Javed Akhtar becomes first Indian to receive Richard Dawkins Award

He is an atheist..not a muslim...there are crores of hindus who are atheists...in that sense you can call him a hindu.

You people call every Indian Muslim a Hindoo until they start poking holes in Hindoo superstitions about caste and cow urine. Then they're back to being madarchod Pakistani mullas.

I despise superstitions and cow urine drinking...i also dont worship any gods or godesses ( am not atheist though)...nobody is bothered here

nobody is bothered here

I despise superstitions and cow urine drinking...i also dont worship any gods or godesses ( am not atheist though)...nobody is bothered here

Hundreds of millions of Hindoos do believe in these superstitions, they do think cow urine is good, and they have a vast collection of figurines of gods and goddesses they do "pooja" to every day. Maybe you're not bothered, but other Hindoos are frequently bothered. I still remember when people were seriously discussing the possibility of Aamir Khan being an madarchod Pakistani mulla ISI agent for his role in the film PK.

You can mail him a love letter.
What are you being so defensive for? Dawkins himself isn't the problem here. Dawkins faces off against religion in a broadly equivalent manner - fair play to him for being consistent. Javed Akhtar on the other hand is world renowned for excessive pandering and apologism of sanghee hatred towards Pakistanis and Muslims. Javed Akhtar is no secularist. Rather, he is a sanghee in a Muslim poet's garb.

In fact, he would be right at home on pdf with some other Indian "secularists" that I know of.

Ironic that he should win such an award when all he ever does is apologise for and defend Hindu domination over Muslims.

His supposed "equal" vilification by Muslim and Hindu extremists is also laughable. He roundly condemns Muslims for daring to be Muslims or doing anything perceived to accidentally offend Hindus in the nation of India.

He only attacks sanghees on internal Hindu issues (artistic portrayal of gods etc) or matters wherein sangheeism damages gandhiism (all in all a cowardly and "safe" way in which to go about your business as a "secularism champion" in India), never on their mistreatment of Muslims (the true secularists who dare to defend Muslim citizens are committing hara kiri in India).

Someone who automatically parrots the nationalist mantra that basic justice and human rights for kashmiris should be secondarily dependent on action over some vague and unquantifiable and unsubstantiated allegations of "cross border terrorism" is beyond all reasonable definitions of "secularism" or "humanism" or anything vaguely neutral. The man is heavily biased to the sanghee narrative that Muslims are never victims in India or Kashmir or Pakistan and rather should be wholly blamed for bringing hindutva hatred or oppression upon themselves. He is very much the sanghee definition of "atheist" or "secularist", which is a very unique definition that doesn't match up to more traditional definitions of the same. Such "secularists" bark at Muslims for existing and as such, are not really secular in the slightest. By pandering to and apologising on behalf of the sanghee inferiority complex vis a vis Muslims, he demonstrates his true constitution.

"Javed Akhtar tweeted, "Dear Mr Afridi, since you want to see a peaceful Jammu and Kashmir sans any human rights violations could you please see to it that Pakistani terrorists stop infiltrations and Pakistan Army stops supporting the Separatists by closing down the training camps? It will greatly help in solving the problem." "

https://m.huffingtonpost.in/2016/03...txpkTwfwdoCKN4qfcEzSoZ-98D7_VnCHb4Xgy4chp_hSi

"Javed Akhtar’s larger point here was to oppose religious extremes. In doing so, he was equating people who refuse to say ‘Bharat Mata ki jai’ with those who lynch Muslims in the name of cow meat. Does he really believe the two are equal?

“Bharat Mata ki jai” is the oldest trick in the Hindutva playbook. Merge Indian nationalism with Hindu symbolism, ask Muslims to follow it, and if they don’t, voila! Go to Pakistan!"

If Javed Akhtar is India's idea of a secularist, RSS and Shiv Sena and the rest of the saffronists can take an extended holiday and leave him in charge.

Javed Akhtar is no secularist. Rather, he is a sanghee in a Muslim poet's garb.

Ironic that he should win such an award when all he ever does is apologise for and defend Hindu domination over Muslims.

By pandering to and apologising on behalf of the sanghee inferiority complex vis a vis Muslims, he demonstrates his true constitution.

Huzoor, bolna padta hai. You forget he is currently living in Modi's India. So have to cut him some slack. Agar Aap India me shahri hotay to aapko bhi ye sab bolna parta.

Even if those are his genuine views, Javed Akhtar speaks his mind without anyone's pressure. And you must respect him for that.

Aap ye baat zahn mei daal do, Indian Muslims are very different from Pakistan Muslims. Although both follow Islam, Indian Muslims have unquestionable loyalty towards their country. Some Pakistanis mistakenly expect them to abandon the sinking ship called India, which will never happen.

This thread is about celebrating a rare achievement for Javed Saab which is the first time for anyone in the subcontinent. It's about his rare genius. He has done many poetry concerts even in Pakistan.

EDIT: a lot of Indian Muslims you will meet genuinely don't like Pakistan (someone like Xeuss or Jamahir aren't that way though). A Hindu like me or Joe Shearer are very pro-Pakistan in comparison. It really varies from individual to individual.

