MMRCA competition might be announced soon

Ur outdated Matrix needs serious up-gradation.
PS: U forgot Mirages :P

yes your age old mirage 3s:lol:

this is a PAF Mirage 3
Mirage-III_desert.jpg

and this is an IAF Mirage 2000
India_Mirage2000_4.jpg

see the difference?

really? what else have you got?

First of all our outdated F-16s (what U call them) have been upgraded via MLU program to a level not less than Block 40 with state of art avionics including BVR missiles. Not to forget 18 F-16s Block 52 (numbers quite less though). Secondly most of our Mirage Fleet has undergone different upgrades namely Rose I, II, III with each Category of aircraft having special role and task. Regarding F-7s i totally agree with U that they arnt that lethal as Bisons and thats why they are gradually being phased out. Then comes JF-17 and i would rather remain silent on that because we already have head quite a lengthy discussion on it in different forums here. Then comes our UCAVs and special munitions like Raad and MAR-1 etc. My point was that do ridicule us as U wish but dnt under estimate us. Do give some respect to the adversary too as we give to IAF. Claims like 36 Rafales annihilating whole PAF are a lil out of matrix :)

those 36 jets are more than enough to bring down entire PAF comprising of outdated f16s, and cheap chinese knockoffs like f7s and jf17s.
Those outdated F 16s got the best BVR and WVR missiles that none in your Air Force inventory can match. Come back when you score against the teens, as of now it's the teens that owns everything.

Are you really comparing F-16s with Rafales?

Our 50 odd SU-30MKIs are more than enough for your F-16S (BTW we have like 210 MKIs :) )

If reports are to be believed, another MMRCA competition might be announced soon!

In another major step towards self reliance in the defence sector, a plan is being finalised to produce 90 Medium Multi-Role Combat Aircraft (MMRCA) in India, informed sources said. A Request for Proposal (RFP) is expected to be drafted soon after the new Defence Procurement Procedure (DPP) comes in place.

Expected to be one of the biggest projects under the Make in India campaign, the cost of the programme is expected to be around $30 billion, the sources said. The Indian Air Force requires 126 MMRCAs. With India getting into an agreement with France to get 36 Rafale fighter jets in flyaway condition, there was a lack of clarity on how the rest of the gap will be filled. The sources said that now these remaining jets will be made in India, in what will be a major step in domestic manufacturing of such aircraft.

According to the sources, the air force does not have enough squadrons in the event of a joint war with Pakistan and China. “An RFP is expected to be drafted soon for making 90 MMRCAs in India. A global tender will be floated. The private sector will also have an active participation,” said an official from the defence ministry. As many foreign bidders were in the race when India set out to buy 126 MMRCAs, for which Dassault Aviation, the makers of Rafale, was finally chosen, the sources said all original bidders will be invited.

The list of fighters that were in competition for the MMRCA bid included Russia’s MIG-35 (RAC MiG), Swedish Gripen, Dassault, American Lockheed Martin and Boeing’s F/A-18 Super Hornet and Eurofighter Typhoon made by a consortium of British, German, Spanish and Italian firms. The sources said that out of the 90 aircraft, 54 will be single-seaters and the remaining 36 tandem-seaters. There will be an option of acquiring 45 additional fighters as a follow-up order.

The Indian Air Force is expected to be down to 32 squadrons by the end of this year, 576 fighter jets short of the 750-strong fighter jet fleet required as per vision documents to face simultaneous two-front wars with Pakistan and China. At least three squadrons of the vintage Soviet origin MiG-21 and MiG-27 single engine aircraft are scheduled to be phased out.

Source - IANS

What complete nonsense modi should personally step in to stop this madness

Are you really comparing F-16s with Rafales?

Our 50 odd SU-30MKIs are more than enough for your F-16S (BTW we have like 210 MKIs :) )
Dude there is a comprehension error. I am talking about Aim 120s and Aim 9s. Tell me what in your Air Force can match it and it's record.My good old chemistry professor used to say everything is good and possible on paper, but does it really happens in reality : NO. Buzz me when Migs and SU score against the teens. As of now it's the teens that knocked them out.

Man that's gonna take more time....i mean just try to induct 4 complete squadrons or 80 odd Rafales along with some serious effort to bring LCA into production line...that's gonna be more than enough to meet any future challenges faced by IAF in next couple of decades.

the 20 billion mmrca deal didn't come across ... how the hell the 30bil going to be materialized?

Why not? This 30 billion will take atleast 10 -12 years to complete .So we can manage our expense quute well.

Gripen too could be the dark horse here as they too seems to have given attractive offers or Russians
Gripen loses to Rafale in cost vs benefit ratio. Plus the American engine is a major issue for which it was rejected earlier (and might be rejected again).
It comes down to Russian this time imho.

Dude there is a comprehension error. I am talking about Aim 120s and Aim 9s. Tell me what in your Air Force can match it and it's record.My good old chemistry professor used to say everything is good and possible on paper, but does it really happens in reality : NO. Buzz me when Migs and SU score against the teens. As of now it's the teens that knocked them out.
Lol you missed also missed the upgradation of indian aircrafts like mirage, sukhoi and others, also in the future all sukhis are to be made into super sukhois with aesa.
Your iaf backbone is f16 which su can take care of any time.
You have around 76 f 16 now in different blocks so need maximum 50 to 60 sukhois to get your paf on knees.
Enjoy your rest of yhe day.

Lol you missed also missed the upgradation of indian aircrafts like mirage, sukhoi and others, also in the future all sukhis are to be made into super sukhois with aesa.
Your iaf backbone is f16 which su can take care of any time.
You have around 76 f 16 now in different blocks so need maximum 50 to 60 sukhois to get your paf on knees.
Enjoy your rest of yhe day.
You are an absolute idiot fanboy.

The main reason in the failure of the 1st MMRCA was make in India issue as Dassault didn't guarantee the completion of the planes in Time at HAL..

and now the new Govt is more serious in make in India,

and this is an IAF Mirage 2000
India_Mirage2000_4.jpg
ye Wings pe paint kya hua hai ya desi jugaar waly tanky lagy huwy hai??