Launching my American Wife's You Tube Channel: Promote Pakistan!

Totally understand why your wife hates how it caricatures the south/appalachia though....but thats because lot of great rustic actual culture of the US is down among those good ole boys. Where you have the most culture, you have the most stereotypes made about ppl etc....because rest can just take refuge in mediocrity "global" blandness.

That's a very interesting perspective, sir. I will ponder over it. Anyway, I avoid any references to 'Deliverance' around her. The location of that movie is barely 60 minutes of easy drive from our house, BTW. That area is STILL very backward in most places!! Maybe even worse than 20-30 years ago.

As a suggestion, You guys should start locally in America and don't be too political. Slowly work your way up. Once you have a following, then you can get into the image stuff. Image is shown with your attitudes, mannerisms and behaviors. You don't really have to make a thing out of it. A Pakistani being married to a Caucasian American is already a conversation piece.

Good suggestion. I think for now she's just going to learn to post videos on You Tube of local engagements but will focus on commenting on Pakistan related videos with a gradual move to the Reaction Videos as hardware/software becomes available. I think some events like the Feb. 2019 India/Pakistan issues, the Cricket World Cup, and Imran Khan's visit to Washington, DC were good events to comment on--they were getting a lot of attention in the media and so were ripe for You Tube inputs. But... you know it's never boring in the Sub-continent...

Well your Wife started this channel mine still camera Shy .. she actually used to make top 5 kinda videos but don't want to be in Video alone . I will show her your wife's video maybe it will encourage her to , she has a lot to say about Pakistan, specially since we came back from our Trip in June this year .
As they say in Urdu " Kharboozay ko dekh ker Kharbooza rang Pakkarta hai " Shayed meri wife ko bhi Vlogging ka Josh a jayed :D After all she is Southern too, Give my regards to your Wife, in a most southern way ( Hey Y'all ) ..

Then let the Kharboozah change it's color, brother! I conveyed the 'Y'all' greetings to her. She is quite amazed there are others like us. I think every Pakistani, especially the overseas Pakistanis, must contribute in whatever way they can.

BTW, we have decided not to get too involved in politics or insult other nations. Hers' is going to help promote Pakistan's image but that doesn't have to come at the expense of others.

PS. To a woman, any insulting comments on her looks or weight or age are particularly jarring. But this morning she shrugged off the nasty comments on her videos. Let's see how it goes. But she and I realize that the worst comments are not going to come from the Sub-continent--but from the White Supremacists. And that's one more reason for me to take the back-seat except for some behind the scene translations of Urdu to English....

Thank you all again.

Then let the Kharboozah change it's color, brother! I conveyed the 'Y'all' greetings to her. She is quite amazed there are others like us. I think every Pakistani, especially the overseas Pakistanis, must contribute in whatever way they can.

I showed your Wife's video to my Wife, and she was like " Oh we southern Girls have good taste in choosing Life Partners " hahaha and yes its amazing to know that you are not alone, TBH I still kinda feel nervous how I am going to live with her family (until i have my own place) Living with her parents in a white family would be hard but i am up for Challenge . You know bro what is more weird that South has a reputation for been Racist, and look our wives are from south marrying brown people from a Islamic country .. (Take that Trump :lol:, FOX)

BTW, we have decided not to get too involved in politics or insult other nations. Hers' is going to help promote Pakistan's image but that doesn't have to come at the expense of others.

Good, there is no need to jump into Politics, and TBH they all are same with exception of some good people, What matters is that we help Show a Positive image of Pakistan to American people, its not all Taliban and bomb blast , Not all men have beards and go to Mosques, not all women wear Burqa's and beaten by their husbands, no all girls are forced to wear hijab etc . Stick to Tourism , Life style , culture and similarities between West/East .

PS. To a woman, any insulting comments on her looks or weight or age are particularly jarring. But this morning she shrugged off the nasty comments on her videos. Let's see how it goes. But she and I realize that the worst comments are not going to come from the Sub-continent--but from the White Supremacists. And that's one more reason for me to take the back-seat except for some behind the scene translations of Urdu to English....

