Is the Dalai Lama's 'reincarnation' in Arunachal Pradesh the real worry for the Chinese?

saturday-himachal-pradesh-products-tibetan-hindustan-people_c0cfb6de-1c34-11e7-8dd7-d947b0232760.jpg

http://www.hindustantimes.com/india...inese-goods/story-gq7BZRppPii6SBH6IBx0PM.html

While Tibetan spiritual leader Dalai Lama’s visit to Arunachal Pradesh angered China, Tibetan diaspora has long lived with the paradox of fighting the Red Army’s control over their ‘homeland’ while selling Chinese goods for a living .

“Goods manufactured in China are being sold all over the world. We, too, are a part of ,” admits Tsering Choeden, head of the Tibetan traders’ association of the Tibetan refugee market. Tsering, 37, is a third-generation Tibetan refugee.

The Tibetan refugee market in Shimla has 76 shops and every other shop is stacked with Chinese merchandise.

“What choice do we have? We are refugees — we have to make a living and fend for our families. Whatever we get from Delhi, we sell it. Indian traders, too, get Chinese stuff,” says Palden, a shopkeeper.

“Not only in Shimla, Chinese goods are present is every market. We are not happy about selling them , but we have little choice,” Chukhi, another shopkeeper at the Tibetan market, laments.

There are nearly 200 families living in the two Tibetan settlements in Shimla, one in Sanjauli and the other in Kasumpti area, which also has a small handicraft unit .

“We keep meeting Chinese visitors who visit McLeodganj. There is a lot of Chinese merchandise here in McLeodganj,” said Lobsang Wangyal, director of Lo Wangyal Productions in Dharamshala.

‘Won’t sell Chinese products’

Despite the plethora of Chinese goods available in the market — China is India’s largest trade partner — there are still some Tibetans who refuse to sell Chinese products, instead choosing to only sell good manufactured by members of the exiled Tibetan community.

“I have never sold Chinese products . I only sell ethnic Tibetan goods,” says Tenzing, who runs a Tibetan handicraft shop on the Shimla Mall road .

When the 14th Dalai Lama, Tenzin Gyatso, fled Lhasa in 1959 after the Chinese military invaded the erstwhile capital of Lhasa, scores of Tibetans followed him on foot during his 15-day journey to India. Dalai Lama reached Tawang in Arunachal Pradesh on March 1959. Many Tibetans, along with the Dalai Lama, settled in Mussourie initially and later shifted with him to Dharamshala, which is also the headquarters of the Tibetan government -in- exile.

It was on April 29,1959, that the Dalai Lama set up the Tibetan government-in-exile. Dalai Lama continues to strive for autonomy for the China-occupied Tibet.

Many Tibetans initially worked as labourers but, with the passage of time, set up their own businesses. The government-in-exile, with help from the Indian government, assisted Tibetans in setting up of refugee markets that are now present in many Indian states. There are 58 Tibetan settlements across the world — 39 major and minor settlements in India, 12 in Nepal and 7 in Bhutan.
Too bad for these traitors. They deserve to live in poor, backwards south Asia. Chinese Tibetans enjoying a good life in China.

Buddhism has many branches and Tibetan(mahayana) is one of them, the core principles of all the branches remain the same.

Gautam Buddha has preached to the Indian nation and the earliest followers of Gautam Buddha were people of Indian nation and Gautam Buddha came from Shakya clan who were kshatriyas , His father was king Suddhodana and his mother was queen Maya Devi.

Theravada Buddhism, also known as Southren Buddhism, is mainly in South and South East Asia. It is the only surviving tradition of the 30 original sects and is said to be the closest to the original teachings of the Buddha.

Around the 3rd century in the common era, Vajrayana became the more prominent denomination in India

The origin of Mahayana Buddhism is now traced to about the beginning of the common era

digha30408.gif

And committing suicide. Imagine being poor and being harassed by racist dark skinned people everyday.

Some Indians would take offense if you call them dark people. This guys believe they are white and a few even tried to join storm front before they were told to F off. True story. Unbelievable but totally true. These guys tried to Proclaim their "Aryan" background as the reason to be included.

