Karachi's MQM sector commanders on the defensive

I think all we need is another naserullah baber to teach lessons to MQM and ANP!
Isnt MQM really proud and often boasted at different occasions that none of the police officers who took part in operations against them survived? Sound like an open confession of a terrorist.

Naseerullah Babar.....In any first world country he would have been tried for genocide and ethnic cleansing, unfortunately some still advocate for him.

Now let us speak about the police officers who took part in the operation and lets discuss why you defend these police officers who murdered Urdu speaking Karachiites indiscriminately, at the same time why would you consider anybody a terrorist if they murdered these mercenaries in uniform? What is a terrorist? Is it someone who indulges in extrajudicial murders or someone who takes revenge for the extrajudicial murders?

There was not without a compromise..Mush needed political support and Altaf Bhai bottom serves as a perfect lota..rolling where it benefits them willing to make alliance with every dictator, jagerdara or wadera to save their kursi.

Initially, Mushraff wanted to try Altaf Hussian for war crime due to his comments in India, but all changed when Mush decided to occupy that seat and he needed alliances.

Altaf Hussian was the first to vote in favour of Mush uniform and also it was Altaf bhai to offer his first nomination to zardari as president...

MQM Motto:
Pakistan na Khappy, Kursi zaroor khappy.

The actual video which started Atlaf - Mirza tussle..

Hey....why not post the video where your hero open concedes that PPP wanted to break Pakistan. But did we try him for treason? NO! We made him the provincial interior minister! Just goes on to tell everyone how patriotic you anti-MQM folks really are!

Pakistan's commercial capital Karachi has seen a recent surge in violence, much of it involving armed gangs linked to rival ethnic and political groups. At least 300 people were killed in the city in July - 200 of them thought to be victims of targeted killings and clashes, according to local media.

The paramilitary Rangers and Frontier Constabulary have been given police powers to try to stop the violence, which has been going on for months and shows no sign of abating.

Why is Karachi important?
Karachi is Pakistan's largest city by far, with a population of over 18 million and rising, and is its main economic hub. It is also the capital of the southern province of Sindh - the port of Karachi on the Arabian Sea is used as an entry point for crucial supplies for the US war effort in Afghanistan.

Pakistan's Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gilani has made ending the violence a priority, saying the country "cannot afford a breakdown of law and order" in the city.

But BBC correspondents say the government appears unwilling or unable to stop the violence, which has wreaked havoc. Security officials say this is because senior politicians are protecting many of those involved in the killings.

How many lives have been lost?
The independent Human Rights Commission of Pakistan (HRCP) said 490 people had been killed in targeted killings in Karachi during the first half of 2011, compared with 748 in 2010.

BBC correspondents say the violence is becoming increasingly indiscriminate. As well as political activists being targeted - shopkeepers, cafe owners, truck drivers and even pedestrians have all been gunned down.

What's behind the violence?
The violence is essentially a turf war between rival political groups and heavily armed gangs linked to them.

There is a clear ethnic element as the Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM), the main power in Karachi, is the party of Urdu-speaking Mohajirs - the majority of the city's population.

While the city's Pashto-speaking Pashtuns favour the Awami National Party (ANP).

The Pakistan People's Party (PPP) - the ruling party at federal and provincial level - is accused of supporting the Pashtuns in an attempt to erode the MQM's street power in Karachi. The PPP denies the allegations, saying it favours a policy of political reconciliation. The MQM was part of the PPP-led coalition in Sindh, but after nearly nine years in power it decided last month to sit on the opposition benches.

Who else may be involved?
The local political parties are believed to have a complex, mutually dependent relationship with assorted criminal syndicates variously engaged in extortion, illegal arms trading, drug trafficking and land grabbing.

But the solution to the crisis lies in the hands of politicians, according to the independent Human Rights Commission of Pakistan (HRCP).

"While gangs of land-grabbers and mafias have tried to exploit the breakdown of law and order, they do not appear to be the main directors of the horrible game of death and destruction; that distinction belongs to more powerful political groups and it is they who hold the key to peace."

Are the Taliban involved?

There is no firm proof of any Taliban involvement in the targeted killings, but they are often blamed by the government and certain parties, particularly the MQM.

The ANP has said that pointing the finger at the mostly Pashtun Taliban is part of an attempt to target Pashtun migrants who have poured into Karachi in recent years fleeing violence further north in the country.