Tell your wife to avoid them, Youtube is full of Scums and since your wife is going to Promote Positive image of Pakistan Indian trolls will try insult or attack her using foul language . Stand by her, and Stand firm .. Cause for every 10 Haters , you guys will have 100 people who will appreciate and love (Y'all) as well :usflag::pakistan:

Yup. Apparently it's an Indian guy who has again insulted her and she just complained to me about the guy. I told her that she could Block to guy but also told her to be prepared for such things. I can tell she's hurt--she has no online presence or experience except for some Face Book chit chats on minimal basis. And we live a pretty sheltered, quiet life where the city dramas non-exist. So for her this is almost literally slap on the face in public.
But I still think most Indians would not insult her. It's the White Supremacists she should fear the most.

Yup. Apparently it's an Indian guy who has again insulted her and she just complained to me about the guy. I told her that she could Block to guy but also told her to be prepared for such things. I can tell she's hurt--she has no online presence or experience except for some Face Book chit chats on minimal basis. And we live a pretty sheltered, quiet life where the city dramas non-exist. So for her this is almost literally slap on the face in public.
But I still think most Indians would not insult her. It's the White Supremacists she should fear the most.

White Supremacists won't attack her appearance, they just don't like Race mixing and interracial marriages, so they might just disown her or call her race traitor etc, Indians and their hate for anything Pro Pakistan is deep .. you should see those Vlogs where western girls make videos about Pakistan, they just show their hate openly . Just keep reporting these Trolls and keep the content going . People will love to hear her side of story and her experiences .

if you don't mind me asking, does she ever Visited Pakistan? and where in SC you guys live ? not the exact thing just city would suffice .

White Supremacists won't attack her appearance, they just don't like Race mixing and interracial marriages, so they might just disown her or call her race traitor etc, Indians and their hate for anything Pro Pakistan is deep .. you should see those Vlogs where western girls make videos about Pakistan, they just show their hate openly . Just keep reporting these Trolls and keep the content going . People will love to hear her side of story and her experiences .

if you don't mind me asking, does she ever Visited Pakistan? and where in SC you guys live ? not the exact thing just city would suffice .

I am well aware of Indians attacking Pakistan and vice versa. But I STILL think White Supremacists are the worst. We are adventurous and have a very active social life among Goras, even in the hinterland of America. We know what's out there. But... let's not quibble on this point.

She has been to Pakistan only once. Loved her stay. It was hard to plan so much in a bare 10-day stay; you know, the jet-lag, the family invites, the trips to beaches/malls etc. And where we live in America...air-travel is a nightmare because of distance to airports. It took us 33 hours from leaving home here to getting to the Pakistani home. 33 hours!!!

We are not far from Six Miles, SC... that's the closest hint ;)

Best of luck to your wife and you a very nice approach to making people here in US and in the world understand who we are and what is Pakistan … GOD bless.

Well we are nervous! We are not looking forward to hate comments. To the loss of privacy. But we are taking the plunge and we DO want to help Pakistani image and tourism. We really don't need that money from You Tube.
Thanks
bhai, if you dont get hate comments, means you arent doing well enough.. its a sign that you are doing good.. keep it up...looking forward

I am well aware of Indians attacking Pakistan and vice versa. But I STILL think White Supremacists are the worst. We are adventurous and have a very active social life among Goras, even in the hinterland of America. We know what's out there. But... let's not quibble on this point.

She has been to Pakistan only once. Loved her stay. It was hard to plan so much in a bare 10-day stay; you know, the jet-lag, the family invites, the trips to beaches/malls etc. And where we live in America...air-travel is a nightmare because of distance to airports. It took us 33 hours from leaving home here to getting to the Pakistani home. 33 hours!!!

We are not far from Six Miles, SC... that's the closest hint ;)

You from Karachi ? you said visit Beaches/Malls so i figured ..
Well my wife is still in Pakistan its her second visit, and she took flights on average 35 hrs, but my wife hardly bring any luggage . All she carry is a school bag haha which allow her to move and rest during her stops.

