Meet Pakistan's very own Anna Hazare

haywards

15slde1.jpg

What is the aim of your movement?

I have waged a battle for the past 48 years to bring about positive changes to the poor economic situation in Pakistan. For my candid views on the country's economy, I was put behind bars many times. A military court even awarded me a jail term of one year, but I never surrendered and continued my struggle.

Although fighting corruption was not my first priority, I decided to bring an end the burgeoning corruption in Pakistan after witnessing the successful anti-graft movement led by Indian social activist Anne Hazare.

Do you think the present political leadership is responsible for the economic crisis?

I am totally disappointed about Pakistan's acute economic crisis. The pathetic and insensitive attitude of the political leadership about this grave economic situation is more disappointing. I have kicked off the movement as a protest against the present political leadership.

Why has corruption flourished so much in Pakistan?

Corruption is bound to flourish in a culture that encourages the display of affluence without any regard about how the wealth has been obtained. Lack of accountability plays a crucial role in the promotion of bribery and resistance to any form of reform.

How long will you continue your hunger strike and how hopeful are you about the success of your struggle?

We are striving to pass an anti-corruption law in Parliament. I am currently on a hunger strike and soon other people will also join me. If the government doesn't pay heed to our demand of fighting corruption, I will continue the hunger strike until my death. It is a very difficult job to mobilise Pakistan's masses but I am hopeful that one day they will support me.

Anne Hazare mobilised thousands of people in India while your supporters are few; what do you think is the reason for this?

In Pakistan, people live in a state of despair as they believe that no one can change the current situation. They have lost all hope about corruption ever being eradicated. The people of India don't think that corruption has gone beyond control and corrupt elements can't be eliminated. That's why they are supporting Anne Hazare.

At the same time, the Indian Parliament understood their sentiments and adopted a resolution. But in Pakistan, there is no section of the administration untouched by the corruption, so there is no consensus on the accountability bill.

Is there any solution to resolve the current economic crisis of Pakistan?

My suggestion is that we can salvage our economy by cutting down the size of our army, as we don't have any external threats at the moment. Another way to meet our economic challenges is to end our confrontations with India and Afghanistan.

Meet Pakistan's very own Anna Hazare - Rediff.com News

He is sill missing the white cap.. :undecided:

If he was afraid of using White 'Gandhi 'cap for fear of being called traitor or blasphemy then he could have replaced it with 'Jinnah' cap and should have written on it:

Main bhi Jahangir tu bhi Jahangir Ab to sara mulk hai Jahangir

or

Main Jahangir hoon

52966.jpg

:rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

he will must die in hunger lolz :rofl:

You are wishing for his death rather than following him. I hope Its coz he is following Indian's way of protest??? if he would have started stone pelting, I am sure some one must have accompanied him... :yahoo::yahoo::yahoo::yahoo:

oyee yaar ye sab tricks nhi chalti .he is doing nothing only abdul satter edhi has such power to bring ppl out as i know .

mass support will only lead to success of the movement as it did in india so the pakistanis must come out in huge numbers to support him

Hunger strikes woks only in democratic societal states but not in police states.

I beg to differ, No matter what state it is (police or democratic) hunger strike is useless if you don't have mass support. Aron Sharmila is fasting for many years, No one listen to her.

The main contributor to successful procession
1. Mass support
2. Valid reason/cause
3. Strong management

My Pakistani Anna is fulfilling only 1 out of three criteria (he has only strong reason... )