But Karachi has also had its share of militant attacks in recent years, for which insurgents linked to the Taliban and al-Qaeda are blamed.

What measures has the government taken?
The central government has handed over the worse-hit areas of the city to the paramilitary Rangers, giving them a "free hand" to arrest the culprits.

Aerial surveillance has been put in place, rewards offered and a number of arrests have been made, according to local media.

Will the army be called in?
Some political leaders have called for the army to take control of Karachi's law and order situation. But on 7 July, Interior Minister Rehman Malik ruled out such a move, saying "targeted action" would be taken instead.

The idea of the army being called onto the streets of Karachi is unpopular - in the past the military has been accused of custodial deaths and human rights abuses.

What's the cost in economic terms?
Karachi - which has Pakistan's only operational commercial port - has frequently been brought to a standstill by the violence, resulting in heavy losses to business and industry.

Local traders and business associations say strikes and violence in 2010 led to the loss of hundreds of millions of dollars, placing further pressure on Pakistan's already beleaguered economy.

Karachi provides about half (other estimates say nearly three-quarters) of the total annual tax revenue collected by the government.

BBC Monitoring selects and translates news from radio, television, press, news agencies and the internet from 150 countries in more than 70 languages. It is based in Caversham, UK, and has several bureaux abroad.
BBC News - Q&A: Karachi violence

Naseerullah Babar.....In any first world country he would have been tried for genocide and ethnic cleansing, unfortunately some still advocate for him.

Now let us speak about the police officers who took part in the operation and lets discuss why you defend these police officers who murdered Urdu speaking Karachiites indiscriminately, at the same time why would you consider anybody a terrorist if they murdered these mercenaries in uniform? What is a terrorist? Is it someone who indulges in extrajudicial murders or someone who takes revenge for the extrajudicial murders?

They went against MQM goondas ... those who used to drill people .. those who made bori band laash as a common phrase ... so zip it buddy .. I am not sure why you are so blinded in support of MQM .. but again denial is not uncommon for MQM apologists

Hey....why not post the video where your hero open concedes that PPP wanted to break Pakistan. But did we try him for treason? NO! We made him the provincial interior minister! Just goes on to tell everyone how patriotic you anti-MQM folks really are!

how about this one? Your Pir's interview while he was in India ... Shame on ppl who follow this monster retard

Part I: 'We had two choices -- mullahs or Musharraf'

From the 1940 Lahore [ Images ] resolution (when Mohammad Ali Jinnah [ Images ] said Hindus and Muslims belonged to two separate and distinct nations and therefore they can't live together) to current times, how do you see the Muslims movement for a separate nation?

That was a historical blunder. I have said many times publicly that the division of India was the greatest historic blunder in the history of mankind. The British hatched a conspiracy to divide the land and people.

The forefathers of the Mohajirs have sacrificed two million lives to create Pakistan. But we were being treated as third grade citizens of Pakistan. They don't consider us as loyal citizens of Pakistan.

The situation is similar over here (in India). Muslim loyalty is doubted. What have the Muslims of the Indian subcontinent got? Nothing! They are suspected on both sides of the border. If we are not happy there and if most Muslims are not completely happy here, we should think about it.

Muslims here question what will happen if a Hindu sarkar comes to power? I request all the Muslims of India to please, please understand and don't repeat the mistake of 1947. India is your homeland. India is your forefathers' land. Never leave India. If you leave your forefathers' land, you will face the same consequences we, the Mohajirs of Pakistan are facing.

Try to learn lessons from the plight of 3 lakh stranded Pakistanis in 66 Red Cross camps in Bangladesh for the past 30 years. They are living miserable lives. I request the Muslims of India to consider India as their own country in the depth of their heart.

I also request the Indian government to treat Muslims in such a manner that would help remove apprehensions and insecurities from Muslim minds. For Muslims of India it is better than any other country of the world.

Your views on India's partition are severely criticised in Pakistan. Do you face political problems?

The truth is what I have told you. Truth is always bitter. Criticism is a part of the game. Neither before, nor today have I said anything against Pakistan. I have not said that Pakistan should disintegrate. I am saying that partition was a mistake. It's done. Now we should live in peace.

Don't fight now, for God's sake.

We have fought three wars. At least now look at the European Union. They had bitter conflicts than us but now they have learnt their lessons. They have the same currency, no visa restrictions and friendly relations. Let's start a dialogue and have friendly relations. Let's increase trade. We must respect each other's existence. We need to respect each other's sovereignty.

