Lt Gen Asim Munir selected as new army chief

Ye army to itni achi hai apni sister forces navy or airforce ko bhi chairmen joint cheif of staff nhi banny de rahy 1994 last time koi army se bahir wala joint cheif tha .

Keya faraq parhta hae. Phuddu si post hae. A Patwari has more power than CJCSC. 😛😛😛

Tbh id like to cut Asim Munir some slack. We have seen before that the Sharifs appoint their perceived "Boy" to the COAS post and so far last 4/5 did not turn out well for them.

Same can be said this time around. Infact from my understanding he is the biggest potential wildcard of all. He is extremely untraditional in the sense that he has both MI and ISI expertise. A COAS with MI/ISI and such deep intelligence experience is shunned overall. With this intelligence influence he will be able to have a key hold over corp commanders. We are already seeing reshuffling as we speak.

Other aspects of General Munir which makes him a total wildcard
- He is not from the traditional batch of PMA recruits. Instead he was trained in Mangla infantry school
- He has never taken a foreign military course in the west. Most of our previous COAS all had training in UK/US/Canada
- He has no previous family or close relatives in the military. Much different from the previous few COAS
- Regardless of TV propaganda all evidence points to the fact he had decent relations with IK. Apart from Faiz Hameed I believe pyschologically IKs 2nd best bet was Asim Munir.
- From Shuja Nawazs book (who was an officer who served along side him) he quotes the following abt General munir: He is a strict officer known for his strictness with those under him which is legendary in the army.
- Lastly he is a hafizul Quran. His word view is far closer to IKs than the Sharifs/PDMs. I believe that deep down his heart know what is right to do due to his closeness with the dean.
- He is known to be an hardliner on India. Compared to Bajwa who was a peace dove you can say. Munir is a more realist and has a realistic hawkish view on India. Again this fits well with IKs view which was far more hardline against India clashing with Bajwa on few occaisions.

Again I am giving the benefit of the doubt from the above stated facts. Time will tell. But it would be premature to jump to conclusion. The Sharifs bad luck with choosing COAS might actually benefit us again :cheers:

Tbh id like to cut Asim Munir some slack. We have seen before that the Sharifs appoint their perceived "Boy" to the COAS post and so far last 4/5 did not turn out well for them.

Same can be said this time around. Infact from my understanding he is the biggest potential wildcard of all. He is extremely untraditional in the sense that he has both MI and ISI expertise. A COAS with MI/ISI and such deep intelligence experience is shunned overall. With this intelligence influence he will be able to have a key hold over corp commanders. We are already seeing reshuffling as we speak.

Other aspects of General Munir which makes him a total wildcard
- He is not from the traditional batch of PMA recruits. Instead he was trained in Mangla infantry school
- He has never taken a foreign military course in the west. Most of our previous COAS all had training in UK/US/Canada
- He has no previous family or close relatives in the military. Much different from the previous few COAS
- Regardless of TV propaganda all evidence points to the fact he had decent relations with IK. Apart from Faiz Hameed I believe pyschologically IKs 2nd best bet was Asim Munir.
- From Shuja Nawazs book (who was an officer who served along side him) he quotes the following abt General munir: He is a strict officer known for his strictness with those under him which is legendary in the army.
- Lastly he is a hafizul Quran. His word view is far closer to IKs than the Sharifs/PDMs. I believe that deep down his heart know what is right to do due to his closeness with the dean.
- He is known to be an hardliner on India. Compared to Bajwa who was a peace dove you can say. Munir is a more realist and has a realistic hawkish view on India. Again this fits well with IKs view which was far more hardline against India clashing with Bajwa on few occaisions.

Again I am giving the benefit of the doubt from the above stated facts. Time will tell. But it would be premature to jump to conclusion. The Sharifs bad luck with choosing COAS might actually benefit us again :cheers:

Very Good post detailing everything. A COAS should be aligned to Pakistan first no one else, not with any politician and absolutely not to with a narrow worldview of donkey king. There is absolutely no place of generals like Faiz in PA.

People here judging Asim on the sole transaction between him and imran, where there mahatma fired him within 9 months in office, no one want to dwell in details but pin blame on Asim why he not get along with their maseeha like Faiz (an obedient servant)

PDF dominated by a kursed view and that too very proudly and arrogantly.

May your pains develops into piles Ameen.

New COAS has taken reign of the project of bringing NS home so he can take the throne.

Very Good post detailing everything. A COAS should be aligned to Pakistan first no one else, not with any politician and absolutely not to with a narrow worldview of donkey king. There is absolutely no place of generals like Faiz in PA.

People here judging Asim on the sole transaction between him and imran, where there mahatma fired him within 9 months in office, no one want to dwell in details but pin blame on Asim why he not get along with their maseeha like Faiz (an obedient servant)

Shh.. unless u want to be labled patwari
How dare you not follow the imrando religion? The messiah imran can not be wrong.
It’s getting really annoying now to be on PDF when every few mins a new thread ball licking imran appears.

New COAS has taken reign of the project of bringing NS home so he can take the throne.
Every power has its peak .... today listening to the voice of Arshad Sharif's daughter ....
This voice of this innocent child will bring down tyrants

Tody It badly felt Pakistan has extremely selective justice and heading toward self corrective path ..or ..

16 Fir and 1 FIR with sedation charges .... jo mard ka bacha ha samna ay ...and say we filed 16 cases against Arshad Sharif ... May Allah destroy who killed this guy.

