Japan says no cut in aid to Pakistan

No not because poor should suffer because Pakistan is a sovereign state blessed with enough talent & enough resources .. why cant pakistanis get back on their feet rather than asking the world for money .... where does the ghairat brigade disappears when it comes to foreign aids ?

The day when Pakistan stands up on its own feet only then I will oppose AIDs for Pak but for now every single penny counts rebuilding PAK from floods.

InshAllah the day will come .. however in my opinion to start with stop receiving AID wont be a bad start !

But it will reduce the flow of money in the economy with the money recived as aid the gop can invest in development expenditure leading to a chain of creation of job which inturn will reduce poverty

lol how some of my country people happy for aid which in reality is an AID$.

Allah hamein Aid ki lanat say nijaat dilai aur hamaray Pakistan ko apnay peroon per khara karay. Ameen.

lol how some of my country people happy for aid which in reality is an AID$.

Allah hamein Aid ki lanat say nijaat dilai aur hamaray Pakistan ko apnay peroon per khara karay. Ameen.

China also used to take aid from Japan 10 years ago and China also developed its country with the help of Japan and look at China today.

Japanese aid is not like American Kerry-Lugar CARROT ON A STICK.

Japan has so far stayed away from Pakistan's internal affairs.

China also used to take aid from Japan 10 years ago and China also developed its country with the help of Japan and look at China today.

Japanese aid is not like American Kerry-Lugar CARROT ON A STICK.

Japan has so far stayed away from Pakistan's internal affairs.

But Omar bhai, Aid is kind of bheek, till how long will our corrupt leaders take this bheek in the name of Pakistan & spend it on themselves. If Japan, US, or even SaudiArabia want to help Pakistan they should do a buisness with Pakistan, they should open industries in Pakistan & gift them to government of Pakistan, just like Steel Mill which Russians built. They should open their trade doors for Pakistani products, give them tax free status so that their people will buy more as it will become more cheap. Also it will help built a good image of Pakistan in the world & more companies will be interested to invest in Pakistan which will help the poor citizens.

Correction... China did not develop because of aid from Japan.... they did it themselves and capitalized on their manufacturing and labor pool assisted by aggressive economic policies by their govt.

Aid is never significant enough to affect the state of one's economy and its growth. The effort has to come from within, not outside.

Correction... China did not develop because of aid from Japan.... they did it themselves and capitalized on their manufacturing and labor pool assisted by aggressive economic policies by their govt.

Aid is never significant enough to affect the state of one's economy and its growth. The effort has to come from within, not outside.

And in case of Pakistan it is far most worse because our corrupt present govt don't even want to spend 1 Rupee on Pakistan development, it just goes into their banks.

China did not develop only because of Japan's help but Japan did help China in developing projects and aid. Even Chinese members in this forum have acknowledged this fact.

Japan began extending aid to China in 1979 and had provided a total of 3.32 trillion yen in loans, 154.4 billion yen in grants and 170.4 billion yen in technical cooperation by fiscal 2009. Japan stopped offering fresh loans in fiscal 2007.

In the fiscal year through March 2010, Tokyo disbursed 1.3 billion yen in grant aid and 3.3 billion yen in technical cooperation in such areas as environment protection and energy-saving projects

Japan considers sharp cut in aid to China with economy overtaken › Japan Today: Japan News and Discussion

And in case of Pakistan it is far most worse because our corrupt present govt don't even want to spend 1 Rupee on Pakistan development, it just goes into their banks.

Every developing country gets aid from developed countries. Even India still gets aid from England to this day in 2011 when it is dreaming about being a "superpower".

But Indian polititions used the money on INDIA, we can see by their speedy development, when Pakistan getting huge bheek where is all that bheek going dear? obviously some one is using it just for own self.

& BTW why do we only have to pick every bad things of what other countries doing? why can't we pick India's fast growing economy? thats the reason we are going down down & down.

But Indian polititions used the money on INDIA, we can see by their speedy development, when Pakistan getting huge bheek where is all that bheek going dear? obviously some one is using it just for own self.

& BTW why do we only have to pick every bad things of what other countries doing? why can't we pick India's fast growing economy? thats the reason we are going down down & down.

I dont think India is a good model to follow. It still has more people living below the poverty line than all of Africa and all of Pakistan's total population combined.

If you want to follow any country follow successful prosperous countries like China, Japan, and UAE.

Check out the developmental projects Japan is aiding Pakistan with:

The FPCCI lauded Japanese support in construction of Kohat Tunnel, training institutes, flood warning system and rehabilitation of Taunsa Barrage, improvement of health, education, environment, irrigation, agricultural and industrial development, disaster risk management, energy, transportation and sanitation.

Daily Times - Leading News Resource of Pakistan

If this is not to help the people of Pakistan then I dont know what is. Japan is a friend of Pakistan and is a friend of the people of Pakistan.

China did not develop only because of Japan's help but Japan did help China in developing projects and aid. Even Chinese members in this forum have acknowledged this fact.

Are we discussing aid or investment?... My comment was referring to foreign aid. Investment is a separate issue altogether. The economy has to have some positive fundamentals before you can attract significant FDIs to reflect on the local economic growth.

While I agree that Pakistan needs to do something to accelerate its economy, I do agree with Omar that you just cannot mimic another country's model to suit yourself. There are drawbacks in the growth models for India as well as China... every model will have its drawback. Even developed economies have drawbacks (see the housing collapse in US, negative GDP growth in Japan, ...)

What needs to be done is to first stabilize the core competency of Pakistan, namely Textile and Agriculture... of course to be able to accomplish this you will need to invest in power and energy (vital to all economies) and water management and distribution. Once your core sectors are strong, the other industries like manufacturing, education/research, steel and minerals sectors can be explored.