Enough is enough. We better start a new era of love and tranquillity.

You know more about the political problems on both sides. Just recently the home ministry in New Delhi issued a statement that the Hurriyat has been asked by Pakistan to not talk to the Centre.

I'll request the establishment in Pakistan to please not give a dictation to the Hurriyat Conference. Let them have a dialogue with the Centre. I'll demand the Indian government not to issue such harsh statements which will increase more hurdles and hatred.

The bigger problem lies vis-à-vis the credibility of General Musharraf who is after all the architect of the Kargil [ Images ] war.

I know well about the Kargil issue. I also know that the Pakistan army takes decision through consensus. How is it possible that a decision like Kargil can be taken by one general? If at all a decision was taken, it was by consensus of the generals only.

Recently President Musharraf has said that a plebiscite in Kashmir [ Images ] is not the only option. He has said this for the first time, no one has said it in public before. He took a very courageous stand regarding the issue of Kashmir. I think India should trust Pervez Musharraf. Without trust the negotiation process will fail again.

What solution do you have in mind?

For 57 years, both countries are tolerating the Line of Control [ Images ]. For the time being, just for a short period consider LOC as an International border. Just to start a dialogue. To start from point zero consider it a temporary International Border. And let trade and relations flourish.

The Pakistani establishment is against this idea more than India.

We have to work with sincerity. If we don't trust each other the current peace process will fail as it has failed hundred times before. If they don't want to reach the conclusion then, come on! Go to war! Win Kashmir!

If Pakistan wins it, let it take it. If India wins it let it be with India. But we don't want war. A majority of people are poor. All of them want peace, peace and peace. Governments should not waste time.

How was your meeting with Foreign Minister Natwar Singh?

I requested him to expedite the peace process. Personally, and on behalf of millions of people I requested him to open the Karachi consulate as soon as possible. Also, the Khokhrapar and Munabao border. He promised to open it very soon (the Karachi consulate). Putting any condition to open the visa facility in Karachi will further worsen the condition of the public.

Why have you changed the name of your party? Is it a shame to be known as Mohajir? Why have you replaced it with Muttahida (unity)?

When my people got elected and went to other parts of Pakistan they found that ethnicity and those groups are part of the system that is medieval and feudal. We saw the feudals of Punjab [ Images ] and Sindh, they live like one family and poor people known as Mohajirs or Balochis and others are fighting between themselves. The feudals manipulate the ethnic and poor communities and the poor end up fighting.

So we changed our name to fight poverty. We want to unite against mullahs and feudals. We have learnt a lesson from divided India. We don't want any further division of Sindh. No. We don't want division on ethnicity. Sindh is our motherland. We will live with Sindhi people and die together.

We have an understanding with Balochis. We collectively issue press notes too. We support their struggle. Recently, when the army started an operation I opposed it even though I am in the government. I am not a slave of the government.

In Pakistan some of your critics have dubbed you as an agent of India.

When I talk about friendship and love they can't bear it. If my just demand makes me an agent of India or agent of America you can say that I care a damn! These are baseless and concocted allegations to malign my image. Why should I worry when I am not an agent?

Many years back you had demanded Hong Kong type status for Karachi. How far would you go?

I have never demanded any such things. I never gave any such statements. They are all rumours.

How many cases are pending against you?

No case was registered against me when I left Pakistan on December 27, 1991. All the cases were registered against me while I was in exile. Now, I have more than 500 cases.

When are you going back to Karachi?

I always tell my people that whenever my central coordination committee thinks fit I'll come back. Over the phone I ask them, shall I come back to Pakistan? My awam (public) says resoundingly -- No!

Where is your ancestors' home in India?

My parents Nasir Hussein and Khursheed Begum belonged to Agra. They lived in Maqbul Mahal, Hakimo Gully, Nai ki Mandi. I will certainly visit my parent's home. I don't know what the condition is.

My parents never wanted to migrate. My elder brother forced them to shift. He migrated before them and then he forced them to migrate. We were eleven brothers and sisters. I am born in Karachi.

Are you going to Kashmir?

Inshallah, I'll go to Kashmir when its solution is found. Kashmiris should have their say in its final solution.

How are you feeling in India?

Aisa apna laga, jaisa apna kabhi aur kahin nahin laga.(I felt so at home here; never before have I felt this much warmth at any other place.) I haven't yet seen much of India. But India is quite friendly. I feel oneness with people. I don't see any strange eyes. I feel at home.