After Faiz Hameed, Munir is actually the 2nd best choice for IK. Look at all the other choices, Shamshir, Abbas, Amir, and Nauman were all extremely close to Bajwa. IK did not even bother challenging the appointment via Presidential powers... speaks volume itself.

The rumors of Ik removing Munir from ISI post and thus Munir wanting some sort of revenge from IK is all just plain BS rumors. Munirs removal from ISI post would never be approved without Bajwa. All postings start/end with Bajwa. Any decision made to reshuffle postings would be decided by the chief alone.

Again at the end of the day every single army chief has been their own men. But out of all these I think this may turn out to be an extremely interesting one.

If Asim Munir was involved in having an Islamabad High Court judge sacked for criticizing the ISI, as the article mentions, we’re off to a bad start.

After Faiz Hameed, Munir is actually the 2nd best choice for IK. Look at all the other choices, Shamshir, Abbas, Amir, and Nauman were all extremely close to Bajwa. IK did not even bother challenging the appointment via Presidential powers... speaks volume itself.

The rumors of Ik removing Munir from ISI post and thus Munir wanting some sort of revenge from IK is all just plain BS rumors. Munirs removal from ISI post would never be approved without Bajwa. All postings start/end with Bajwa. Any decision made to reshuffle postings would be decided by the chief alone.

Again at the end of the day every single army chief has been their own men. But out of all these I think this may turn out to be an extremely interesting one.
Munir's removal was a military internal memo. Even if Munir is PMLN selection, then why in the last two days PMLN tone is down and talk reconciliation ....Is Shahbaz and Nawaz both stuck in the London case ....cuz Hussain Nawaz is a British citizen and his office was used for conspiracy against Arshad Sharif and Imran Khan.

Agreed. We all knows General Azhar was Bajwas first choice, Shamshir his second. For the Shariffs/Zardari General Amir was first choice. General amir would be logically have been the safest choice. He was literally Zardaris military secretary and known for his corruption.

IKs first choice was obviously Faiz, but in reality did PTI really believe their well known political choice would be chosen ???? of course not. IK kept his hands to his chest, but from the above stated facts his best realistic choice was Munir.

Seems there was some back dealing going on within the deep state actors. Munir was a compromise candidate but a candidate with a hawkish strict wordview. Someone who can give both sides the stick to keep stability and come to some sort of compromise for early elections.

In conclusion.. we get a COAS who is perceived as close to sharifs in public, in reality may actually be closer to neither side, but whose world view and conservatism align more with IK. Will nudge both sides to early elections, in the end redeeming the militaries image, bring IK to power, and have a strict security policy required atm especially on western border.

IK is not all end all. He is the best leader that we have but their needs to be some urgent stability for the political and security situation bought asap.

Just my 2 cents :)

آپکے منہ میں خاک آمین
By all means, but when a Corps Commander’s daughter gets wedded and the couple is given a VIP pod in a C-130 to go from one city to another. And the wedding party is jetted around on on public exchequer on military VIP jets - When a soon to be retired General spends $25000 (not a typo) a day of public money in NY, and has a mil VIP jet pick his shopping from NYC - and no one bats an eyelid then there are not too many ways this country is going to go.

It’s fairly clear and out in the open by now. As I said before feel free to delete, I’m just at a loss with what’s been happening.

Yes, IK couldn’t keep Faiz for another 3 months but had fired Gen. Asim Munir because he didn’t like him. And pigs fly.

While we are at the topic who removed Gen. Rizwan, or Zaheer ul Islam or Gen. Pasha? Or Gen. Asim was the only ISI chief removed by a civilian Pm? Yep. I can see them pigs flying. :)

Agreed. We all knows General Azhar was Bajwas first choice, Shamshir his second. For the Shariffs/Zardari General Amir was first choice.

IKs first choice was obviously Faiz, but in reality did PTI really believe their well known political choice would be chosen ???? of course not. IK kept his hands to his chest, but from the above stated facts his best realistic choice was Munir.

Seems there was some back dealing going on within the deep state actors. Munir was a compromise candidate but a candidate with a hawkish strict wordview. Someone who can give both sides the stick to keep stability and come to some sort of compromise for early elections.

In conclusion.. we get a COAS who is perceived as close to sharifs in public, in reality may actually be closer to neither side, but whose world view and conservatism align more with IK. Will nudge both sides to early elections, in the end redeeming the militaries image, bring IK to power, and have a strict security policy required atm especially on western border.

IK is not all end all. He is the best leader that we have but their needs to be some urgent stability for the political and security situation bought asap.

Just my 2 cents :)
Nawaz Bajwa ...a weak COAS and a little religious, now this COAS as you mention above, the writer use " cult" and religious. It seems PMLN never has good experience with liberal Gen ...like Azhar of Sahir ...Karamat to Janjua they were all liberal. Plus, COAS Munir family has no military background or not a big powerpack just in case. Like Bajwa susar Gen Amjad as a broker always in action. Easy to " manage" Munir.

Sure PMLN was conservative in past but over the last few decades has become liberal. Elite of lahore who are mostly liberals are core supporters/financiers of the party.

Again I am just pointing out the fact that Munir saab is the most unconventional of the candidates. Ayesha Siddique rightly pointed out over the last few weeks that Twitter bots/social media accounts are running posts/ads backing munir to COAS. Shows his talents with the dark arts of intelligence and propaganda.

Makes him all the more dangerous... to those in charge more so than not.