Kindly, post a link or two...to validate and educate. Thanks!

Dalai Lama says it’s for people to decide fate of his office

GAUHATI (INDIA): APRIL 08, 2017 15:51 IST

“They will decide whether the tradition continues or not,” he told reporters in Tawang, located in India’s remote northeastern state of Arunachal Pradesh.

• The exiled Tibetan Buddhist spiritual leader said on Saturday that it’s up to his followers to decide whether the office of the Dalai Lama exists in the future.

During a visit to the northeast Indian town of Tawang the second-highest seat of Tibetan Buddhism the Dalai Lama denied that he had any knowledge of where his successor would be born. Asked if the next Dalai Lama could be a woman, he said, “That might also happen.”

The question of who will replace the 81-year-old spiritual leader has gained significance in recent years, with Beijing insisting that the next Dalai Lama be born in China.

On Saturday, the Tibetan leader said the people should decide on the question of the next Dalai Lama.

“They will decide whether the tradition continues or not,” he told reporters in Tawang, located in India’s remote northeastern state of Arunachal Pradesh.

The Dalai Lama is on a weeklong visit to Arunachal Pradesh despite objections by China, which considers the state a disputed region.

On China’s claim on the next Dalai Lama, he said, “Let China first come clear on its theory on rebirth.”

The Dalai Lama said that he has nothing to do with “politics,” and that it was the Tibetan self-declared government-in-exile that handled all political matters, including the Tibetan cause.

“I retired from politics in 2011 and all political matters are handled by our government-in-exile,” he said. “However, I am committed to promote and preserve Tibetan culture and ecology.”

The Dalai Lama and his followers have been living in exile in the Himalayan town of Dharamsala in northern India since they fled Tibet after a failed 1959 uprising against Chinese rule.

China doesn’t recognize the Tibetan government-in-exile, and hasn’t held any dialogue with the representatives of the Dalai Lama since 2010.

China says Tibet has historically been part of its territory since the mid-13th century, and the Communist Party has governed the Himalayan region since 1951. But many Tibetans say that they were effectively independent for most of their history, and that the Chinese government wants to exploit their resource-rich region while crushing their cultural identity.

In Tawang, thousands of people thronged both sides of the road on Saturday and broke into loud cheers and waved prayer flags as the Dalai Lama’s motorcade entered a stadium where he addressed his followers.

Tawang was spruced up for the Dalai Lama’s visit his first since 2009. Streets were swept, houses freshly painted and welcome arches and banners erected across the main streets.

The Dalai Lama’s visit to Arunachal Pradesh has drawn sharp protests from China. On Wednesday, China accused India of “using” the Dalai Lama to undermine Beijing’s interests and summoned the Indian ambassador in Beijing to formally lodge a protest.

Foreign Ministry spokesman Hua Chunying warned India that China “will firmly take necessary measures to defend its territorial sovereignty and legitimate rights and interests.”

India responded by saying China was creating an “artificial controversy.”

China claims about 90,000 sq km (35,000 square miles) in Arunachal Pradesh, referred to informally by some Chinese as “Southern Tibet.” India says China is occupying 38,000 sq km (15,000 square miles) of its territory on the Aksai Chin plateau.

The Dalai Lama has often said that he was not seeking independence for Tibet, but trying to secure greater autonomy for the Tibetan people within China.
http://www.thehindu.com/news/intern...decide-fate-of-his-office/article17892636.ece

Kindly, post a link or two...to validate and educate. Thanks!

I can't find the article that described this. It was around the time when an Indian put the superpower 2030 video on storm front and drawer a lot of white supremacist to this site. That was years ago 2012-2013 ish.

The selected Dalai Lama needed the approval of Chinese leader today as how they needed the approval of Chinese emperors in the past. Read up on it.

Indian Establishment has already made it clear that Dalai Lama is a refugee similar like all the Tibetians who are inside Indian Territories. And these Tibetian Refugees are the one of the issue between the Indian and Chinese Government and the border dispute is about territories, Panchsheel Accords.

