Is it racist to prefer fair skin ?

Jatt Boy

Is it racist to prefer fair skin ? I personally like it when a girl has a natural tan, or is dark skinned just like we prefer green grass on our lawn, but do I have right to call people with other skin tone 'Ugly' ?

I don't mean to suggest that you should too set "Dark" as your standard but please dont use harsh words for other shades of complexion.

Is it a cultural phenomena ?

I also don't get why people get so tickled at the simple sight of the word "racist". It's not always bad, you know.

Why we are not open for discussion (Indians/Pak look differant etc) ?

Members should be free to have their opinions about certain races (it's called preference, it's what makes people different from one another).

BOTTOM LINE IS THIS:

You prefer your own race because of having a preconceived notion about another race either consciously or subconsciously. In other words, you made a broad generalization about a race which is no different from racial stereotyping, which is RACIST !

Is it racist to prefer fair skin ? I personally like it when a girl has a natural tan, or is dark skinned just like we prefer green grass on our lawn, but do I have right to call people with other skin tone 'Ugly' ?

I don't mean to suggest that you should too set "Dark" as your standard but please dont use harsh words for other shades of complexion.

Is it a cultural phenomena ?

I also don't get why people get so tickled at the simple sight of the word "racist". It's not always bad, you know.

Why we are not open for discussion (Indians/Pak look differant etc) ?

Members should be free to have their opinions about certain races (it's called preference, it's what makes people different from one another).

BOTTOM LINE IS THIS:

You prefer your own race because of having a preconceived notion about another race either consciously or subconsciously. In other words, you made a broad generalization about a race which is no different from racial stereotyping, which is RACIST !

There is no point to this thread as there are different color races in both countries and every person has their own choice in term of what attracts them and what they dislike - and beauti is in the eye of beholder....

There are alot of very beautiful ladies who happen to be dark colored etc ...I don't know why you would want to discuss this issue ?

There is a saying love is blind , and that is true

May be things are different in India (due to the caste issue and other village stuff) but on Pakistan side you see different complexions all the time there is no set tone in Pakistan

But I keep my bottle of fair and lovely close by when I feel I was under the sun too long

30826558abdc802345c159ce90b8011a.jpg

hahahahahhahahaha

azad pakistan you have a very funny picture "Fair n Lovely" hahaha loved it

mmmmm as far as this craze for fair skin well it runs high in the region

lolzz daily we see this and that whitening creame.

i don't really understand yaar why we Asians have so much craze for "Fair skin colour"

It is "SEERAT" that is beautiful............. "Soorat" is just a bonus........ i never importance to that

i don't really understand yaar why we Asians have so much craze for "Fair skin colour"

It is "SEERAT" that is beautiful............. "Soorat" is just a bonus........ i never importance to that

mmmm If we realise that then who will buy fair and lovely, Fair and Handsom :lol:

i think...the notion of beauty, though it is unique for every individual,is largely influenced by the society n culture......moreover that is influenced by the media.......for example...cosmetic ads showing fairer the better...they emphasize skin tone so much that sub consciously..we start to believe it....then again...girls MUST be slim to be beautiful...so the result is hatti katti larkiyan dikhti hi nahi....:argh:

:agree: the media played a big role in promoting the notion that fair skin is the criteria for beauty

I have never understood the craze for fair skin either. I think its to do with associating fair skin with beauty. I have seen beautiful fair-skinned people, ugly fair-skinned people, beautiful dark-skinned people and ugly dark-skinned people. When i look for beauty in a girl, I count everything (facial features, height, weight, hair etc) in, not just the skin.

But i can understand the reason people prefer slim/athletic members of the opposite sex. Evolution has imprinted in our DNA the need to identify mates most suitable to reproduction. Obviously a fit person is better to reproduce with than a fat one since they are suggestive of better genes. Hence people don't feel attracted to fat people.

jana....what more to say.....girls r nowadays so (over)conscious about there figure that i sometimes i can't imagine how r they going to cope when they get pregnant....or will they be able to deliver a healthy baby.................n the sole culprit is the media...which is helping big healthcare n cosmetic companies to make a big buck by stereotyping beauty.............just take any girly magazine cosmo for ex. u see a horde full of skin n bones...... :frown:

The craze for being bony is everywhere from India to Pakistan and i dont know if its the same in Nepal, BD, Sri Lanka too or not

Well though I guess the media is to be blamed to an extent, I also believe that media only echoes what it sees happening in the society. after all media is made up of the same people who make up society.

We can never neglect the historical perspective. We have a deep rooted desire to be fair because we as Indians (and Pakistanis to an extent) have been ruled by people who were fairer than the indigenous people. The Greeks, the Huns, the Turks, the British. Even now the coolest and the richest stuff in the world, that people envy is Western..essentially inhabited by people that are white...So the color white becomes an aspirational thing...

trust me it doesn't really matter........ beauty is inside you and your skin does not represent all the beauty

And also it depends upon peoples choice (from different nations), some peoples like White skin ladies, some prefer fair or brownish skin colour, some prefer reddish or even black

Look at Miss Africa 2009

I bet you she is the princess for peoples living in Africa........... she is the Angelina Julie of Africa :rofl:

Look at this girl

de5fb6a365e48827ce7e36d1254640b1.jpg

She might be Megan Fox for African peoples :rofl:

Every nation has their own way of likenes...... most of our asians prefer fair skin girls but i even find Brownish (desi) girls very attractive ;)

yes robbie....to an extent u r right.....but then how do we conceive this is cool n that is not.......its the society...actually one member peswa can give us some insight in this matter because i have mostly bunked my psychology classes.................waiting 4 a response from him on this matter...............

Would choosing Italian cousine over French will be considerd racist. Nope. I thinks its about what you like. hope that will clear the point...

I personally dont like too much Chitti Gori...