They went against MQM goondas ... those who used to drill people .. those who made bori band laash as a common phrase ... so zip it buddy .. I am not sure why you are so blinded in support of MQM .. but again denial is not uncommon for MQM apologists

You seriously need to learn how to put together meaningful sentences dude, as the last line of your post is a contradiction to itself. A person cannot be in denial if he/she is an apologist and vice versa.

Over 15k Urdu speaking Karachiites were murdered by the military and para-military forces in that operation.....were they all MQM members? Were they all Ghundas?

And those who used to drill people and torture their victims are being hailed as another reality of Karachi in MQM-Haqiqi by your PPP Ministers. You are so ignorant dude it is pathetic, you have no idea why MQM split into MQM-A and MQM-H.

And you cannot point out a single advantage of continuing to support these waderas and jagirdaars. But let me assure you that if MQM was indeed so full of Ghundas, none of you anti-MQM (perhaps even anti-Pakistan) elements would dare look at Karachi wrong! Aaj Karachi ko sab apne baap ki jagir samajhte hain only because MQM is too tolerant.

how about this one? Your Pir's interview while he was in India ... Shame on ppl who follow this monster retard

So this person is a monster and a retard at the same time? A retarded Monster? Hmmm.....How creative.

So I went through the whole interview and I was wondering "what possibly could the poster of this extract want anybody to think and why anybody would take this in a negative aspect?".

Division of the subcontinent was not a blunder? Half of Pakistan on this side and half on that side with the whole of India in between? The unsolved Kashmir issue and so on were all well thought and effectively executed? How much of Pakistan do we still have? Why did Bangladesh came into being? How about all the water sources that are in Kashmir and Pakistan at the mercy of India for water?

But wait, only a true patriot, only an honest, committed and visionary Pakistani would ever ask those blunt questions. Here we call our patriots, monsters and retards and we make our traitors senior ministers! Only in Pakistan. We still do not understand who our real enemy is, no wonder the state of our country!

and it sucks to see it all getting ruined in front off us on top of that the ones who are defending are getting blamed ! thats just not fair

Why does it sucks Pakmarine? MQM has been an ally of PPP govt for more than 3 years and is still considering a come back. So why does it hurts?

I have said it before and I'll say it again, A MQM supporter who criticizes this govt is a biggest hypocrite of our times. On one hand your party is in power and in alliance with PPP and on the other hand you let go no opportunity to criticize PPP.

See you can't have it both ways.

Division of the subcontinent was not a blunder? Half of Pakistan on this side and half on that side with the whole of India in between? The unsolved Kashmir issue and so on were all well thought and effectively executed? How much of Pakistan do we still have? Why did Bangladesh came into being? How about all the water sources that are in Kashmir and Pakistan at the mercy of India for water?

But wait, only a true patriot, only an honest, committed and visionary Pakistani would ever ask those blunt questions. Here we call our patriots, monsters and retards and we make our traitors senior ministers! Only in Pakistan. We still do not understand who our real enemy is, no wonder the state of our country!

So Jinnah and people like Liaqat Ali Khan have committed a blunder by creating Pakistan? And were they less visionary, honest and committed as they never thought of Pakistan as a blunder.

But Hey I forgot that our very own Altaf Bhai is the best thing that happened to Pakistan ever.

seriously bro are u brainwashed by MQM or are u some kinda spoken person for them........ :)

I dont know why you people come on conclusions by ignoring the facts. Let me tell you.... Karachi is dominated by people who support MQM.... Somewhere someone posted that Urdu speakers don't marry in others... I am myself an example..... ooh before that... My dad is an example, he is married in a Punjabi family, I am myself married in a Punjabi family...

I am not spokesperson of MQM nor brainwashed by them. But still support MQM and vote for them in every elections. There are many many people in Karachi who may not like Altaf Hussain, but still vote for MQM.... These MQM people never came to our homes for vote... We see the development in Karachi which forces us to vote for them... bcaz we are not blind... okay lets forget MQM for the time being... Suggest any other party suitable to be voted... PPP? PML-N? ANP? Brother MQM is the only party which allows an 'ordinary' person to see the face of parliament. The person sitting in AC drawing rooms cannot understand the problems being faced by an ordinary person.

We want karachi to be in the queue of developed cities of the world and we know it is only MQM who can do it...