Too bad for these traitors. They deserve to live in poor, backwards south Asia. Chinese Tibetans enjoying a good life in China.

The Tibetan refugee market in Shimla has 76 shops and every other shop is stacked with Chinese merchandise.

So in short Tibetan refugees get credit line from Indian as well as Chinese merchandise, in Dharamsala has a large chunk of the 1.2 lakh Tibetans in exile in India.

The social and demographic characteristics of approximately 65,000 Tibetan refugees in India were determined from data collected 1994-1996. Approximately 55,000 refugees were living in 37 settlements widely distributed around India. The remaining 10,000 refugees were monks living in monasteries associated with some of the settlements, mostly in the south of India.

But the real issue is the border dispute.

In fact most indians do if they overhear u calling them dark. I deal with them on almost a daily basis n have also on many occasions- watch their faces change when small Chinese children walking by look at them (Indians) in horror, innocently asking aloud of their parents why that uncle or auntie 'is so black'

Back on topic:
If these tibetan refugees have the chance to see the development of their homeland today, they would had regretted leaving it in the first place.

Back on topic:
If these tibetan refugees have the chance to see the development of their homeland today, they would had regretted leaving it in the first place.

Infact the Tibetan refugees have increased inside Republic of India and you know when we Native Indians talk about this issues then the NGO's will talk about Human rights . Is it some sort of population transfer ?

Array Bhai , Duniya mein saare nations ko human rights hain sirf ek Hindustani nation ko human rights nahi hain. Woh apni saar zameen ki baare main bhi baat karte hain tou unse unka mazhab pucha chalta hain aur unki desh bhakti par sawaal bhi kiya jaata hain.

@Tshering22 I had once visited buddhist temple in Dehradun. Great temple with huge statue of Buddha

View attachment 389612

there I had seen lot of posters about Pancham Lama

Can you give details regarding him

You mean Panchen Lama. The PL is an important part of the process in identifying who would be the next incarnate of the Dalai Lama.

China has been a little sensitive about those who speak against them because of the whole political angle.
For some reason, the communists just refuse to believe that there is no political agenda and just that the Tibetans just want to practise Buddhism.

Regardless of what we say or the Tibetans say, the Chinese just don't get it. When we Buddhists ask what terrorist activities are done by Buddhist monks, they usually start getting agitated and reply aggressively rather than pointing or providing any sources where terrorist attacks or any sort of anti-social behaviour is being done by anyone.

That's the sad part about communism; it doesn't see spirituality as different from politics.

As of 2007, the State Administration for Religious Affairs in China had decreed that the reincarnations must be approved by government else they would be declared invalid.

The human illusion that everything and everyone in the universe is under his/her control is very evident here, reflecting years of spiritual deprivation.

Politics and spirituality are two different things.

Look at Vietnam; it is a communist country too but Buddh Dharma flourishes there.

That's the sad part about communism; it doesn't see spirituality as different from politics.

And it will be their eventual downfall.
There is enormous respect for Buddhism among Chinese people.
All one needs to do is watch Chinese movies to understand the impact Buddha had/has among them.

Chinese fascist govt can only control so much until it blows in their faces.

Is the Dalai Lama's 'reincarnation' in Arunachal Pradesh the real worry for the Chinese?

:rofl::rofl::rofl:, first it will have ULFA's approval and no it's not a worry at all, in contrary, we will be delight that India keep playing "NEXT" Dalai card so we can keep extend the geopolitical game with India in South Asia.

which is why we are talking about Tibetan history ,not Chinese history.

You can keel talking Tibetan history all you want but we're more interested in Assamese history which it's not India history tho, maybe China should invite ULFA members for some historical lesson:P

https://defence.pk/pdf/threads/ulfa...-not-criticise-china-from-assams-soil.486138/

we will be delight that India keep playing "NEX" Dalai card so we can keep extend the geopolitical game with India in South Asia.

You will play it irrespective..
India is wise to that fact and all you are seeing now is the blow back.

Question is, your govt controlled media was blaring it will escalate...So, we are waiting for the "escalation" :D