Is Gujarat's red hot economy a myth?

No, I don't think I can ever travel to India. I won't say why because it will cause a flame war.

What do you think of Modi, and why?

suggest you to visit , whilst you are there visit different cities & compare them you will find gujrath story is a hype & a myth , few industries here & there does not make a success story & what you read in papers is not always true.

You can't fake export data, because the data can be cross-checked with the countries that received the exports.

For that reason, Gujarat's data is more reliable than the data from the other Indian provinces.

Retraction -

Ar6MPstCQAEXyLA.jpg:large

LOL...

This moron soutik bakwas!! should have re-checked the data from other sources as well before jumping in hurry to write a negative article in BBC to delude the hard work of Mr Modi!!

Morons like this who work on payroll and always talks negative about the only hope we have are more dangerous then a direct enemy :tdown: Boo!!

And i have been there 3 times in last 15 years!! And i live in Delhi!!

And i categorically deny all BS you are saying!! Stats & people who live here say otherwise then what you say while seating 14000 Km away Mr!!

Try hard next time.

You can't fake export data, because the data can be cross-checked with the countries that received the exports.

For that reason, Gujarat's data is more reliable than the data from the other Indian provinces.

export data might say a word or two, but you need to check what the major exports are:- if i am not wrong it is a major exporter of refined crude, & petro chemcial industries cuz gujrath is strategically located to have those industries, check the indian map , it is the nearest port for ships carrying oil from gulf, ‘Petro-capital’ State of India, Gujarat offers 30% of Petrochemicals, 50% Chemicals and Pharmaceuticals business.

This has nothing to do with modi, gujrath has already been what it is before modi & it will be after modi.

gujarat7.jpg

big money to few big business houses does not make a state prosperous, check the infra & planning it actually sucks, if china has to worry about competition from india then it better worry about madras.

Tamil Nadu - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Agriculture
Main articles: Agriculture in Tamil Nadu and Animal husbandry in Tamil Nadu

Tamil Nadu has historically been an agricultural state and is a leading producer of agricultural products in India. In 2008, Tamil Nadu was India's fifth biggest producer of Rice. The total cultivated area in the State was 5.60 million hectares in 2009-10.[92] The Cauvery delta region is known as the Rice Bowl of South India. In terms of production, Tamil Nadu accounts for 10% in fruits and 6% in vegetables, in India.[93] Annual food grains production in the year 2007–08 was 100.35 lakh mt.[92] Mango and banana are the leading fruit crops in Tamil Nadu accounting for over 87% of the total fruit production. The main vegetables grown are tapioca, tomato, onion, brinjal (eggplant), and drumstick. Tamil Nadu is also a leading state in the production of flowers with the total production of horticultural crops standing at INR 99.47 Lakhs during 2003–04. The main flowers grown in Tamil Nadu are jasmine, mullai, chrysanthemum, marigold and rose.
Paddy fields at Nagercoil

The state is the largest producer of bananas, flowers,[94] tapioca,[94] the second largest producer of mango,[94] natural rubber,[95] coconut,[96] groundnut and the third largest producer of coffee,[97] sapota,[94] Tea[98] and Sugarcane.[99] Tamil Nadu's sugarcane yield per hectare is the highest in India.[99] The state has 17,000 hectares of land under oil palm cultivation, the second highest in India.[100] Tamil Nadu is the home to Dr M.S. Swaminathan, known as the "father of the Green Revolution" in India.[101] Tamil Nadu Agricultural University with its seven colleges and thirty two research stations spread over the entire state contributes to evolving new crop varieties and technologies and disseminating through various extension agencies. Among states in India, Tamil Nadu is one of the leaders in livestock, poultry and fisheries production. Tamil Nadu had the second largest number of poultry amongst all the states and accounted for 17.7% of the total poultry population in India.[102] In 2003–2004, Tamil Nadu had produced 37,836 lakhs of eggs, which was the second highest in India representing 9.37% of the total egg production in the country.[103] With the third longest coastline in India, Tamil Nadu represented 27.54% of the total value of fish and fishery products exported by India in 2006.

