Lahore among the ‘safest cities’ in the world

Ok, fine Pakistan as more crime than Sal Salvador, Baltimore, Brownsville, Venezuela, combined. You happy now.
No, I am not drawing a comparison here.

I just find the ranking of Lahore being among the safest cities of the world unreliable. This ranking is a sham with even Police officers being its critics. This ranking might just be a crowdsourcing experiment.

Pakistan is absolutely plagued with crimes as a whole. Conduct a country-wide study on this matter and you will be shocked.

No, I am not drawing a comparison here.

I just find the ranking of Lahore being among the safest cities of the world unreliable. This ranking is a sham with even Police officers being its critics. This ranking might just be a crowdsourcing experiment.

Pakistan is absolutely plagued with crimes as a whole. Conduct a country-wide study on this matter and you will be shocked.

Ok.

Criminals are rather facilitated in
Criminals like Nawaz Sharif are facilitated this article is about common crimes like theft roberies mobile snatching etc. I don't know whether it's safer than Paris New York or not but itna bhi bura hal nhi ha. And some smaller cities of Punjab would be more safer than Lahore.

You do not know shit about these matters in Pakistan, it seems. I suggest you spend some time in the courts in Lahore and schedule interviews with Police officers, lawyers and judges.

These matters are not transparent in Pakistan - not openly recorded in statistics.

In fact, crimes are on the rise in all cities of Punjab in current times. Unemployment is a big problem.
We know these matters and yes there are problems in Police but sorry crime rate is low which no one can deny

Criminals like Nawaz Sharif are facilitated this article is about common crimes like theft roberies mobile snatching etc. I don't know whether it's safer than Paris New York or not but itna bhi bura hal nhi ha. And some smaller cities of Punjab would be more safer than Lahore.
Bro,

A friend of mine visited a court recently (not an ordinary court by the way), he had a meeting with a judge. This judge was upset because he had to let go a criminal who was responsible for multiple murders in Lahore. Reason was that eye-witnesses were not cooperating. Now this development will not make any headlines in media channels and neither will the government take notice. This is happening beneath the shadows.

Release of high-profile criminals including Rana Sanaullah and Nawaz Shareef, are a mere continuation of an unfortunate trend in Pakistan. Just that political criminals receive lot more publicity than others.

How do you expect Law & Order situation to improve when influential criminals are being let go by courts because eye-witnesses do not cooperate?

Of-course, what I am disclosing is not good for publicity of Lahore. Government is supposed to paint a rosy picture, and PTI lovers are supposed to silence/suppress contradicting voices. Things will never improve in Pakistan if this trend continue.

Pakistan is in a dire need of reforms at all levels of society. WE have learned to MASK our issues otherwise.

People are grasping at straws here. As I pointed out earlier, take your time to visit courts and schedule interviews with Police officers, lawyers and judges, and then you will see the true picture. However, this task is not easy. Few would have the connections and guts.

A friend of mine visited a court recently
This news has nothing to do with courts but street crimes target killings terrorism etc. Street crimes can be further decreased by increasing the number of check posts and patrolling but murder type crimes cannot be prevented. I don't know how safe Lahore is compared to cities of other countries but it isn't unsafe.

Bro,

People do not know much about what is happening in their very neighborhoods, let alone in Lahore on the whole. People are too busy to worry about these issues until they are on the receiving end of a crime themselves (God forbid). I get to hear so much from friends and relatives that not even funny.

Transparency in official reports, is a big problem in Pakistan. Being a researcher myself, I can notice shortcomings in many reports.

There is a saying that statistics are among the greatest lies ever told. Although a popular practice in modern times.

I do admit that Karachi have it much worse than Lahore in street crimes, or so it seems. However, Lahore is definitely not among the safest of places either, not anymore.

safest cities lol won't be safe unless human police officers are employed. at the moment, its animals

Bhai person meray mamu ka mobile or valet rob kia hai motercycle sawaran nay.

A lot of you guys 1) don't understand what is meant by 'safe' here and 2) don't know how bad it is in the other large cities of the world. I'll ask a few questions,

1) Are there any neighborhoods in Lahore where common people are afraid to visit due to safety concerns?

2) Is there visible gang violence and/or gang activity in the city? Public shootings, turf wars, etc.?

3) Are the citizens afraid of leaving their houses after dark or at any other time of the day?

These are all major concerns in say, Paris, New York, Toronto, London, etc. People get stabbed for loonies at Jane and Finch in Toronto. There are places in all these cities where even the police refrains from going.

FB_IMG_1579281298212.jpg
FB_IMG_1579281302070.jpg
FB_IMG_1579281312356.jpg

Nonsense.

Criminals are rather facilitated in Pakistan. Ask anybody who is privy to Thanna Culture as well as proceedings in Courts.

These matters are far more transparent in Western countries on the other hand.

This is one of the many ways possible to downplay any good news regarding Pakistan. Keep it up.

The safe city project is showing its viability as a method to reduce crime in large cities and the results cannot be denied. The probability that crime is traced back to the perpetrator is very high in Lahore. This itself acts as a deterrent to crime.

You can argue whether the position of Lahore in the list is not correct but then what will we then achieve? I just want to be happy knowing that our cities are becoming safer after thousands of innocent dying due to terrorism and crime over the past twenty years.

A lot of you guys 1) don't understand what is meant by 'safe' here and 2) don't know how bad it is in the other large cities of the world. I'll ask a few questions,

1) Are there any neighborhoods in Lahore where common people are afraid to visit due to safety concerns?

2) Is there visible gang violence and/or gang activity in the city? Public shootings, turf wars, etc.?

3) Are the citizens afraid of leaving their houses after dark or at any other time of the day?

These are all major concerns in say, Paris, New York, Toronto, London, etc. People get stabbed for loonies at Jane and Finch in Toronto. There are places in all these cities where even the police refrains from going.
1) there are some.
2) Nopes.
3) incidents of mobile phone/purse snatching is on the rise --- overall, people aren't afraid.

Bro,

I do admit that Karachi have it much worse than Lahore in street crimes, or so it seems. However, Lahore is definitely not among the safest of places either, not anymore.
I agree with the point, " not anymore" --- This is got to do with rising population of Lahore (mostly due to rural to urban migration+ law n order in other parts of Pakistan) ---

Returned to islamabad last night via the 6pm train and arrived here at just after 11.30pm.
Stayed 5 days in Lahore.
Amazing place. Culture, architecture, food ummmm and Lahori's. Loved Lahore. Loved the Lahori and now need two workout as the food was divine.
If you have not been. Try Andaaz on food street. Expensive (dinner for 2 6000pkr). Spice bazaar very expensive (dinner for two 8000 rupees). But I would eat at both places in a heart beat
View attachment 600221
The food is mostly unhealthy and the reason Pakistanis are dying of heart attack in wholesale quantity.

1) there are some.
2) Nopes.
3) incidents of mobile phone/purse snatching is on the rise --- overall, people aren't afraid.

1) Could you give us their names.
2) Good
3) Mobile and purse snatching is petty theft. Frankly speaking, with Lahore's population, I'm surprised it's as low as it is.

Your answers are a testimony to how safe Lahore is. People here don't realize it because they haven't seen what else is out there.