Only MQM areas developed which is not exactly fair on balanced developed terms. And the bolded part is your confession that MQM diverted all funds to their vote-bank areas. The fund came from the Pakistan government, not mustafa or altaf pocket so its not sole credit of MQM. Secondly, if I am not wrong the funds were allocated to provincial government, not just to one city. And you ignore all credits of Nematullah Khan in getting the Karachi mega city plan as well as 2800 corore rupees of funds. Irrespective of the fact that state bank at that time had no money to pay for such ambitious development.

Dear Somebozo,

In 2001 when MQM boycott elections and consequent Jamat e Islami got the Nazim seat, can you please tell me any development project started by him in areas of PPP / ANP? He was holding the office of City Nazim for four years.. Let me tell you what Mustafa Kamal did for the areas which in no way comprise vote bank of MQM, even PPP gets elected from there, but PPP itself never did anything for its own voters.

Development of Hawksbay Scheme 42
Rs.200 million road infrastructure package for Lyari
60 million gallon daily additional water supply for Lyari which solved the half century old water problem of Lyari for the next 50 years.
free connection to Lyariites from the newly laid especial line of 6mgd water
Town Nazim Lyari Malik Fayyaz personally thanked City Nazim and told the people that the approval of water problem was granted in minutes.
Road projects in Hawksbay Area.
Water supply to 300 years old Baba, Bhit and Salehabad islands of Kemari Town through specially laid 134km long under sea surface pipeline at an estimated cost of Rs.340 million. These islands were deprived of this facility since their came into being as no previous government had ever paid attention to their problem.
Development Projects initiated in the old Goths of Karachi which are considered to be castle of PPP, which remained neglected by every govt.
Electric supply to around 35 goths...
Free medical camps under I Own Karachi program in the areas of Lyari.
And to add, the Abbasi Shaheed Hospital ICU where everyone is treated irrespective of his affiliation with party... for which a very famous video in which he says 'Pagal Kay bachay' to a woman. In that hospital Rs.5 are being charged for ICU for which you have to pay Rs.20,000 anywhere else having the same facilities.
The list is even long.. So it will be utmost 'ziyaad'ti' that MQM ignored areas other than their votebank.

wait a second the real starter of development in karachi was naimatullah khan!!!

World Mayor: Commenting on Naimatullah Khan - Mayor of Karachi

He was first Nazim of Karachi after devolution plan. Naimatullah Khan was elected City Nazim (Mayor) in 2001. . Nematullah Khan achieved to get an amount of Rs.2900 Million for reconstruction of Karachi,city council passed various projects such as 18 flyovers, six underpasses, two signal free roads and a huge water supply scheme for the people of Karachi. It was first time in the history of Karachi that all the stake holders in Karachi were incorporated for the developmental works in Karachi.the Karachi development plan comprises signal free main roads,many fly overs underpasses and the replacement of water and sewerage lines.The modern face of Karachi was quickly started and an example of transparent and good governance was highly appreciated by the various institutions.

Personality of the Week Program - Mr. Naimatullah Khan AdvocateNazim Karachi City

Terrorism of MQM exposed: Ex Nazim Karachi Naimatullah Khan wins case in supreme court against "Land Mafia" MQM Altaf's illegal encroachment of parks in Karachi (an article on how he got SC to get MQM land mafia removed from park land)!!!

& MOST IMPORTNALTY NAIMTULLAH KHAN was an urdu spekaer!!! so you can't even claim him to be off another ethnicity!!

he started all the projects that msutafa kamal came and finished!!

however, having said that Mustafa kamal also did alot because no one was stopping his progress! but if building roads is a great achievement then i think nawaz should win forever!! he built motor way and karachi airport!!!

look roads is good but people can't eat roads!!! and one MQM strike costs karachi 10 billion ruppes!!! more than 10 bridges cost!!!

^^ I really respect Nematullah Khan for what he has done for Karachi..

So this person is a monster and a retard at the same time? A retarded Monster? Hmmm.....How creative.

So I went through the whole interview and I was wondering "what possibly could the poster of this extract want anybody to think and why anybody would take this in a negative aspect?".

Wow ... am I the only one vomiting at this rubbish? how on earth the monster altaf is a patriot .. he is bl00dy british citizen ... shame on you boy

MQM is such a modern party with good educated people yet they follow this old fat Altaf like PPP followers of Benazir (Which MQM followers tend to criticize a lot!)