Textiles

Textile mills and engineering industries are present around the city of Coimbatore. It is home to textile, automotive spare parts and motor pump manufacturing units. Cities of Tirupur and Erode are the country's largest exporters of knitwear.[104] They are well known for textile manufacturing industries and exports to such extent that the districts of Coimbatore, Tirupur, Karur, Erode, Namakkal and Salem . The region around Coimbatore, Tirupur, Karur and Erode is referred to as the "Textile Valley of India" with the export from the Tirupur INR 50,000 million ($1,000 million) and Karur generates around INR 35,500 million ($750 million) an year in foreign exchange.. 56% of India's total knitwear exports come from Tirupur & Karur make above 60% of India's Home Textiles. Gobichettipalayam, Pollachi, Theni and Vedasandur are known for its cotton mills. Rajapalayam is famous for its cotton market. Kanchipuram and Arani are world famous for their pure zari silk sarees and handloom silk weaving industries. Aruppukottai, Salem, Sathiyamangalam are also famous for Art-Silk sarees. Andipatti, Tiruchengodu, Paramakudi, Kurinjipadi are major handloom centres. Negamam, Cinnalapatti, Woraiyur, Pochampalli are famous for its soft cotton saree weavings. Madurai is well known for its Chungidi cotton saree.

Automobiles

Tamil Nadu has seen major investments in the automobile industry over many decades manufacturing cars, railway coaches, battle-tanks, tractors, motorcycles, automobile spare parts and accessories, tyres and heavy vehicles. Major global automobile companies including BMW, Ford, Renault-Nissan, Caterpillar, Hyundai, Mitsubishi Motors and Michelin as well as local automobile majors like Ashok Leyland, Hindustan Motors, TVS Motors, Irizar-TVS, Royal Enfield, MRF, Apollo Tyres, TAFE Tractors, DaimlerChrysler AG Company also invested (INR) 4 billion for establishing new plant in Tamil Nadu[105] have manufacturing operations in Tamil Nadu. Karur is a hub for Bus body building industries. Namakkal is the major source of Heavy Vehicle and lorry body building.

Heavy industries
Bharat Heavy Electricals Limited at Tiruchirapalli(Trichy)

Tamil Nadu is one of the highly industrialised states in India. Over 11.2% of the S&P CNX 500 conglomerates have corporate offices in Tamil Nadu. Many heavy engineering and manufacturing companies are located in and around the suburbs of Chennai. Bharat Heavy Electricals Limited, one of India's largest electrical equipment manufacturing company, has manufacturing plants at Tiruchirapalli and Ranipet. India's leading steel producer, SAIL has a steel plant in Salem. Sterlite Industries has their copper smelter plant in Tuticorin and aluminium plant in Mettur. The state government owns the Tamil Nadu Newsprint and Papers Ltd. (TNPL),[106] the world's biggest bagasse based Paper mills in Karur, as well as the world's sixth largest manufacturer of watches together with TATA at Hosur, under the brand name of "Titan". Number of large Cement factories such as Chettinad cements, Ramco cements, Tancem, Dalmia cements, Vajram cements, ACC are present across the state. Ariyalur is termed as the land of cement industries in the state.

Others

Namakkal is also one of the main source of Egg production in India. Karur is also the major manufacturer of Nylon nets (HDPE) Filaments over 65% of India. Sivakasi is a major centre of fireworks and safety match production and offset printing in India, over 60% of firework production is contributed from sivakasi.

Electronics and software
Infosys' campus at Mahindra World City near Chennai

Electronics manufacturing is a growing industry in Tamil Nadu, with many telecommunications giants like Nokia, Flextronics, Motorola, Sony-Ericsson, Foxconn, Samsung, Cisco, Moser Baer and Dell having chosen Chennai as their South Asian manufacturing hub. Products manufactured include circuit boards and cellular phone handsets.[107]

Tamil Nadu is the second largest software exporter by value in India, s
econd only to Karnataka. Software exports from Tamil Nadu grew from INR 76 billion ($1.6 billion) in 2003–04 to INR 207 billion {$5 billion} by 2006–07 according to NASSCOM[108] and to INR 366 billion in 2008–09 which shows 29% growth in software exports according to STPI.[109] Major national and global IT Companies such as Syntel, Infosys, Wipro, HCL, Tata Consultancy Services, Mahindra Satyam, Verizon, Hewlett-Packard, Amazon.com, Paypal, IBM, Accenture, Ramco Systems, Computer Sciences Corporation, Cognizant Technology solutions, Tech Mahindra, Polaris, Aricent, MphasiS, MindTree, and many others have offices in Tamil Nadu.