Huzoor, bolna padta hai. You forget he is currently living in Modi's India. So have to cut him some slack. Agar Aap India me shahri hotay to aapko bhi ye sab bolna parta.

Even if those are his genuine views, Javed Akhtar speaks his mind without anyone's pressure. And you must respect him for that.

Aap ye baat zahn mei daal do, Indian Muslims are very different from Pakistan Muslims. Although both follow Islam, Indian Muslims have unquestionable loyalty towards their country. Some Pakistanis mistakenly expect them to abandon the sinking ship called India, which will never happen.

This thread is about celebrating a rare achievement for Javed Saab which is the first time for anyone in the subcontinent. It's about his rare genius. He has done many poetry concerts even in Pakistan.
Since you're his fan, I'm willing to be convinced otherwise to what I stated before.

I would imagine that he is a conflicted individual, as his poetry and artistic abilities automatically place him in the category of individuals who are educated and are able to rationalise their standpoints. This is perhaps why I find it all the more confusing that a rational individual such as him will arrive at such a position whereby the only recourse that seems logical is this excessive pandering to various hindutva narratives. Clearly, it is illogical to equate beef lynchings with refusal to call mother India a goddess, but this "secular atheist" vehemently concluded otherwise. Logically speaking, any civilian in Kashmir should have their basic human rights defended in absolute terms by any self declared "secularist" but again, Mr Akhtar sees fit to politicise these basic rights and render them at least partly dependent on the (ALLEGED) activities of a foreign state, over whom kashmiri civilians hold no actual sway.

Frankly, I don't hold out much hope for India if such people are recognised for upholding "secular" or "humanist" values, which is broadly what this award celebrates.

Let's check his opinion on free expression in the world's biggest democracy:

https://www.google.com/amp/s/tribun...d-be-sent-back-to-kashmir-javed-akhtar/?amp=1

The guy backs Nick Jonas' wife (I deliberately forget her name) on sabre rattling while posted as UN Goodwill Ambassador.

What has he ever said substantially in defence of human rights in Kashmir, (which anyone anywhere recognises as the greatest stain on Indian nationhood in terms of suppression of civil and human rights)?

You, Richard Dawkins and everyone else are fully entitled to your opinions and interpretations of his life story. I personally don't see anything that would convince me to offer this particular award to him ahead of Amit Shah.

Since you're his fan, I'm willing to be convinced otherwise to what I stated before.

The point is as an Indian Muslim, he really can't express those views. They would have lynched him, and that's before Modi became Prime Minister. You have no idea how much stress Muslims of India face on a daily basis just to survive.

And it's not him alone. Javed Akhtar is a well-off, affluent Muslim. The rabid Hindutvadis would use HIS EXAMPLE to lynch other Muslims belonging to poorer sections of society. Obviously everything he says has consequences.

It's really sad that in India, as a Hindu, I can express pro-Pakistan sentiments, and at best, I will be seen as a leftist loony. At worst, they will abuse me online.

But as an Indian Muslim if you even express your open admiration for Wasim Akram or Shahid Afridi, twenty people will gather outside your home and shout slogans against your family.

India's people are jahill. And Javed Saab is a rare gem among this population of jahills. That's why his genius should be celebrated.

EDIT: a lot of Indian Muslims you will meet genuinely don't like Pakistan (someone like Xeuss or Jamahir aren't that way though). A Hindu like me or Joe Shearer are very pro-Pakistan in comparison. It really varies from individual to individual.
You are contradicting yourself in the two sentences underlined.

No, it's not contradiction. I am saying that if those views expressed by Javed Akhtar are genuine, then it's admirable to be able to speak so bluntly. I don't really know if he only does it to appease the Hindutva natuinalists.

I wonder how his life would have panned out had his family entered Pakistan in 1947. Pointless speculation really, but I do wonder about various individuals and their progression had circumstances been different.

Congratulations to javed akhtar for the Dick award.

I wonder how his life would have panned out had his family entered Pakistan in 1947. Pointless speculation really, but I do wonder about various individuals and their progression had circumstances been different.

You have to understand that a certain segment of Muslims in India had firmly opposed the Partition. Maulana Abul Kalam Azad's followers, as the most famous example.

Muslims like Javed Akhtar and Aamir Khan (who is actually a grand nephew of Maulana Abul Kalam Azad) are very staunchly Indians. They have never wanted anything to do with Pakistan. I think they're much more patriotic than me. Even Emraan Hashmi is like that.

Shahrukh Khan, perhaps, not so much as his father was a Hindko speaker from Pakistan Punjab. But even he considers himself 100% Indian because that's where he earned his shohrat and daulat.

In 1947, someone like Javed Akhtar just would not have made the journey to Pakistan. They had strong and deep faith in Hindustan. They love the land and its people including the Hindus in a way you Pakistanis simply can't.

Perhaps @xeuss can expand on this topic as it might be close to his heart. Also he's more patriotic Indian than I.