financially included, says the study conducted by Washington-based research company InterMedia with funding from the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation based on statistics of 2015.

Of the figure, 24 percent of citizens are covered by non-bank financial inclusion and 19 percent have full-service bank accounts. Of them, 9 percent have mobile money accounts.

There were 3.9 crore registered mobile financial service accounts in Bangladesh until October this year, with only 1.38 crore active, according to the central bank.

Customers transferred Tk 20,692.43 crore in 12.85 crore transactions in October this year, according to central bank statistics.

However, account access and usage remain a problem – while the number of active mobile money account users doubled in the past year, according to the report, known as the Financial Inclusion Insights. Of active registered users, 13 percent have used at least one advanced mobile money function in a month, the study said.

Digital financial services give people a secure way to save, which allows them to build cushion against financial shocks that would otherwise pull them right back into poverty, it said.

The largest increases in registered mobile money use are among male, urban and above-poverty populations. Men enjoyed three times the growth in financial inclusion than women: 13 percent of men were using MFS, while it was 4 percent for women.

In the urban segment, 13 percent of citizens were using mobile money in 2015 and 7 percent in rural areas.

Financial inclusion is higher among those who are using mobile phones to send and receive text messages: 64 percent financially-included people have their own handsets, 32 percent were using mobile phones by borrowing from others and the rest 4 percent had no mobile connections, the report said. On the other hand, 37 percent of Bangladeshi adults can send a text message and 49 percent of this volume are financially included. Of the 63 percent of Bangladeshi adults who have never sent a text message, only 39 percent are financially included.

The report said 40 percent of the users of DBBL mobile money (recently rebranded as Rocket) have their own accounts. For bKash, a subsidiary of Brac bank, it is only 24 percent. Seventy percent of bKash users dealt with agents' accounts, while it is 48 percent for DBBL's agent accounts.

Of the total transactions in 2015, 82 percent was occupied by bKash. With the help of other mobile money channels, DBBL's market share was around 17 percent in 2015.

The report also found that bank account holders are primarily male, literate and live on earnings above $2.5 a day.

About 72 percent of adults know that mobile money agents are within one kilometre of their home, the study found.

The study also mentioned that digital financial inclusion was low among the poor, especially among the extreme poor.

The study found 92 percent of adults were aware of mobile money in 2015 and 33 percent of them were using the service.

In the previous year, the awareness ratio was 91 percent and of it, 23 percent were using the service.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

These figures are being touted as being good/positive - for me, they highlight how much work remains and how the poor continue to be left behind :(

Good progress to be honest in regards of our population demography.

These figures are being touted as being good/positive - for me, they highlight how much work remains and how the poor continue to be left behind :(

Well the general psyche is also a major factor behind the poor & rural people's exclusion of MFS.

If it was the general banking, we can blame poverty, illiteracy, inadequate banking network as the reason.

But MSF is complete opposite of traditional banking-financial service. Nowadays almost everyone owns an cell phone. Anyone willing can easily register & receive MFS service. What I have seen is almost every general store provides MFS service. So why still people haven't registered in MFS? It's just their own disinterest & unwillingness. They are too lazy, they will more likely pay the MFS agent extra money rather than opening & use his own account.

But in economic front; yes, there is still so so so much to do. We have to invest everything in our capability to brought people up the mark of economic freedom & solvency.

Good progress.

Well the general psyche is also a major factor behind the poor & rural people's exclusion of MSF.

If it was the general banking, we can blame poverty, illiteracy, inadequate banking network as the reason.

But MSF is complete opposite of traditional banking-financial service. Nowadays almost everyone owns an cell phone. Anyone willing can easily open & receive MSF service. What I have seen is almost every general store provides MSF service. So why still people haven't registered in MDF? It's just their own disinterest & unwillingness. They are too lazy, they will more likely pay the MSF agent extra money rather than opening & use his own account. They are just representative of typical illiterate psyche.

As Modi is finding out in India - our mindset is cash based - it's fine for a segment of the population, but there is a significant number of ppl who simply don't understand it or aren't willing to.

I remember bKash flooding the market with ads - and almost all were aimed at the lower income segments (garments workers etc..sending money home to the village etc etc).

Still, the change is happening as we speak - my drivers and maids send and receive money via bKash. In fact my wife (doctor) asked my driver to help her set up her bKash account :lol:

As Modi is finding out in India - our mindset is cash based - it's fine for a segment of the population, but there is a significant number of ppl who simply don't understand it or aren't willing to.

I remember bKash flooding the market with ads - and almost all were aimed at the lower income segments (garments workers etc..sending money home to the village etc etc).

Still, the change is happening as we speak - my drivers and maids send and receive money via bKash. In fact my wife (doctor) asked my driver to help her set up her bKash account :lol:

Well, modi ji should have started MFS before he started his demonetisation stunt. :lol:

Or could have just ring Shekher Beti for some advice. :lol::sarcastic:

a 'Distinction'...but not a 'High Distinction'...pfffft

Well go on...defend your thesis online :lol:

The general mindset here is " If i have lakhs/crores, i will put it in a bank account ", MFS are mainly used to send money . eg. by people who works in Dhaka,MFS is used to send money back home in village. People are just becoming used to the idea of using bank cards in urban areas.

Lots of fb based online shops are also mobile banking based

I had done my Masters thesis in 'Mobile Banking in Bangladesh - Case of young students' and got a distinction for it! :)

This topic is my forte!
So you are the resident money guy here now. :D
Congratulations on your academic success, MR. bd_4_ever,MS. :tup:
:enjoy:

Lots of fb based online shops are also mobile banking based
Can confirm. Gonna take a wild guess outta my *** and say at least 40-50% of those 33% users are using MFS for internet based transaction. Our very own credit/card system you can say, without credit nor card ;) And talking of MFS and India, I always wondered if is it viable for criminals to use mobile scratch-card based financial system to hide their trace. Although I know hard cash already provide a modicum of anonymity already.

a 'Distinction'...but not a 'High Distinction'...pfffft

Well go on...defend your thesis online :lol:

I smell an Aussie here. :lol: .. In Sweden, however, the highest grade is 'Distinction'!

So you are the resident money guy here now. :D
Congratulations on your academic success, MR. bd_4_ever,MS. :tup:
:enjoy:

Thanks, its almost been a year ago!

But nah.. more like resident "techno-money guy". Background in IT but interest in finances. ;)