Leather industry

The state accounts for 70 per cent of leather tanning capacity in India and 38 per cent of leather footwear and components. The exports from Tamil Nadu are valued at about US $ 762 million, which accounts for 42 per cent of Indian leather exports. Hundreds of leather and tannery industries are located around Vellore, Dindigul and Erode its nearby towns such as Ranipet, Ambur, Perundurai, Nilakottai and Vaniyambadi. The Vellore district is the top exporter of finished leather goods in the country. That leather accounts for more than 37% of the country's Export of Leather and Leather related products such as finished leathers, shoes, garments, gloves and so on. The tanning industry in India has a total installed capacity of 225 million pieces of hide and skins of which Tamil Nadu alone contributes to an inspiring 70%. Leather industry occupies a pride of place in the industrial map of Tamil Nadu. Tamil Nadu enjoys a leading position with 40% share in India 's export. It currently employs about 2.5 million persons Leather exports by the end of the year 2000-2001 were Rs. 9000 crores.

if tamil nadu had the petroleum industry you can imagine

Gujarat was always a prosperous state, well before Narendra Modi's time.

Gujrath is not prosperous it is no better than say other indian states, it is a myth propogated by certain parties to further their agenda as you see they have money & resources at their disposal to lie in the media. It is another face of india shining ohh gujrath shining ohh bjp shining cool aid

lol literacy rate fan boy

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Indian_states_ranking_by_literacy_rate

Rank State Literacy Rate (%) - NFHS-3[1] Literacy Rate (%) - 2001 Census[2] Literacy Rate (%) - 2011 Census % Increase
India 67.6 64.84 74.04 9.2%
1 Kerala 100 90.86 93.9 3.04%
2 Mizoram 89.9 88.8 91.6 2.80%
3 Tripura 80.2 73.19 87.8 14.61%
4 Goa 83.3 87.4 87.4 0.00%
5 HimachalPradesh 81.3 76.48 83.8 7.32%
6 Maharashtra 77.6 76.88 82.9 6.02%
7 Sikkim 76.6 68.81 82.2 13.39%
8 TamilNadu 74.2 73.45 80.3 6.85%
9 Nagaland 63.7 60.47 80.1 19.63%
10 Manipur 60.9 63.74 79.8 16.06%
11 Uttarakhand 75.7 71.62 79.6 7.98%
12 Gujarat 74.1 69.14 79.3 10.16%
13 West Bengal 71.6 68.64 77.1 8.46%
14 Punjab 74 69.65 76.7 7.05%
15 Haryana 71.4 67.91 76.6 8.69%
16 Karnataka 69.3 66.64 75.6 8.96%
17 Meghalaya 72.1 62.56 75.5 12.94%
18 Orissa 68.8 55.08 65.9 10.42%
19 Assam 76.3 63.25 73.2 9.95%
20 Chattisgarh 63.6 64.66 71 6.34%
21 Madhya Pradesh 76.5 60.53 70.6 10.07%
22 UttarPradesh 61.6 56.27 71.7 13.43%
23 Jammu and Kashmir 66.7 55.52 68.7 13.18%
24 Andhra Pradesh 72.5 60.47 67.7 7.23%
25 Rajasthan 68 60.41 67.1 6.69%
26 Arunachal Pradesh 62.8 54.34 67 12.66%
27 Jharkhand 58.6 53.56 67.6 14.04%
28 Bihar 90 47 63.8 16.8%

Gujarat was always a prosperous state, well before Narendra Modi's time.

and this is the point that should be noted. Statistics show it to be a prosperous state BEFORE and it will be a prosperous state in the future. Modi just rides on the wave of the success insinuating its all down to his doing - A myth.

check tamil nadu for muslim literacy rates

sach2.JPG

lol even SC/ST's fare better in tamilnadu compared to a Dalit ruled state called Gujrath.

looks like CD ran away for his coffee:rofl:

Truth is indeed UGLY

This has nothing to do with modi, gujrath has already been what it is before modi & it will be after modi.

So the growth of a province has nothing to do with the provincial leadership? What kind of logic is that?

Also, what is your actual nationality? You're obviously not Canadian, your writing style is South Asian.

If you're an Indian, then surely you don't need my approval in order to vote for Italian Sonia, just go and do it. :lol:

looks like CD ran away for his coffee:rofl:

Dont embarrass yourself and get banned again. Study the graph I posted. It compares Muslim literacy rates vs National average

So the growth of a province has nothing to do with the provincial leadership? What kind of logic is that?

Also, what is your actual nationality? You're obviously not Canadian, your writing style is South Asian.

If you're an Indian then surely you don't need my approval in order to vote for Italian Sonia.

You have hit the nail on its head

If you're an Indian, then surely you don't need my approval in order to vote for Italian Sonia, just go and do it. :lol:

am french..

on topic: it has nothing to do with leadership no (gujrath is already what it was before modi) i have nothing to do with indian leaders or politics, i was merely answering your queries & correcting your misconceptions,

As a chinese you would want to see a hindu fanatic in power, cuz that will help you de-stabalise india further by alienating 400 million plus populace,