When I get my visa, i will be going to close to Newberry . Hopefully we can meet someday :)

So, after many months of procrastination, she is launching her You Tube channel. My primary objective is to promote a soft-image of Pakistan, promote Pakistan's tourism, and fill up our evenings :) She is also interested in those goals plus..there is potential revenue for her.

Anyway, this is going to be slow-going, fun, casual blog by her. She's a 'country girl' from the American South--as if the accent won't betray that--and is a non-techie.

BTW, this video was hurriedly shot in our home today...

ok.. i watch the video an she doesn't mention Pakistan. Maybe she's still procastinating..

Thank you guys. Will respond later individually.

Summary of What's Going ON:
We procrastinated for months; mostly because of fear. While she's just finding out, I am well aware of the anonymous hate and was not sure how it will affect her. You can see one Comment already by a guy who, after attacking her, started attacking the Islam. But she's out there now. It's her now. I will help with translations and hardware/software--that's it.

This is all a rushed job. Done using an $80 Huawawai camera on an old desktop computer.

The strategy is to get her at least be aware of You Tube; up until 3 days ago, she never even posted a comment there. So familiarize herself with You Tube. Steel her nerves for the attacks. Post American content for now while we figure out hardware/software. But she HAS started subscribing to Pakistani videos (Mooroo, Ary News, Village Food Secrets...) and is posting comments based on visuals.

Also, some of our American friends have Subscribed to her. More will join. We have a large circle of family and friends here. They too will see the truth about Pakistan. Little by little the word will spread.

Once we have the hardware/software figured out, then the 'Reaction Videos' will come.
And she's going to stay in the Pakistani space because, unlike other Western bloggers who will come and go, she is a Pakistani by marriage to me; besides, it's her best shot of success anyway.

Thanks again!

Once we have the hardware/software figured out, then the 'Reaction Videos' will come.
And she's going to stay in the Pakistani space because, unlike other Western bloggers who will come and go, she is a Pakistani by marriage to me; besides, it's her best shot of success anyway.

Sounds like a plan!

She should definitely block/ignore the hater messages at this point early in the game.

As she grows, the positive comments will overwhelm the negative where it won't be a concern.

I remember in my early days of Internet usage and running a community, just one mean comment would make me mad and think about it for hours. Now i feel like it's their loss.

It's all about positive reinforcement versus negative and for a beginner, positive is needed the most.

Just do what you're passionate about and ignore the haters

Thank you guys. Will respond later individually.

Summary of What's Going ON:
We procrastinated for months; mostly because of fear. While she's just finding out, I am well aware of the anonymous hate and was not sure how it will affect her. You can see one Comment already by a guy who, after attacking her, started attacking the Islam. But she's out there now. It's her now. I will help with translations and hardware/software--that's it.

This is all a rushed job. Done using an $80 Huawawai camera on an old desktop computer.

The strategy is to get her at least be aware of You Tube; up until 3 days ago, she never even posted a comment there. So familiarize herself with You Tube. Steel her nerves for the attacks. Post American content for now while we figure out hardware/software. But she HAS started subscribing to Pakistani videos (Mooroo, Ary News, Village Food Secrets...) and is posting comments based on visuals.

Also, some of our American friends have Subscribed to her. More will join. We have a large circle of family and friends here. They too will see the truth about Pakistan. Little by little the word will spread.

Thanks again!
you really dont need much hardware or software.. just use mobile if you have a good one. they are much better than any hardware these days .

Thank you all! Much appreciated. I will be back with responses. For now, we are thinking of taking advantage of the weekend and go out and make some more videos of her.
But, briefly: Our challenges would be:
1) Language barrier: She is almost (actually absolutely) zero in Urdu. And I want this to be her story. So no me in videos.
2) Getting equipment: A camera/microphone combo which would be good for desktop computer, good for dashboard, and good for selfie stick. Yes, a Swiss Knife kind of setup. Is it even possible? Maybe Go Pro? We don't mind spending some.
I will be back.
PS. Already some nasty Comments on her Channel. It can be devastating to anyone not so exposed to such hate.
Pdf leagis and hamsaye

Do you run when you hear the banjos in the distance?
The easier option is to join right in no :D ?