Here is a personal story that is somewhat related.
Years ago, I had finished high school and decided to visit my cousins in UP. The train that I took passed through Madhya Pradesh and during that time, local elections were coming up in the state. As evening came about, the train made an unexpected stop at a station and the whole train was filled with BJP supporters who had attended a rally in that city, and were returning to their villages. I was sitting on the bottom seat and suddenly found our compartment filled with BJP supporters with all political paraphernalia. My immediate seat mates were all Hindu. Then one of the BJP guys came to me and told me and a couple of others to vacate our seats because “Sahab idhar batheiga”. I was told to go and lie on the upper berth and 2 others boys were asked to move to another cabin. We dutifully obliged. Another 2 Hindus were not asked to move.
The Sahab then comes and sits down. A portly man in the late 40s that commanded respect from all the others around. As I am lying on the top berth, I hear the conversation that is progressing below. The 2 Hindu gentlemen that were the remaining passengers in the cabin start to inquire on what rally this was and they discuss about the elections and the chances of the BJP winning etc. All mild conversation until one of the Hindu passengers asks the Sahab for his introduction. Sahab introduces himself as just a sevak from a certain village that I never heard of. At that point, one of his henchmen cuts and says something to the effect of how important Sahab is, that he commands respect from all the neighboring villages and nothing happens without his approval. As the praise continues, my jaw drops when one of the henchmen says that “Sahab ney bahaut katwon ko mara hai, koi bhi Mohammadan ki himmat nahi hai Sahab key saamney”. He then goes on to describe in gory detail how Sahab killed Muslims with his bare hands and saved so many Hindus. All the while Sahab is acting modest and saying that his henchmen are exaggerating and says “sabak to sikhana hai, kya samajthe hai”. As this conversation on killing of Muslims is ongoing, I dread that one of those two Hindu passengers will squeal that I am a Muslim, considering that we had introduced ourselves earlier. I recite my prayers as fast as I can and stay as silent as possible. Luckily they don’t say anything about me, maybe they forgot, but then there began a commotion a few cabins away. We all strain to see what is happening and apparently there is a Muslim family that is being harassed by the BJP goons. Now Sahab is also intrigued on what is happening and one of his henchman says there is Muslim family and asks what to do with them. Sahab tells his men that “lafda nahin chahiye, ghar jaana hai” and his men back down. Soon the next station comes along and all the BJP workers get off the train and I breathe a sigh of relief. The whole episode and interaction was less than an hour, but scary as hell. Rest of the journey I was as quiet as possible, thinking about what could have happened had anyone said anything wrong.